We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad grumpy service...avarage food...expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Tomato

Red Tomato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Red Tomato is a European style restaurant that brings Mediterranean Cuisine in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Originally a small cafe in Langkawi, Red Tomato has grown and developed into the loved restaurant we know it as now. It doesn’t stop there though, we are excited to say as we are also opening in Kuala Lumpur. Try our delicious pizza, pasta or grill dishes that can also be served as gluten free options; we also have some vegetarian dishes to cater for those who choose plant based diets. We hope everyone will be able to enjoy a meal here at Red Tomato as afterall it's where travellers and friends meet and eat...
Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad grumpy service...avarage food...expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Went to the Red Tomato for breakfast...was a real bummer.Should have gone to the Breakfast Bar as usual.
Have been to the Tomato years back before,when they were still new.They were fine then.But now the service it terrible..guess their succes has gone to their heads.Very grumpy to serve you.Worst expiriance in Langkawi where everywhere else you go people are smilling
Expensive too for what you get.Butter that never came,jam that wast given.Sent us drinks that we didnt order.Total damage is about rm50 for 3 person.Never Again.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tasha76noor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    504
    224
    56
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

I really enjoyed the Red Tomato. It has a great breakfast menu...something for everyone...and the fresh fruit juices and smoothies are fantastic.
The dinners are also really good. I had a really nice gluten free pasta there and the other food that I saw looked delicious.
This is a great option if you are in Pantai Cenang and want a break from local style food.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank RowanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Still As Good As Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

In Langkawi for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year's holiday. for 4th time. Had excellent meals both lunch and dinner at Red Tomato. The Caesar Salad is to die for and also Salad Nicoise and Wellness Salad. The choice of pasta is excellent. Kudos to Tanya and member of staff!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food (and special needs catered for!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

The food and service at this cafe is great - a must visit if you're in Langkawi!

I tried the pizza and didn't find it oily at all, the coffee was good, the juices are delicious and they have a range of gluten and dairy free options. They're also happy to make changes to the menu to accommodate special needs.

The cafe is moving to a new location soon - a few doors down the main street in Pantai Chenang - look out for it!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank green_h0rnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive, tasteless and very bad pizzas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Langkawi was one of the first stops on my 3 week vacation in Malaysia. My girlfriend wanted a break from sampling local cuisine (big mistake!) and this place was recommended to us. The restaurant is a quite cosy looking place, I also think that they may have free wifi. Didn't get that to work though and didn't bother to ask. All in all, the first impression was good. We both ordered a pizza. During our trip to Malaysia we sampled food from a wide variety of places. Everything from hawkers to fine dining. Red Tomato was by far the worst food experience on our entire journey in Malaysia. The pizza was just an expensive greasy blob of cheese. In their defence I might add that good western food in Asia is not very easy to find. Red Tomato is not alone to suck at this. They just sucked a little bit more than other places I have been to.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tomato also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Red Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing