We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
D'Warung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Pondok Muara Chalet(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Casa del Mar, Langkawi(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Sweet Inn(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melati Tanjung Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Malibest Resort(Langkawi)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,351)
Filter reviews
4,351 results
Traveler rating
2,067
1,480
468
195
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,067
1,480
468
195
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascade poolspice marketswim up barmain poolbuggy servicekids poollake viewmini golfcba barthe club loungekids clublarge balconycable carwelcome drinkground floorseafoodhappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,659 - 2,664 of 4,351 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This resort has the largest ground and beach area in Pantai Cenang. It is at the northern end of Cenang beach. Its beach is not combed or maintained like the next door Casa del Mar which is a pity as you can spot some rubbish.

Few years ago, many bad reviews were about the poor maintenance of the resort. I did not find the room that bad. The chalet was old styled but clean. The lobby and ground looked new and elegant. Some rooms might have been renovated depending on which section you are allocated.

There was renovation on the cafe restaurant hosting the daily buffet breakfast but noise was not disruptive for me. Buffet breakfast was served temporarily in Boat House and it was not well laid out. Some food (salad, fruits) was not properly chilled with ice and the buffet spread was too spread out. This was the only major gribe I had with the resort.

Service was excellent from reception to gardeners who greeted me throughout the resort. Overall, this resort offers good value for money if you can get the rate for two persons below RM550 inclusive of taxes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We are glad that overall, you had a wonderful stay with us and will review those areas that need improvement to consistently meet the expectations of our valued guests. We will also share your compliments with all our associates, which I am sure, will make them feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. In the pipeline, is our phased refurbishment of chalet interior slated for next year and we expect the new and updated products will greatly enhance our guests’ experience and comfort. We hope you will come back and experience the new enhancements for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Long overdue review - travelled with children and husband to langkawi last jan 2010 and it's only now as the surfing starts again for the right venue for this years hols that I realise this review is so overdue! The hotel ticked all our boxes, beautiful location , quiet but close to a downtown walk 10 mins to the town for fresh Malay seafood restaurants and activity. The hotel had excellent kids pool with waterslide, brill kids club to dip in and out of Kiki club. Children made and painted umbrellas tee shirts, nature rambles and shell collecting. We hired a car and toured the island. Great paddy rice museum across the road and we found an amazing restaurant 10 mins by taxi called Bonton. We ate their twice, antique malay houses and superb setting, great with kids too, an intro to trad Malay food on banana leaves. Accomm is in bungalows dotted amongst greenery and a few swimming pools, tastefully created blending into the natural habitat. Restaurants and food couldn't fault, staff very efficient but lovely. Would I recommend - absolutely. Now struggling to find the equiv in koh samui for this year. Really an excellent safe family location, breakfast excellent and happy children who want to return. I had a look around some of the other locations and glad we chose Meritus. With children Meritus gets my vote.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldForgeKnoydart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your appreciative words and will gladly share them with all our associates. It makes us extremely happy and needless to say, most proud to receive compliments from satisfied customer as we strive to consistently meet or exceed their expectations. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel around 8 times now, and yet there never seems to be any loyalty incentives offered, and I think the hotel prices are now very expensive, especially the food and drink, one thing that never alters is the staff, who are always very helpful, and a special mention to Ishmael, who has worked at the hotel for many years, he always go`s above and beyond his call of duty, what a smashing guy, I hope the hotel is aware of his good work and rewards him accordingly, though I doubt it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you very much for giving us your continuous support and we will review all comments for improvement. We will gladly convey your compliments to all our associates including the one given special mention, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized.
We shall look forward very much to continue having you as our loyal guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Went here several years ago after visiting Penang and Kuala Lumpur. Langkawi is paradise - full stop. Pelangi Beach Resort is a short run from the airport but also miles away from the hustle and bustle of Langkawi's central town. The beaches are beautiful and barely occupied. You can have a whole section all to yourself. Due to the tides and beach structure, you can go abut 500 feet into the water and it only goes up to your hips.

The rooms are beautiful - all the amenities you would expect: comfortable king-size beds (US king, not UK king), TV's, fully-working and equipped bathrooms. Elegant dark wood flooring. 4 rooms to a house, so you are not surrounded by too many people. The morning breakfast (included in the package) is phenomenal. You can eat everything from cooked-to-order eggs (any style, any ingredients) to Malaysian/Indian fare, Soups, desserts, fruits (of every kind). All served buffet style with a smile from every staff member!

You eat so well that lunch is an after-thought. Then get ready for a superb dinner. Either you can eat on the property or take in local culture and cuisine. All walking distance from the resort.

The 2-3 on-site pools are great, clean and rarely overcrowded. If you mention that you are there for a special ocassion (honeymoon, anniversary), the housecleaning staff will leave you a remarkably beautiful rose-petalled note on your bedspread.

We took a day trip by renting a car (car hire) and driving up to the hills/waterfalls. You will see monkeys in the wild (don't bring anything they might want to eat unless you are willing to share it - they get quite aggressive otherwise).

Skip all the other islands near and far, head over here (a short plane trip from KL) and get ready for tranquillity and relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite villa. Don't worry if it is not on the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your appreciative words and we will gladly share them will all our associates. It is always very nice to receive such positive comments, and is greatly appreciated! We certainly look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Beautful resort with sensational gardens, Rooms are a little tired but then if your going to stay in your room all day you should go to a concrete jungle hotel.

Staff are always friendly and willing to help no matter the task and the room and table service is excellent, they will even come down to the waters edge and ask youif they can get you another drink.

The food is great on site but you are within walking distance to lots of food places and restaurants either along the beach or down the street.

The pools both have swim up bars which is just perfect for laxing around and getting tipsy, once again the staff will whip you up a great cheap cocktail and by the end of our 12 days we had them cooking us Aussie burgers :)

Wonderful atmosphere and just lovely walking around the grounds or laying in a hammock watching the sun go down.

You can ask them to book you a cab and for 100 ringets the taxi driver will take you all over the island to see all the sights and if he is really good he fill you in on all the interesting facts of Langkawi.

I drank tap water the whole time and was not sick once, they do provide you with 2 bottles of free water daily which is nice.

Perfect place to get to know the one you love a little better

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms lakeside or lovely but if you care to spend a little more get an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessMcbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph V, General Manager at Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your appreciative notes and it gives us immense pleasure to share it with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews