We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room”
Review of White Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious room”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

You'll need to be very observant to notice the small signboard of this motel.
It's not really located beside the Pantai Cenang main street, however it's near to eateries & beaches - 5 to 10 mins walk.
Room is big, but bed is not that comfy. Bathroom was average but water pressure is up to my expectation.
You may want to act very fast when opening/closing your room door, as there are many mosquitoes!!
As Langkawi is famous of its duty free shopping - we bought few bottles of beer to have fun in the room. Chilled our beer for 2 hours in the fridge but it's quite disappointed when we found our drinks are still in room temp.
Advice if you plan to have beer/drinks in room : get the chilled one from stores, do not chill them in the fridge in your room!

Overall is still OK, staffs are friendly but I will think twice before booking if I happen to visit Langkawi again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgstephez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    125
    65
    20
    7
See reviews for
57
101
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The first things that hits you when you enter the room is the horrible musty smell. Took a few hours of keeping the doors and windows open and running the fan and Air con to get down the smell to bearable levels.
Power went out on the first night, for more than 2 hours and there was no one in the reception to help.
The next day, there was no water the whole morning.
The bed was very uncomfortable and the spring mattress was barely upholstered and was hurting my bones.
There were some rogue teenagers staying next door and were raising a din the entire night, and again, no one to complain to.
Upsides? Yes, the bathroom was clean, and the garden was nice. That is all that is good to say.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BogusGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pantai Cenang hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fair hotel near the busy area of Pantai Cenang, but still slightly out of the main road which gives you less noise at night.
All amenities all within walking distance.
Reception staff is helpful and nice.
Internet connection with no problem besides we were in one of the further chalet (room 16).
Room was basic and clean, with working aircon.

Read earlier a comments on reception staff who could not handle a taxi booking early morning because they open at 8:00 AM. We tried as well and they don't want to arrange because they can't coordinate.
However, you catch a taxi on the main road easily (at 6:50 AM) and we can't consider this as a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbotw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a last minute booking done by my friend from Singapore as we had suddenly decided to go to Langkawi to meet up and of course see the island.

This hotel is a little tucked away and not really on the main beach road which might explain the relatively low price of the property. But it suited us just fine and fit in our budget as well.

They have a set of about 20 twin cottages circling a lush green garden and that I felt was really cool as it gives you your privacy and does not feel like a regular motel. We reached quite early, much before their check-in time (2 PM, which I feel is quite late). Unfortunately it also started to rain just as we reached. So we were stuck in their lobby for a good 1 hour or so. They let us charge our cell phones and gave us some touristy magazines to read. They have a drinking water dispenser right outside the lobby which was real useful.

The rooms were spacious (2 queen beds) and clean. Liked the bathrooms however there was no place to put your things and practically no toiletries. Had one soap dispenser that was to be used as hand as well as body soap. Running hot water is available. Rooms could be better lit.

While leaving also we asked them to just take out our luggage in case we do not make it back by their check-out time which was 12 noon. We finally got back around 2 PM and found our luggage in the lobby. We showered and changed in the restroom in their lobby area. Nice of them to let us do that. They also called for our taxi back to the ferry terminus. So overall nice experience. However I have a nagging doubt... you see I found a 100$ bill missing from my purse which was left in my baggage. I really wonder... But I have no concrete proof so please do not take my word for it. Its just a nagging doubt...

Room Tip: Take a room away from lobby to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0balDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

hotel location is near construction site, so don,t expect you will have a quiet moment during daytime, or fresh clean air, this construction project is big and will take few years to finished. night time or daytime mosquito is a lot, because of the surrounding environment (clogged drainage) and rubbish. room bed is old and not well maintain . pillow and beds sheet is dusty. the.only good thing you can get is solid wifi. for rm178 per night with this kind of room condition is really not worth. never again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnybiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Recommended for those seeking budget accomodation for family at pantai chenang.clean room, fast internet connection.near to shops,cafe.walk 5 to 10 minutes to beach across the
road.cons construction nearby which stops at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at White Lodge with 2 friends. Overall had a good stay here. We had a 'delux room' for three people. I was disappointed to see that the extra cot was just a thing foam mattress on the floor... But I asked for another and they gave one without any problem. The room was nice and big and cleaned daily. The beds are quite uncomfortable though and our air con did not work at all. Bt the ceiling fan worked great and kept us comfortable each night. This is really no frills but clean and quiet and the staff were fantastic, so perfect for us each night. Wi fi also worked great. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Check air con first before accepting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
0.9 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#25 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Motel

Property: White Lodge Motel
Address: Jalan Pentai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — White Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Pantai Cenang
White Lodge Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing