We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not liverly and In the middle of knowhere.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tummel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Tummel Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed for a short break at Tummel Valley and yes I must admit the scenery is very magnificent, but do not be mislead by the brochure which says large and liverly, it is non of these. There is a tiny over priced grocery shop, with the selection that is like you would have seen on a bad day in the USSR before the iron curtian fell. The nearest town is Pitlochry 15 or so miles away along a narrow country lane often used by large vehicles. Again do not be fooled the site is no where near Pitlochry! Make sure you bring plenty of supplies and food, the supermarket there is limited too.

Another big concern I saw was the childrens play park on the banks of an EXTREMERLY fast flowing river with phenomonal strong currents, and inadequate fencing. Do please watch your children, anyone who falls in there has no chance!

I think the place is ideal for anyone who wants a break away from it all. For people who are not so concerned about entertainment or facilities and prefere the solitude and I would say that is a selling point. I would not recommend this place for families with young childen who like play facilities.

To conclude, do your research, check google Earth its small and quiet, make sure you bring your own food and plenty of it and lots of DVDs board games, books etc for wet weather or boredom.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElCowboy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 639 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2009

After booking a holiday to the Tummel Valley park I read some of the reviews on here and was dreading it!

Yes, the road is windy, and yes it is a bit from Pitlochry, but if you know that, its not that bad. There is loads to do and see around the area, so we were expecting to drive around a lot. We didn't always take the road straight to Pitlochry you can go round another way to various places. I am not the most confident on windy country roads, but it really WASN'T that bad, not nearly as bad as made out to be here.

We were there with my 3 year old son and my Mum and sister. The Lodge was fantastic, spotlessly clean, everything looked brand new. Huge lounge and kitchen area, with everything you could need. 3 bedrooms, one en suite . Seperate bathroom with bath, fantastic showers. Flat screen tv in lounge and additional tv in master bedroom.
Really good value at what worked out as about £20 per night per adult.

The facilities... yeah they are not great. We didn't eat in the restaurant or use the bar,but that wasnt because they werent nice (although they didnt tempt us!). The shop was ok,typical caravan site of this type shop, a bit expensive, but had stuff if you weren't prepared. We did have food from the take away, it was nice! It wasnt any worse than any other chipper!

The pool was great, yes the changing rooms could be upgraded, its not like a private gym, but they were fine to get changed in. My son loved the pool. you do need to arrive 10 mins before the session and if its busy you might not get in,so you need to plan

We had a great time, we loved the lodge, the pool was great. The play park is near a river, I wouldnt leave my son unsupervised so it wasnt a major problem for us.

All in all, it was fine, think some folk on her are having a big moan! Also I thought the staff were nice

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luluxbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

we booked our touring pitch for 8 nights sat till the following sunday when we arrived at the reception the staff didnt know what there were doing didnt know who we were as for my friends and rest of my family same happened to them. i was looking forward to this stay here as it was my first time here and some familys first time as well the toilets werent cleaned they were dirty. the pitches are not level at all . wewent to the bar at nights the kids enjoyd the entertainment for them but the rest was rubbish we had a game of bingo we called the girl ignored us saying she never heard she did as for the swimming pool it is tiny the pool entertainment in pool was rubbish but the pool party kids enjoyed the most i wont be going there again wouldnt wish on anyone ill give it 1/10

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We used to look forward to coming here, but, after 2 visits this year, we will not be back unless things improve. Although our caravan was lovely the on site facilities leave much to be desired. To say that Tummel Valley has deteriorated would be the understatement of the century. Parkdean management needs to spend some money on improving this park.
The outside of the building is neglected and falling apart, especially the deck area. The children's play area is much too close to an unfenced fast flowing river, (surely some Health and Safety violation) and as for the Crazy Golf ???????
The inside of the faciltiy is just as bad. The windows are filthy and look as if they haven't been cleaned for months. The carpet is really dirty and while we were there popcorn had been spillt and no one was interested in cleaning it up. The toilets were so bad that my wife took our kids back to the caravan to use the one there. Staff are slower than snails. Poor selection of drinks and vastly overpriced, be prepared to queue forever. Also there is no cash point on site and they won't accept Switch for drinks only. No cash back available either.
The entertainment !!!! After the third night of exactly the same thing our kids didn't want to go. We were glad of this as the volume was unbearable.
We are so disappointed as we love the area, however, next time we will be going somewhere safer, cleaner, not so overpriced and, most importantly, somewhere the customer actually matters
Our advice, do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eastiebeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Please be aware as other trip advisors have said Tummel Valley is not near Pitlochry. Its a good 25 min drive down a windy almost single track road. Scenery is stunning yes and had we not had fab weather that week, it could have been hellish. We had the car luckily and travelled out every day but it meant a good drive every day.
Our Caravan was ok, the fridge was mouldy, the paper had peeled off in one room and the settees were all stained but could have been worse. I have 3 young kids 9, 6, 3. They were happy to go out on bikes luckily as there is nothing else to do. the play park is tiny and next to a raging rapid of a river which scared the life out of me, cause just a tiny wee fence around one part. Also the place seemed quiet but it you ever ventured into the bar, you would find all of Scotlands finest jammed in there. the system to get into the pool was a total joke (so was the pool) and the whole place needs done up.
Oh and the receptionist only knows two words....yeah....naw.

Wont be going back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lorripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We were booked in Monday to Friday, but left on Wednesday we relied solely on the brochure details, and assumed ... NR Pitlochry meant just that , we never thought it was 14 mile away along winding country lanes. We never thought to read Trip Advisors write up on facilites.
One brochure said lively and leisurley! it was certainly leisurley. Anyone wanting total relaxation then this is the place, but that is all it is good for! I don't know where the 'lively 'comes from
The caravan we had was excellent! but that's all, the so called entertainment complex was small, the carpet needed a good vacuum, the windows had sticky finger marks.
there is absoloutely NOTHING! to do. We walked around the site, there is a basic play park for children, which are FREE! in all towns etc and bigger (this is free buit paid for in the cost of the holiday) The so called crazy golf is made of plastic and in need of brightening up it looks ancient and only fit for kids.

The mini supermarket is just that, more like a small corner shop. the stock was totally inadequate taking into account the park being isolated in the middle of nowhere. No books or gifts and not the most inspiring place to shop with one small freezer I did not see any fresh meat. Other than this it is a 30 mile round trip to Pitlochry to the only supermarket there being Co-op.

I felt insecure being so remote

No village post office or pub, just NOTHING!

There is a small takeaway, but it smelt like old stale fat, not appetising.

Nothing to do for children, other than sit over them in a play park all day.

We did not buy drinks in the bar but took our own, reading the comments on the high prices, you are much better off going abroad!

Never again!

Final comment ... Research before you book, and remember 30 mile round trip on winding country lanes from Pitlcohry. Take plenty of supplies, plenty of books, and be prepared for a very quiet holiday. NOT LIVELY!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tirol94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Tink of a place, full of jakified pikies called STAFF that don't know what a can of iron-bru cost 49p! no £1.15 ya tink and don't know how to make food without a microwave and some stale nan bread wit they aw aboot.
Half the staff don't where they are nevermind knowin how to make a chip they need to get a real job like that turd of an "entertainer" TINK!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tinkmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tummel Bridge
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,303 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
311 reviews
10.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Tummel Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Tummel Valley Holiday Park

Address: Tummel Bridge, near Pitlochry | Perthshire, Tummel Bridge, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Tummel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tummel Bridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isn't life great outdoors?When you fill your days exploring castles, cycling down leafy lanes, fishing lakes, climbing up mountainsides and soaking up scenic views, even the busiest holidays can help you unwind. At peaceful Tummel Valley, right in the heart of the pretty Tay Forest, you're free to enjoy the whole of the great outdoors. * A peaceful park on the banks of the River Tummel * Unwind in an idyllic woodland setting * Fishing, golf and Highland attractions nearby * Heated indoor swimming pool with splash pool * Luxury riverside lodges ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tummel Valley Holiday Park Hotel Perth And Kinross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing