We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dirbach Plage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Dirbach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, charming hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A delightful hotel where all front rooms and the dining area have a view over a river fed lake formed by a small man made weir. The hotel is reached by walking the pedestrian access bridge across the lake. Cars are parked on the opposite side of the river to the hotel. A very convivial atmosphere was created by the hosts. From our dinner table at night we watched the fish rising to catch insects for their evening meal while we enjoyed the excellent restaurant cuisine, admirably supported by local and imported wines. Our attic room on the top floor was simply furnished, comfortable and warm. The view from our room of the river and valley was stunning. All we could hear was the water going over the weir and the birds. The bathroom was tiny just like on a boat, but fun. The tasty breakfast was lacking the choice often found in hotels but was adequate. The setting, the warm hosts and charm mean this is definitely a location for a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the view. The back rooms face the cliff face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
eyemouth scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Read the mixed reveiws of this hotel, staff where friendly and welcoming, rooms clean comfortable and large, only disappontment was the view of a cliff side, would stay there again. Location was good. Breakfast was ok,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kennyshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The fact that we were booking a room that was on the backside of the hotel was mentioned several times during booking. When we arrived and entered our room, we noticed why...no view whatsoever, but solid rock within a meter of the window. That made the room a bit dark, even during daytime. No problem however, because we would spend only one night there.
Welcome in the hotel was ok. Room ityelf was ok. The size of the room was more then ok: a double bed, a single bed and a table and a couple of chairs and still enough room to walk around. But it had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. It is a miracle how they managed to get a shower, toilet and a washbasin in such a small space. It was clean though, and that is what counts for me.
If you sleep light, you might have problems with the noise that the wooden stairs, doors and floorboards make.
Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but maybe we are a bit spoiled. A croissant per person, some french bread. Cheese, ham honey and other were availble , as was coffee and tea, but it lacked the choice we are accustomed in other hotels. And for the price we paid we might have expected more.
As mentioned, check in was fine, checkout also. We even got a bottle of wine as a present when we left..
Would I stay here again? Yes I would. The staff is very friendly, the surrroundings of the hotel are beautiful, the room spacious. And that balances with the mediocre breakfast and the small bathroom.

Room Tip: If you like a view, ask for a room at the front of the hotel. But: the rooms at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a cabin. Our cabin was new and very clean and comfortable for two adults and two kids. There is a gas oven but no electric kettle in the kitchenette.

The owners of the hotel are extremely friendly and are trying to help in any way they can. The restaurant is excellent and very moderately priced.

A few points to be aware of:

The name of the place is a bit deceptive: it is more a fishing place than a beach. The water in the river was 14 degrees centigrade.

The location is away from its all. If you are into sightseeing - it is easy to go to Vianden but Luxembourg City is too far. Dirbach is a tiny village of a few (mostly holiday) homes surrounded by woods.

Those who are staying in the cabins have to order breakfast or even fresh bread an evening before. You can not just change your mind and pop up for breakfast in the morning. The charge is 10 Eur per person.

Finally the toilet in our cabin was really small and I mean it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here over the Easter weekend. The place is overall quite nice, in a green setting and very quiet. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, and the bungalows are simple but have all that's needed. Our only complaint was that some of the fees were not disclosed on the website or once we made a reservation, i.e. heating and cleaning fees. When we were there, despite being April, it was still very cold so that heating the bungalow was not a question. In fact, as soon as we checked in, we were told that they had turn on the heat in our bungalow - we were not informed that there woud be an additional EUR 40 charge for that nor we were asked if we were ok with it. Similarly, at the moment of checking out and settling the bill, we found out that there would be a EUR 60 cleaning fee unless we wanted to clean it ourselves. Now, this is quite misleading. Price was definitely a consideration in choosing this place and we compared their fees with the ones from other hotels closeby. By hiding fees this way they look more competitive although in reality they are not. That's very honest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I spent one night with my family here.

The place is a treasure if you look for a tranquil outing. The hotel is situated in a valley to which the road drives through spectacular surroundings. It is alongside a walking path so if you fancy hiking, it is the right place.

We did not try out but you can buy/hire a fishing rod and fish for trout in the little river the hotel is build upon.

The room was spacious, we enjoyed a very good sleep. The only negative is the size of the bathroom which is more a bathcabine where the toilette is integrated into less than 1.5 sqm space.

Restaurant: it took quite a while to get our food but on the other side it was extremely abundant and very-very delicous. Comme il faut! We barely could eat all what we got - so for the size of the dish! ;) Give it a try, your palate will thank you :)

The owners are very friendly, they speak several languages - unfortunately this was not valid for the personell but we got along with some pantomim and mix of 3-4 languages ;)

While we were there in a sunny time, at indian summer, the morning was chilly and misty so prepare some warm cloths and water resistant boots: remember it is in a valley.

In a nutshell: we were happy to have selected this hotel for our weekend trip and can recommend it to anyone who loves calmness and the touch of nature.

PS: there are plenty of little villages around, worth to go/bike and visit them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaborinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The surroundings of hotel was amazing. Running water, a mini waterfall, there's a lawn opposite the hotel where we both hanged out and just lied down on the grass, relaxing. there were jungle trails for those who loves jungle trekking, unfortunately not us. The owner and staff was also nice. the room is very simple, so if you're someone accustomed to the luxuries of a 4 star hotel, this will not be your cup of tea. we had 2 single beds set together, a closet, a satellite tv with lots of arabic channels, a small fridge. but the bathroom was extremely small. my husband a 6 footer keeps bumping his elbow into the wall and stuck in the shower curtain. the shower area, you really don't have space there and the whole bathroom is totally wet when you shower. that's how small it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarakhanafiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirbach
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#6 of 8 in Clervaux
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koener
Hotel Koener
#1 of 8 in Clervaux
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Clervaux Boutique & Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Hotel Belair
Cocoon Hotel Belair
#1 of 3 in Bourscheid
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#2 of 11 in Vianden
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Postillon
Hotel Le Postillon
#2 of 2 in Esch-sur-Sure
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dirbach Plage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirbach Plage Hotel

Property: Dirbach Plage Hotel
Address: Dirbach 9153, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Dirbach
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dirbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dirbach Plage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dirbach Plage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing