We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great service in paradise”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here while having our beachfront wedding here. We had a lakefront chalet (suite accommodation) which was wonderful, quiet and incredibly well-equipped. There are plenty of luxurious but characterless hotels in this world, but this is not it. If you want to stay in comfortable settings, be greeted by genuinely friendly staff, and yet able to appreciate fantastic Malay architecture, this is the place for you.
The rooms were clean and mosquito-free, the pools were nice and chlorine-free, the stretch of beach in front of the hotel was clean and white-sand. Hell, it is even close to all the action at Babylon Reggae bar if you so fancy a cheap cocktail, laidback reggae band and fire juggling act! Otherwise, trust Pelangi to entertain you with a fab band at the lounge area at night with a mixture of pop songs from all eras.
Our wedding was fantastic with everything organised smoothly along with great food and fab atmosphere. It was more than anything we ever imagined. Thanks to Pelangi and all the well wishers on the beach, my hubby and I had the best day ever with our friends and family.
Pelangi is the place for you if you approach it with an open mind and in return, you will be greeted with genuine sincerity and characterful accommodation.

Room Tip: Lakefront or beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoegal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciative notes and it gives me immense pleasure to share such positive comments with all our associates. Together with my team, we shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    1,363
    429
    179
    128
See reviews for
1,262
1,605
87
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

in short every thing was great about the hotel,expect the food, not many choices and the taste and quality. we had taken the sea facing room and the view was beautiful Location of the hotel is nice, close to the airport and also to the market.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sai_gurram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and will gladly share them with all our associates. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to create a memorable experience for all our guests. We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Two days in a row, the housekeeping forget to put the shower gel and shampoo in the toilet. I had to call them to bring it to me. As a 4 to 5 star hotel they should provide the tothbrush set, which they did not. Basically im not satisfied with the services base on the price of the room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, which will enable us to take direct steps for improvement and ensure the delivery of our best services to meet guest expectation. We sincerely apologize for any shortcoming and hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in Meritus Pelangi Hotel. We were happy to hear that we had been upgraded for free to a honeymoon suite which was overlooking the lake.

The room was beautiful, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The staff were accommodating and friendly.

The only down points were the food and the building works. Obviously the building works couldn't be avoided. The food however, was the worst and yet most expensive meal I'd had during our trip through SE Asia.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre and there was very little choice. It was also held outside in a small gazebo despite torrential rain, so we were soaked through by the time we got there. We also ordered room service on the last night. I ordered the local speciality of beef rendang which was nowhere near as good as the local restaurant opposite. My boyfriend ordered a chicken biriyani that was full of bones and not a lot else.

Sadly, the food really was disappointing compared to the rest of the hotel, and given the price we had paid for the room, it was below expectations.

I would definitely return if they sort that one problem out!

Room Tip: Go for a lake view or beach view chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
We appreciate very much the valuable feedback given, which will be reviewed for improvement, particularly on your food comments, to consistently meet the expectations of our valued guests. We sincerely regret the experience may have somehow marred your stay but very much hope to be given another opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here again for 3 week in December, since last year the whole attitude of the staff and the appearance of the hotel has greatly improved, this can only be down to input from the new manager. There is an ongoing refurbishment plan in place which will put this hotel back on top, where it belongs. The rooms are currently very tired but still in keeping with traditional Malay but the new look rooms will be really nice, especially the bathrooms, so for all you that have given this hotel a bad rating, it deserves a second chance once the refubishment works have been completed. I am proud to say this is my second home and the staff my friends!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best, all of a large size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkLegs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are all very gratified to learn that you have had another enjoyable stay with us. We greatly appreciate the support given and look forward very much to continue having you as our loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've travelled around South East asia a fair amount and stayed at an array of hotels from budget to big bucks. This hotel is in the middle price wise but is definately near the top experiance wise. The thing that I will take away most of all from my two night stay is just how friendly the staff were. A true credit to the hotel. Everything else is as it should be in a resort style hotel, but also of note is the fantastic barbeque buffet which is just sublime and the general ambience at the place (no doubt a result of the lovely staff). We hired a canoe and paddled over to the nearest island which took about 15 minutes and was a good break from taking it easy and lying on a sun lounger. My only recommendation for improvement would be to improve the shower which was a little bit old.

Thanks for a wonderful stay Pelangi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciative words, which we will gladly share with all our associates. It makes us extremely happy and needless to say, most proud to receive compliments from satisfied customer as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations. We are also glad to inform you of our phased refurbishment of chalet interior (which will include the bathroom) slated for this year and when completed, will greatly enhance our guests’ experience and comfort with new and updated products. We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future and experience the new enhancements for yourself
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights during a 2 week trip. the hotel is at the end of the beach strip, a 30 min taxi ride from the port.

Reception was really pro with a drink and a warm welcome (they also have free wifi in the reception area) and we were taken to our room by golf cart
the hotel has several very cute malay style bungalows (ground/first floors). our room had ample space, a outside ara, a good double bed, the shower is brilliant
You can get lost between all the bungalows but there is quite a few signs and also a buggy to take you around.

we used the gym area. the equipment is a bit limited but we were alone so will not be often used. they also have games you can take and table tennis tables there.

the hotel has a beach front but be very aware of the jellyfish. someone fished out a huge one while we were deciding or not to go in the water, that made up our minds...
however the hotel has two large swimming pools which made up for it. you can swim and relax very easely, play waterpolo if you want (they have cages) as there were hardly anyone in the water when we were there. the pools have a few bar seats in the water so you can also enjoy a good cocktail with your feet in the water.

in terms of food, we went one night for the bbq option for 30 pounds and got seefood, meat, salads, vegetables, dessert of a very high quality and in abundance, the choice was incredible in the food.
breakfast is also a feast with loads of cold/hot options

in the evening you can walk along the beach to one of the two beachbars which sometimes have live rock/reggae music and good cocktails. atmosphere is quite buzzing, most of the backpackers seem to gather there !
you can also eat at one of the many malay restaurants

The airport is nearby (15 taxi) but you cannot ear the planes

So the jellyfish was a shame but the hotel made our stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes and we are indeed very glad to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them. We shall look forward very much to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.9 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,314 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing