We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunderland Motel
Nearby Hotels
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$54
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Asia Langkawi(Kuah)(Great Value!)
$62
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
HIG Hotel(Kuah)
$32
$28
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$22
$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Langkawi Motel(Kuah)(Great Value!)
$23
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$14
$12
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
4
7
6
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
6
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Rm120 for a 4 nights stay in a bedroom of 3. No breakfast. But the room was okay. Our room was not made up on the 2nd day and the shower head was broken. Call them twice and only fixed it on the 3rd day. I got a feeling that the housekeeping staff did not make up the room intentionally as both of rooms were not cleaned and...

Stayed at this motel for 3 nights. Overall it was a nice stay, except for some minor gripes such as the broken bathroom door knob. Like what other reviewers had mentioned, there are no lifts so you have to carry your luggage upstairs to your room. If you are just looking for a cheap decent place just to sleep, this is the...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rm120 for a 4 nights stay in a bedroom of 3. No breakfast. But the room was okay. Our room was not made up on the 2nd day and the shower head was broken. Call them twice and only fixed it on the 3rd day. I got a feeling that the housekeeping staff did not make up the room intentionally as both of rooms were not cleaned and I read the same review on this as well. Our rooms had no windows as you need to pay additional Rm50 per night for that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at this motel for 3 nights. Overall it was a nice stay, except for some minor gripes such as the broken bathroom door knob. Like what other reviewers had mentioned, there are no lifts so you have to carry your luggage upstairs to your room. If you are just looking for a cheap decent place just to sleep, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THChan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The reception is okay. No lifts, need to carry luggage to your room. I booked a triple room without window. The shower head was damaged, and the room was not made for 2 days! I read the same feedback elsewhere, suspect the staff was not doing her job as it was peak season. If you don't mind about the housekeeping, it is a budget place with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Y2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Sometimes you wandered into a hotel late at night and decided just then to stay, just because that's where the taxi stops. That is the case with Sunderland Motel and I. The name might bring a reminiscence of a Saloon in the Old West, but we are very much far from both the Old West and that timeline. It is actually quite nice, in an average way. The motel is located in the heart of Kuah town, literally, and above a Tax free shopping mini mall, which name escapes me at the moment.

The room are not that spacious, just enough for a king size bed, a small fixed table on the wall that barely fits my notebook and a corridor to the bathroom and the door. The bathroom is acceptable, equipped with an aging water heater with a build-in pump that is making a lot of noise. Despite having the pump, the water pressure is not that great, I probably got a room with a faulty pump.

Despite all that, the room is clean and the bed comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly, I had a problem with my credit card service and I was short on cash but since it was late, they still let me check in and tell me I can pay for the room the next day. Talk about service!. There's also a taxi stand literally outside the hotel and a very close access to every shopping haven in town.

I would still recommend this hotel to people, because it gives a very good service and a very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews