We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Al fresco dining on the beach with beautiful sunset view
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I can't say it any other way: the food was brilliant. Dishes were prepared quickly and served all together. Drinks seemed a little pricy, but they did give us complementary drinking water.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalumHalcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    267
    65
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“buy1 free1 drinks for happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

get the buy1 free1 drink from 4pm -6pm everyday... nice environment... comfortable seats.. but the waiters not so friendly here..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fuenu0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy Guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very very friendly staff and food great. Lovely location. Wished we had more time for more meals here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whiteys24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality cooking & service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was disappointed with both my starter & main course at The Brassiere. I would say the quality of cooking there was worst than at a simpler, less fancy, less expensive cafe such as the Beach Garden Resort cafe located on the same beach.

The problems with the dishes I ordered at The Brasserie were, firstly, the recipe was way too simple for a fancy restaurant (pan fried & drizzled with olive oil & lemon juice or soy sauce). Secondly, the cooking skills of the cook was terrible for a restaurant cook, my tuna loin was over cooked till dry on the outside but had strange streaks of uncooked parts on the inside. Worst of all, the cook made a beginner's mistake, the oil taste in all my dishes indicated it was over heated to the extend that it tasted burnt. Thirdly, for the high price charged for the scallop starter, it was disappointing that all 4 scallops were tasteless probably due to freezer burn. I did not go to one of the fanciest restaurants on the beach to have seafood worst than those I cook at home, in terms of taste & quality, it made it worst for them when their less fancy counterparts serve better tasting food than them.

Next the service, the waiter who took our orders reeked of alcohol & ketone every time he came over to our table. At first, I could not believe it was coming from him due to several reasons & thought it might have came from the patron at the next table, even though she was seated too far for the odour to travel to us. Anyway, I was not surprised when the said waiter blatantly rejected my request for a dollop of coconut cream to be added to my mocktail, which some other cocktails had. Coconut cream is inexpensive in Malaysia as coconuts are abound, I concluded that the waiter was not sober enough to think clearly.

The only consolation was, the location was lovely, located slightly above beach level with hedge fence on two sides gave the feeling of seclusion. In addition to that, the tasteful decor & candle lit ambiance made it one of the more romantic places to have dinner on Cenang beach.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Caught_the_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good sharing plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Lovely at night as it is on the beach side. Good food lovely staff. Good to celebrate an event there as they give you a candle paper ballon to send up into the sky. Good deals for lunch Tapas/sharing plates.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nomadicrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing