We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but nice”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at rainbow lodge for 1 week with my fiance. The rooms are a good price for what you get. Simple rooms, but comfortable and only about a 5min walk to the beach - could be less than that, we always took a slow stroll. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, and the cafe at the hotel is pretty good too (I recommend the curry and the breakfast...but the chicken nuggets are a pass.) If you want your room cleaned though, you need to ask - there is no daily cleaning. Overall, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an AC room at the back of the property near the rented house kampung. very quiet back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice, clean and spacious rooms for a great price. Stayed for two nights at the Rainbow Lodge with my friends and had a great time. Staff was friendly and gave useful information, they really helped us out :) We rented scooters at the lodge to cruise around the island, wasn't expensive at all and we ended up having a great time. Close to the beach as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra_De_Paep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled into Rainbow on Christmas Eve and we were lucky enough to get a room. That said, we paid almost double the usual rate. Fair enough I suppose but if you're going in high season book ahead!! Rainbow is across the road from the beach but on this pricey island that's a given! It's actually in a lovely field that's breezy and on Thursday there's a great night market that's a 5 minute walk away. The accommodation (we stayed in an a/c room) is basic but clean and the bedding/towels are good. Plenty of families staying. Staff are really friendly and reception is a good hang-out zone with food/TV/books/wifi (wifi did not reach our room). This is a great deal on an expensive island and cozy enough to take away the sometimes soulless aspect of this fairly developed resort island (beautiful beach though and don't miss the cable cars!).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bronwyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Rainbow lodge is a great place to stay in Langkawi! The dorm is good, it doesn't even feel like a dorm because there are walls and curtains around the beds. The lodge is not luxurious, but a very nice place to meet people in the café with the really nice English waiter. I had a great stay here!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Anouk155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to Langkawi twice and stayed at Rainbow Lodge both times. It's not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination but the rooms are clean, reasonably spacious and brilliantly priced. We paid 40MYR per night for a basic double, which was the cheapest on the island.

Maybe the best thing about it though is the social atmosphere, everyone sits outside their room in the evening and has a drink, so it's a great place to meet people to go out with. The hostel owner is very helpful too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomaschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Been travelling in south east asia for a while now and found this gem about 5 min walk to the main beach area. Owners and staff are cheerful and helpful and full of information. They even lend me their car for short visit to supermarket. Place is colourful and full most of the time. Good value overall.

Room Tip: Fan rooms are from 45 rm with attached bath. Good enough cause late night is not to hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for almost a week on Langkawi and Rainbow Lodge had the best prices around Cenang. It's very basic (especially the double rooms for 45 MYR) but okay. Basic clean, basic water pressure, basic comfy bed, basic fan. Nothing exciting, nothing terrible.

Towels and bedding were NOT grubby. I think people staying in cheap guesthouses for 15 dollars a night expect it to look like the flipping Four Seasons. Anyway as you probably won't spend most of your time in you room you are fine staying in Rainbow.

The guys at reception are pretty helpful and always try to joke around. Don't trust the free wifi as Langkawi's internet comes in by Satellite - so internet is pretty slow and buggy everywhere.

Room Tip: The huts in the front (with veranda) are more expensive and probably the better deal if you plan on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 43 in Pantai Cenang
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cottage Langkawi
The Cottage Langkawi
#9 of 43 in Pantai Cenang
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#6 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 25 in Pantai Cenang
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: No. 4 Lorong Surau Kampung Haji Maidin, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: $31 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Pantai Cenang
Rainbow Lodge Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing