We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Impressive oustide...but not inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi to your Saves list
Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Persiaran Mutiara, Dagangan Kelana Mas, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Tiara Langkawi Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kuah
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Impressive oustide...but not inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Bella Vista will give you a feel of a castle but appearances are deceptive.while the hotel has good location and the sea facing rooms are really good, if you are in the 3rd floor, then there are no windows and only way to watch the sea is coming out to the verandah. the roof is slanted ad the mirror is at the fag end withoout light which baffled me...the AC takes lot of time to cool and really makes you sweat. the buffet breakfast has a good spread and there are good food options nearby.

Room Tip: avoid 3rd floor rooms...try to get the sea facing rooms on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandeeproy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    142
    147
    80
    110
See reviews for
132
148
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

the hotel is absolutely horrible to put it simply. the rooms are ancient. the toilet was broken there was no curtain shower and i had to call three times before someone came and fixed it. when asked for a room change they showed us a room with a twin bed that also had a broken faucet in the bathroom. the service and breakfast quality is below average. the only good thing is the external appearance. staying here would require you to take a holiday.

Room Tip: if you are on a holiday just dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixie8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuah hotels

Coimbatore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The location of the resort was excellent. It had the advantage of the proximity of the sea, the shopping including a Mall, , Restraunts and night life! The renovation work on the building seemed to be over, But the sea front, the lawns and other minor areas were yet to be completed.Hope, the place would be nice after completion. Would not mind going back except for....
we stayed there for three nights. Earlier, I wanted to confirm my booking from my first place stay at Singapore. Nobody attended the call. It was afternoon.. Tried again from Kuala Lampur a few days later, but after many moments of waiting, somebody took the call and informed that the resrevation section was closed.and advised to call the next day.The time was around 5.30 PM local time. The next day was our day of deperture for Langkawi. My OnLine bookings made thru agoda.com could not be confirmed by the Hotel as per their records but asked us to proceed We had some anxious moments till we reached Langkawi. . However, on reaching the place, everything went off smoothly The room we got was simply fabalous overlooking the Andaman sea...The reception staff and others were quite warm and friendly .Another issue I wish to mention is that the Breakfast spread was Disappointing .On all three days of our stay, the menu was the same, except for the. fruits and Items were. quite limited. TheLCD TV provided in the rooms was useless, without any International entertainment or news channals except for CNN..............piyush k. mathur, India.
.

Room Tip: there were around 272 rooms and the best rooms were the ones facing the sea. .A sizable numbers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonalimathur16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a medium range value for money property . Rooms are fine resort style . Pool is close to sea and it gives a nice view. Place is in kuah town so people can enjoy night life in town and jetty area. Night view of eagle point is must see which is quite close to hotel. An Indian Muslim restaurant sells halal food near hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aftab-Zaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks, two weeks too long. But it was the festive season so difficult to get another place. Breakfast cold, and pitful. I love Malaysian food - but if it's meant to be warm, make it warm. Staff could not care less and requests to meet with the restaurant manager or chef fell on deaf ears most of the time. I was insulted by the Resident Manager who wrote to me and said the food was cold because I turned up late for breakfast - I was at breakfast first four mornings at 8.10 and they serve till 10.30. Hardly late. I never went back for breakfast. Notice how many other customers complain about breakfast on this site.

Their Website claimed things that did not exist - there was no Nautilus pool Bar and restaurant, in fact no bars at all. Pool, whislt good, was in the middle of a building site. There was no sports bar. There was no convenience store.

To be fair, the hotel was undergoing major rennovation - but it would have been better to have put a disclaimer on the website.

The manager had a go at me for choosing their cheapest accommodation - whatever the price, the least one expects is good standards, delivery of what is promised on the website, cleanliness and good customer service.

The area adjacent to the hotel is dull, run down, dirty, filthy, and walking dangerous due to holes in the road, debris, bricks, and other things sticking out of the roads such as pieces of iron. (This is not the fault of the hotel - but it is not the fairy tale setting their website would have one believe.)

I booked a superior room and that is what it said on my form. But it is NOT what I got, and not the room advertised on the website. I got a room which was hugely noisy (opposite the air conditioning plant), doors to the rooftop balcony which were not secure and there was scaffolding outside so anyone could have gained entry. No lighting in the alcove where the writing table was. The balcony hadn't been cleaned in yonks. I WAS however given another room the next day. But the resident manager tried to make out I complained because of the lack of a seaview. I never mentioned seaview in my complaints - there was one, rather nice at sunset as it happens.

No access to the beach.

I was accused of not thanking the staff - but I did; I thanked them for the change of room, for booking a trip. There was little else to be grateful for.

When I met the resident manager he agreed with all my complaints and said they could not even get the basics right yet when I complained to Tourism Malaysia he then wrote to me and totally contradicted everything. They have no idea how to treat guests. And e-mails to the head honcho went unacknowledged - totally ignored.

I wasn't the only guest to complain.

Round the swimming pool - which for a huge hotel had about ten sun beds and ONE parasol - conversation overheard each day was always about guest complaints.

But don't bother complaining to Tourism Malaysia - they never reply to correrspondence, they never follow up written complaints and as seems typical in this country, the attitude is - we want tourists to give us money, but are not prepared to give the service. You just get ignored. The Minister of Tourism she currently advertises on Fox TV that she wants a huge increase in income from tourism in the next three years - they need to attend to basic tourist infrastructure and adopt a much enahanced skills based approach to customer service giving people value for money.

As for this hotel - draw your own conclusions!

Room Tip: Write and double check which room you will get before booking. Keep a record of all correspondence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelesesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Renovation construction during my stayed, kinda of mess & dust along the corridor, entrance..etc
Booked for Deluxe Room and get an free upgrade to Studio Premier room.
The Studio Premier is nice and spacious, flat screen TV with limited channel, Shower w/o bathtub, basic amenities provide.
Reception staff service very poor, unfriendly.
Breakfast serve very basic and limited choice.
Behind the Hotel have a Chinese Restaurant and was good.
about 10-15 minutes walk to Teow Soon Huat Duty Free & Shopping mall.
Recommend for budget travelers.

Room Tip: Choose for Studio Deluxe / Premier more spacious, clean but not facing to the Sea. Deluxe Room fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene_G1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We always like to judge places for ourselves but on this occasion we wish we listened to the reviews on here. We arrived at the hotel at 9am. They would not let us check in until 3pm. We were extremely tired after our journey and the lounge facilites are not great. Our room was dirty. The sheets were stained. The bathroom had not been cleaned very well. We found an old rusty safety pin in the bed. The safe was broke. Pool tiny and surrounded by screaming kids, we didnt go near it.Breakfast crowded. The only good things I can say about this is the hotel staff were helpful and the room view was nice. We would have left straight away if there was any other availabilty, unfortunately everywhere was so busy due to it being chinese new year. Luckily we had only booked for one night. Please do not be confused by the castle photo. It looks ok from a distance but is surrounded by scaffolding. It's far from a palace and very tired. When the the taxi driver picked us up from harbour even he told us we had picked the wrong hotel. The Bella Vista at the airport is apparantly the new one and nicer. You can get so much more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlexplora16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuah
0.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
12.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
8.6 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#19 of 102 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
8.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#68 of 102 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Persiaran Mutiara, Dagangan Kelana Mas, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Tiara Langkawi Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Kuah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing 14-acres of lush landscaped gardens facing the clear blue waters of the Andaman Sea, this themed style resort is an ideal getaway for newlyweds, family and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Langkawi Hotel Kuah
Bella Vista Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Waterfront Resort & Spa Langkawi Kuah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing