We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring tasting vegetarian dishes...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant

Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Boring tasting vegetarian dishes...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Orkid Ria might serve good seafood but the vegetarian dishes are just "ok"... very boring tasting and cooked without any passion yet not bad enough to send them back to the kitchen. It's just another one of a big load of average seafood restaurants in Pantai Cenang.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Himmelswesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    685
    271
    74
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Celebrating the birthday of our son, we decided on Orkid Ria as we were here 5 years ago. We were warmly greeted by their 'guest relations officer' who showed us to an empty table (the place was almost full as we arrived around 8.30pm), provided us with the menu, and called for someone to take our order. Our drinks came first within 5 minutes! Our food (steamed fish, braised beef in ginger, kailan vegetable with salted fish, with plain rice) arrived within another 15 minutes. Impressive! The food was also tasty. The decor was lively and the waiters also behaved and reacted similarly! We would definitely return to Orkid Ria.

Helpful?
Thank Sarimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice fresh seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is firmly on the tourist path...we had to wait 10 mins for a table so busy it was! There were lots of large tables of chinese people and tourists enjoying lobsters selected directly from their tanks,
The food was nice and fresh although a bit on the heavy greasy side (rich chinese flavours). We had beautifully tender soft shell crabs and scallops in pepper sauce as starter and deep fried fish and massive king prawns (500gr just the 3 of them!).
It is a bit on the pricey side compared to other places on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonLikesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Came Back Three Times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The best place for seafood lunch and dinner!!!!! All the seafood are freshly picked! would love to come back here again when we visited Langkawi next time..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank toscamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Famous seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Orkid Ria seems to be a widely known restaurant in Langkawi, and located in the middle of everything on the main street of the Pantai Cenang area. This makes this a very busy restaurant. Despite the busy atmosphere, the service is reasonably fast due to the very professional staff. One night some tables next to us had three clients in a row while we were eating, so this place must be a gold mine for the owners.

The menu is mostly seafood and moderately priced from a westerner's point of view. Crab soup, garlic fried prawns, grilled duck, vegetables and noodles with red wine for three persons was around 70 RM per person.

They don't take reservations, so in the busy season you need to arrive early, around 7 pm, to avoid queues. On some nights there are dozens of people queueing outside the restaurant right after sunset. Toilets are not fancy or especially clean but they are equipped both for paperwork and washing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jalinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Orkid Ria Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing