We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Seafood!”

Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Walked off the street at 8pm without a reservation and got a table for 4 adults + 1 teenager. We also had a baby in a pram, so they put us on a table with an overhead fan and brought us an extra fan, as it was very humid. Thank you. A lovely, lovely meal. We went with the waitress and chose our own fresh raw fish & prawns. I was not happy with the choice by the waitress, so she let me choose mine. I then followed her to the kitchen to make sure "our" fish went direct to the chef. We ate prawns in garlic, Phad Thai Noodle, fluffy white rice, deep-fried Grouper, Calamari, mixed vegetables, lovely soft beef in ginger & lemon grass plus wine, beer and Coke. A great meal and very good value. However, the staff could have been more attentive, but I guess they were busy? The toilets were clean as well... for those who want to know! We would definitely go back again as the seafood was excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    696
    280
    74
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paro, Bhutan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I had ordered 3 dishes at this restaurant. Mantis prawn, lobster and crab. Fresh caught from 'aquarium'. Compliment to the chef who cooks this 3 great dishes.The service at the restaurant is fast and the workers is super friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaWangdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth west australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I will never visit this kip again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Ordered a prawn dish.
I noticed that the serving contained at least six empty prawn shells. So in fact My dish was padded with these shells to make it look like a good serving.
In fact I only received five edible prawns and these were not fresh. I complained to the waiter
Who tried to ignore my complaint. Next I asked to see the manager and was told no manager here. Who is in charge, I asked? No one in charge here.
He was then joined by another waiter and I was then verbally abused and threatened by both of them. Not wishing to become involved in any sort of skirmish in the restaurant, I invited both of them to try to abuse
me outside the restaurant but they both chickened out.

There are far better seafood restaurants in Langkawi

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billyK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Based my visit on the reviews here and it definitely impressed, speed of service and food was excellent (always good when hungry), seafood was delicious, but I think there was a definite difference between frozen (they call it 'fresh') and the live food.
Favourite was the King Prawns which we had battered, but can choose other styles. With the lobster we opted for frozen which I think accounted for the slight toughness, but was still delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank xrbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood made to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Definitely try this one you would not be disappointed. Great food, fast service at reasonable price. Would be perfect if the restaurant had a sea view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing