We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New looking hotel - but not great”
Review of Creator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creator Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kulai
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on a recent trip to LegoLand with my family - 2 adults and 4 kids.

Booked this hotel for a few reasons - location - no need to travel in and out of Johor City Center at the busy weekend. Price - relatively cheap price as it has 2 queen beds.

Free car park under hotel and it was clean. On top floor of a small shopping complex. No decent shops apart from an Old Town White Coffee - which you get free breakfast vouchers for.

The room was clean and quite. Beds were really hard but clean. Rooms are very basic but did have a funny smell in it that just would not go away. Bathroom was clean but no shower curtain meaning the whole bathroom flooded.

On the whole - it was ok as the kids had a bed for themselves and they could sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed there last week as it was near the Johor Premium Outlets. According to its website shuttle service would be provided to JPO but then they gave the reason that it was Sunday thus the "uncle" (van driver I presume) wasn't working. So in the end me and my company took a taxi there which cost us RM12. The plus point was that the hotel is really near the Kulai KTM thus it was super convenient for us to travel from Woodlands in Singapore to Johor (fare was SGD13 FYI). But the KTM moved at a snail-paced relative to Singapore's MRT. Still, feel that this hotel is quite nice and affordable (3 of us stayed in the RM126 room so less than RM50/person). Would come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michdagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I checked in on 23 Aug 2012 (hari raya holiday session). Took the Modern Twin Room and the cost is RM126/day not RM100 as pointed out by limsimon82 and ZuliaRadzi.
The single room is only RM77 but was fully occupied that day.

The room has a big window but it is not facing outside. The window is an internal window which facing another room. So if the person in that "the other room" dose not close their curtain, you can see every thing in that "the other room" (feel a bit weird, imagine the wall that separate you and you neighbour room is a transparent glass wall, not a cement wall ! )

The room that has windows facing 'outside' (if you want to see the sky) cost more expensive.

No water boiler provided inside room so you can't boil water inside the room. To get hot water, you have to walk to the end of the 'left side' or 'right side' of the hotel. There are hot and cold water dispenser at that both ends..

Two breakfast voucher was provided for breakfast in Oldtown white coffee.
If one slept all the way until 11am morning and did not take the breakfast.......you can't exchange voucher for rebate.

Will not go back to that hotel again unless they remove the big glass weird wall (or big glass window actually) with cement wall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahlek_414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ive been staying in hotels in Kulai area for couple of month on a project. So I tried almost all hotel in the area. Kulai City Inn is one of only three hotels in Kulai that I know that does not survive on a 'Hourly rate scheme' which provide 'extra services'. The other two is Le Grandeur & Nouvelle. Le Grandeur priced at around RM250 per night and Nouvelle is around RM180. Kulai City Inn is around RM100. If you want value for money, safe place to park your car, clean room and a decent breakfast, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Old Town White Coffee is opened till midnight in case you need to take a bite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank limsimon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Kulai has improved a lot compared to the last time when I was there. We don't have high hopes for good hotels in the centre of Kulai, so when we booked Kulai City Inn, we were crossing our fingers but it turned out fine.

The hotel is located on the 4th floor of a shopping complex. It is not the usual shopping complex you'd expect of in Kuala Lumpur or Johor Bahru for that matter. It housed Cowboy wholesale market and quite a number of other shops selling variety of stuff. Also, an Oldtown White Coffee cafe has just opened on our day of arrival. It is very convenient.

Being a simple hotel, we had to carry our bags from the car and to the hotel's floor, so if you travel light, this shouldn't be a problem. The front desk staff were really helpful and accommodated to all our needs during our stay.

We took 3 rooms; 2 double deluxe rooms and 1 supreme room. The double deluxe rooms are facing the train tracks. Occasionally, there will be cargo trains passing by but it was not as loud and it will stop by 12 midnight. The supreme room is facing the main road but the traffic is not as bad, so it was fine by us.

We personally like the rooms, it is very spacious. And, yes, the bed is a bit hard. Other than that, it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Luqluq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed there with my family last few months. We took few rooms , Deluxe Double, Supreme Double and Single Room. All rooms are big and very clean. However the bed was very very hard.

Location is good...just a walking distance from the train station and Mydeen Superstore is nearby too.

Not so good customer service as I had to be put from one person to another and then I had to call them over and over again.

You must drive when you are there at night as taxis only operate in the day. If you are stucked at night, no one can help you...even the hotel staff told us they cant to do anything if taxi driver dont want to fetch us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzraBenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed at the supreme room for RM100.18 for a night only.
Room is exactly as photos from the website and all other things required e.g. towels, face towels, combs and etc.
The staffs are helpful & kind. I did get iron & the ironboard from them
The toilet & room are clean. I'm satisfied.
It's just the bed which is quite uncomfortable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for room which doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZuliaRadzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kulai
1.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kulai
11 reviews
5.7 mi away
Impiana Hotel Senai
Impiana Hotel Senai
#1 of 3 in Senai
49 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nouvelle Hotel Johor
Nouvelle Hotel Johor
#3 of 5 in Kulai
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Perth Hotel
Perth Hotel
#2 of 3 in Senai
25 reviews
5.3 mi away
Zenz Hotel
Zenz Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kulai
2 reviews
17.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creator Hotel

Address: Lot 1566, Batu 20 Jalan Kulai-Air Hitam, Kulai 81000, Malaysia (Formerly Kulai City Inn Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kulaijaya District > Kulai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kulai
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Creator Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kulai City Inn Hotel is a 'green-themed' hotel aim to provide the hotel guest with excellent hotel experience at affordable prices while creating awareness of being environmental friendly to hotel guests in preserving our planet.Kulai City Inn Hotel operates via a 'reduce, recycle & re-use' concept to reduce waste without jeopardising any hotel experience.All rooms are fitted energy saving 32 inches LCD TV, split unit air conditioning to save energy, independent hot & cold shower, energy saving bulbs, free internet & modern furniture emphasizing on spacious & simplicity living.Kulai City Inn Hotel has 128 spacious rooms across 7 room types to cater to a huge range of customer base ranging from business travelers, couples to family weekend re-treat all at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Creator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing