We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but okay”
Review of Sunderland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunderland Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kuah
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Sometimes you wandered into a hotel late at night and decided just then to stay, just because that's where the taxi stops. That is the case with Sunderland Motel and I. The name might bring a reminiscence of a Saloon in the Old West, but we are very much far from both the Old West and that timeline. It is actually quite nice, in an average way. The motel is located in the heart of Kuah town, literally, and above a Tax free shopping mini mall, which name escapes me at the moment.

The room are not that spacious, just enough for a king size bed, a small fixed table on the wall that barely fits my notebook and a corridor to the bathroom and the door. The bathroom is acceptable, equipped with an aging water heater with a build-in pump that is making a lot of noise. Despite having the pump, the water pressure is not that great, I probably got a room with a faulty pump.

Despite all that, the room is clean and the bed comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly, I had a problem with my credit card service and I was short on cash but since it was late, they still let me check in and tell me I can pay for the room the next day. Talk about service!. There's also a taxi stand literally outside the hotel and a very close access to every shopping haven in town.

I would still recommend this hotel to people, because it gives a very good service and a very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

at the center of the town. this motel should be your first choice if u doesn't mind about the view

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Riri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank jac0bski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuah
0.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahagia
Hotel Bahagia
#63 of 105 in Langkawi
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#12 of 17 in Kuah
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lavigo Resort
Lavigo Resort
#33 of 105 in Langkawi
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
G Langkawi Motel
G Langkawi Motel
#4 of 17 in Kuah
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Motel

Address: 19, Jalan Pandak Mayah 5, Pusat Bandar Kuah, Kuah, Kuah, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Kuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Kuah
Price Range: $11 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunderland Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunderland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunderland Motel Langkawi/Kuah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing