We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Stardust Cruises - CLOSED

Stardust Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stardust is a brass and varnish classic sailing yacht operating out of the Kilim River Geopark. We take small groups of tourists for fun eco adventure day cruises through the Geopark and surrounding islands and include in the itinerary eagle watching, sting ray petting, salt water Jacuzzi, join in sailing, sea kayaking, fishing and excursions to the hidden lagoon, tunnel cave and Langun sand spit beach. We also do BBQ dinner cruises as the sunsets. All cruises include a free flow of beverages and meals. Day cruise is 7 hours and sunset BBQ dinner cruise is 3 hours.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was a full day and included hotel transfers. We travelled by small boat to view eagle feeding and then a fish farm (seemed a waste of time), and then boarded the Yacht for a very relaxing day at sea. We were lucky to only share the yacht with 4 adults and 2 children, as it may have been crowded with the usual 18 they can take. The lunch and free flowing drinks were great. The trip takes you through some magnificent scenery, we visited a sea cave and swam in the beautiful emerald green (and warm) sea. The highlight was sitting in the dragnet off the side of the boat suitable for young and old. The captain and crew were very friendly and went out of their way to make our day special. We would definitely recommend this as a great day out, we felt it was worth the 600 RM that it cost.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cottzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent services, Great Enjoyment”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We 7 peoples booked the cruise through Steven.

Unexpectedly we 7 friends has it as for private cruise tour for the whole day!

The program started at 9:40 pick up from hotel, we were sent to Kirim Mangrove area, and started the journey on the sea.
First we took the speedboat to visit the fish village, and Eagle seeing. Fish Village was so so, and the Eagle was very cool.

Then the speedboat send us to stardust cruise and it's all ready and waiting for us. We all was soooo excited when we knew it was only 7 of us and we may enjoy our private party! Yaay!!!

3 of them were serving us throughout the whole time. All of them are cool, friendly, and very nice!

We had some kayaking on some small beach.. it was fun! and we visited the special pirated area, and we also heard some ghost story. learning about the specialty about mangrove tree!

The program started to be very exciting when they start putting down the net for sea Jacuzzi!! You may jump from the cruise and grab the net, or walking down in the convenient way. Some of my friends who doesnt know how to swim also may enjoy the sea Jacuzzi in safe without worry! They even serve us beers when we were in the sea!! how great was it!

Then lunch time, the lunch was very yummy! Even it looks like some simple local food, but taste fantastic.

Some cocktails was and afternoon tea were also served later on.

We got plenty of place to rest all around the boat. Nice music was played when we start the journey. Free flow alcohol for you to drink as much as you can. dance with the music, cool wind, under the sun, on the boat!

Best tour I ever had!

Thanks again to Stardust!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank colalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy 60th Don”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a great cruise. The sea net was great. We loved it. Food was wonderful and such a surprise. The only complaint would be a little expensive compared with anything else in Langkawi but it did have an open bar. Staff were wonderful and attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stardust experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I and our 3 year old daughter truly enjoyed our day cruise! Loved the mix of activities such as going to mangroves, hidden lagoons, desertted island beach for a swim, eagle watching and the surprising excellent food!!!! Also, very friendly and professional crew, lovely boat, great organisation. Definitely recommended!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Aber97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“What a fabulous day!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We spent a fantastic day on board the Stardust, a beautiful 2 masted, wooden schooner, built in traditional style by her owner, Hamish.
We were picked up from our hotel and driven to the start site at Kilim Jetty, in the Geopark, about a 30 minute drive.
We were introduced to the crew, by Hamish and were then taken to the small but fast boat, which would take us out to where the Stardust was moored. Getting onto the boat was my biggest worry, as I have mobility issues, but Hamish and the crew were wonderful, helping me literally every step of the way.
We were whisked away at a fair speed and the Stardust came into view: this is a truly beautiful, traditional yacht,and getting on board was much easier than anticipated, with help from everyone.
We travelled out of the Kilim River and the engines were cut and the sails raised- instant peace, like being in another world.
The senery was fantastic, and we were alone. We sailed along, marvelling at the geological features and the views, you could even see the coastline of Thailand! Photo heaven!
We were soon offered drinks, beer, wine,soft drinks, water etc and quickly after came the first nibbles. Lunch was provided and was excellent, catering for all needs. Late in the afternoon we were offered cocktails! Wow!
The crew were very knowledgable and were able to answer all our questions.
During the day there was an opportunity to 'walk the plank' and relax in the jacussi net, with a drink in hand if desired! There were side trips in a small craft to a beach where you could swim, caves to explore by kayak or swimming if you were a strong swimmer, fishing from the Stardust, a fresh water lagoon to visit and countless photographic opportunities of wildlife or the amazing geological features along the way. Late in the afternoon we cruised back into the river and were picked up again by the motor boat, then we were taken to watch the Eagles and Brahmini kites being fed. There was also the opportunity to visit a fish farm alongside the banks where,apparently you could feed the fish, including a stingray.
We eventually got back to the jetty, and were helped onto dry land again. I remarked to one of the crew that I didn't think I would be able to do this trip due to my disabilities, and he answered, 'If you have the will, we'll find the way!' which to me was the sign of a really caring crew.
Absolutely the best day of our holiday!!
We can't wait to go again!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stardust Cruises also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing