We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
264
227
112
61
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
227
112
61
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park dean swimming pool queens view riverside lodge kids entertainment play park shop on site chip shop forest walk narrow road central heating amusement arcade evening entertainment duck pond single track tots lovely park
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 722 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We used to look forward to coming here, but, after 2 visits this year, we will not be back unless things improve. Although our caravan was lovely the on site facilities leave much to be desired. To say that Tummel Valley has deteriorated would be the understatement of the century. Parkdean management needs to spend some money on improving this park.
The outside of the building is neglected and falling apart, especially the deck area. The children's play area is much too close to an unfenced fast flowing river, (surely some Health and Safety violation) and as for the Crazy Golf ???????
The inside of the faciltiy is just as bad. The windows are filthy and look as if they haven't been cleaned for months. The carpet is really dirty and while we were there popcorn had been spillt and no one was interested in cleaning it up. The toilets were so bad that my wife took our kids back to the caravan to use the one there. Staff are slower than snails. Poor selection of drinks and vastly overpriced, be prepared to queue forever. Also there is no cash point on site and they won't accept Switch for drinks only. No cash back available either.
The entertainment !!!! After the third night of exactly the same thing our kids didn't want to go. We were glad of this as the volume was unbearable.
We are so disappointed as we love the area, however, next time we will be going somewhere safer, cleaner, not so overpriced and, most importantly, somewhere the customer actually matters
Our advice, do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eastiebeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Please be aware as other trip advisors have said Tummel Valley is not near Pitlochry. Its a good 25 min drive down a windy almost single track road. Scenery is stunning yes and had we not had fab weather that week, it could have been hellish. We had the car luckily and travelled out every day but it meant a good drive every day.
Our Caravan was ok, the fridge was mouldy, the paper had peeled off in one room and the settees were all stained but could have been worse. I have 3 young kids 9, 6, 3. They were happy to go out on bikes luckily as there is nothing else to do. the play park is tiny and next to a raging rapid of a river which scared the life out of me, cause just a tiny wee fence around one part. Also the place seemed quiet but it you ever ventured into the bar, you would find all of Scotlands finest jammed in there. the system to get into the pool was a total joke (so was the pool) and the whole place needs done up.
Oh and the receptionist only knows two words....yeah....naw.

Wont be going back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lorripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We were booked in Monday to Friday, but left on Wednesday we relied solely on the brochure details, and assumed ... NR Pitlochry meant just that , we never thought it was 14 mile away along winding country lanes. We never thought to read Trip Advisors write up on facilites.
One brochure said lively and leisurley! it was certainly leisurley. Anyone wanting total relaxation then this is the place, but that is all it is good for! I don't know where the 'lively 'comes from
The caravan we had was excellent! but that's all, the so called entertainment complex was small, the carpet needed a good vacuum, the windows had sticky finger marks.
there is absoloutely NOTHING! to do. We walked around the site, there is a basic play park for children, which are FREE! in all towns etc and bigger (this is free buit paid for in the cost of the holiday) The so called crazy golf is made of plastic and in need of brightening up it looks ancient and only fit for kids.

The mini supermarket is just that, more like a small corner shop. the stock was totally inadequate taking into account the park being isolated in the middle of nowhere. No books or gifts and not the most inspiring place to shop with one small freezer I did not see any fresh meat. Other than this it is a 30 mile round trip to Pitlochry to the only supermarket there being Co-op.

I felt insecure being so remote

No village post office or pub, just NOTHING!

There is a small takeaway, but it smelt like old stale fat, not appetising.

Nothing to do for children, other than sit over them in a play park all day.

We did not buy drinks in the bar but took our own, reading the comments on the high prices, you are much better off going abroad!

Never again!

Final comment ... Research before you book, and remember 30 mile round trip on winding country lanes from Pitlcohry. Take plenty of supplies, plenty of books, and be prepared for a very quiet holiday. NOT LIVELY!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tirol94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Tink of a place, full of jakified pikies called STAFF that don't know what a can of iron-bru cost 49p! no £1.15 ya tink and don't know how to make food without a microwave and some stale nan bread wit they aw aboot.
Half the staff don't where they are nevermind knowin how to make a chip they need to get a real job like that turd of an "entertainer" TINK!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tinkmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Tummel Valley was the best caravan iv eva been 2 im shocked to see those comments im a teenage disabled girl in a wheelchair and i loved tummel that was the best caravn i had been too.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tummyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews