We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would visit again”
Review of Kenyir Lake

Kenyir Lake
Attraction details
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“would visit again”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

40 of us, students and teachers landed at Government rest house at Pulau Sah Besar on 29-31 May 2013. We booked 2 bungalows and 2 hostels. We were the second group to board the lastest boat/hovercraft. Boat ride took 40 minutes as the boatman was using one engine. The lodging was OK, and it was hot as the aircon units yet to be installed. We managed to engaged a Malay caterer, and he turned out to be a good cook. The dishes suit the Chines students' taste. His chicken rice was superb, better than many in the advertisements. We manged to go to Pulau sah Kecil, the waterfall, the herb garden. As Kelah sanctuary quite a distance, we reserved it for the next visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lianhuamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“picturesque”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful serene and picturesque. That says it all. Should try the boat ride. It is so peaceful that you feel out of this world.
The herb garden is well maintained and informative. The Saok Waterfall is very quiet and a nice average size waterfall. However, would be better if the boat used on the lake is battery operated to reduce pollution to the lake

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice view of Kenyir Lake,specially for a family fun adventure in nature.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoy our trip to this beautiful lake.We take a trip to see the waterfall and visit the herbs and botanical gardens by boat and we only paid RM 60 for a family and we get a personal guide there.The ride take about 30 minutes and my child love it and we're having so much fun.As we arrive at the waterfall,we need to climb a a very steep and long stairs but it was worth it as the view of the waterfall is nice and we're given one hour of time to spend there but after half an hour we decide to proceed to another location and we arrive at the herbs garden.There are a lot of traditional herbs that is made as a medicine and we can even taste the health drinking water provided by the guide,it's full of information and good thing for us to learn what nature had best for us.It is such a wonderful experience spending time with your family at the lake surrounded by the beauty of nature :) We'll definitely be coming back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureTraveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
“kenyir~”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

paradise to people who loves fishing~big lakes,, very nice views,, i recomend to people who loves adventure

Helpful?
Thank Nurhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A Fishing Heaven”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Tasik Kenyir is known as an angler’s heaven where fishing is concerned. With the many rivers and tributaries serving as breeding grounds, hundred of species of fish like Kelisa (green arowana), Kelah (Malaysian Mahseer), Toman (Snakehead), Baung (Catfish), Sebarau (Carp), Kalui (Giant Gouramy), Lampam (Scwanenfeldii’s Barb) and etc. Normally fishing time as early morning 06.00 am – 09.00 am and evening time 04.00 pm and 09.00 pm. Month of November is the best time to fish because early stage of monsoon session. The water from the river flow to the lake will also bring some food for the fish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank yangrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenyir Lake also viewed

Kuala Berang, Hulu Terengganu District
Kuala Berang, Hulu Terengganu District
 
Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu
Pulau Perhentian Besar, Terengganu
 

Been to Kenyir Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing