We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing spectacular”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tummel Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Tummel Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we were 2 adults and didnt visit the entertainment at all, so we cant judge this.
our 4 night stay was good, just had dinner once at the restaurant, wasnt that good. so we went to another place,
The caravan was what we expected, no big complains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vakantiefanHelmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 633 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I thought i would give a different point of view from a tourer. We arrived during torrential rain at the end of August and were very disappointed by the tourer park. It was flooded and the view was non existent. There was a massive electricity pylon running through it and it very much seemed like tourers were at the bottom of the pecking order as it was over the road and quite a distance from the main site. Ater searching for a suitable spot and checking out the facilities we decided to ask reception for a refund. This is the positive bit.....the staff at reception were very sympathetic and immidiately sorted a refund out with Parkdean head office, they then went on to ring round and find us a site that was available and not flooded! Well done!
If you have dogs and a tourer i would avoid this site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KimwilsonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having enjoyed a lovely day in the beautiful tummel bridge surroundings my family decided to spend the evening using the on site entertainment . Bad idea. Absolutely appalled by the service by the bar staff. As a member of our group (aged 28) did not have ID he was refused service at the bar. This I completely understand as it is the law to have identification should you appear to look under 25. however the manner in which this was dealt with was completely out of control , the staff proceeded to refuse service to the full group, we were verbally attacked by at least 5 bar tenders who told us no one would be served drinks when we had asked the remaining group be served, all who were over 25 and holding valid identification. Bianca was disgusting; her tone and attitude towards paying customers is unbelievable she treated us like criminals, rolling her eyes and laughing whilst beginning to serve other customers...we were utterly embarrassed. I strongly advise that this team of staff including the management be trained fully on the running of a bar-they have no idea how to deal with situations like this-as the previous traveller has commented their son had to leave the bar but could come back in 3 days? Rediculous. From what we heard of the 'cabaret act' we have to look positively at the fact we were unable to use the facilities , the group were like something from peter Kay's Phoenix nights . 'let us entertain you' as it states in the brochure... Not entertained in the slightest

Stayed: August 2012
14  Thank Lorward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went in 8 berth larch caravan.( 4 adults and 4 children aged between 3-7). There are 2 bathrooms which worked well for us as we were 2 families.Bedrooms and storage were fine.Kitchen was well equipped. (although cooker glass on door was extremely hot on the outside.Burnt myself several times as did my friend. would be worried for toddlers) and washer/dryer was mental.Overall we loved the van.
I can understand a lot of the comments......
park is small,but our children played happily on it.
Nature walk was nice,but not really suitable for young families,certainly not suitable for prams/bikes/wheelchairs.
Kids entertainment was poor.Did not seem to cater for more than 6 kids! Girl did seem to have favorites and made no effort to include other kids and she definitely liked the sound of her own voice. (spent more time on mic!)
Arcades were ok to pass 30 mins
SWIMMING.........what a complete let down!Once in 5 days we got to swim as a group and that was only because we complained so receptionist booked us onto next session to compensate.(you had to go 15 mins before each session to get in........but twice we arrived 15 mins before time and we couldnt get a swim......so work that one out!)Apparently they can only have 43 people in pool area at any one time with 2 lifeguards.........well there was only 1 lifeguard so they would not allow more than 20 people in. Crazy set up and certainly needs reviewing.
There is plenty of wildlife around which the kids loved....we came prepared with stuff to do bughunt and nightwalk.(saw hedgehogs,owls,toads,red squirrels,red deer,rabbits and a SNAKE!!!)
Pitlochry definitely worth a visit as is Queens view.
If you come here,don't rely on just the facilities/entertainment at the resort cos you will be disappointed. We made a lot of our own entertainment doing bug hunts, night walks,pond dips etc which the kids will love as there is plenty to see.

Overall,we had a good time,it rained a lot whilst we were here and the pool was a massive let down.Would prob stick with Haven Holidays as Parkdean did not offer what it advertises!(facilities only open at certain times,if enough staff and if it works!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandygriffiths54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Can't complain about staff, location, value or cleanliness.
We booked in to a caravan for 4 nights, 2 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs, what a nightmare we had the only place dog friendly was caravan and terrace in front of bar (always raining and couldnt eat out there) I spent most of my time stuck in van whilst hubby entertained kids at complex.
I understand you can't take dogs everywhere but we couldn't even have a bar meal as no areas allowed dogs, very dissapointed and had to travel tonext valley (Tay) to find anywhere dog friendly.
I liketaking my dogs on holiday so unfortunately we won't be holidaying at parkdean again !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorisda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Tummel Valley for 3 nights and it will be my last it was the worsed family break i have ever had and we will never be back. Nothing for the kids to do swimming pool was only open a couple of hours a day, swing park need updated, entertainment staff never even made an effort to speak to anyone unless they know the them at 1 point an entertainment staff spent all of her afternoon off with another member of staffs family and when it came to the kids getting prizes at night and that member of staff got the wee girl up (how she spent all day with) to dance and that when i said to my husband that wee girl will win all the prizes and i was right enough she did. then to make things worse on the last morning my wee girl was in the shower and she let out a big scream and the shower has nearly burned her as it went really hot and when i told the receptionist it was just ok bye she never even asked if she was ok or anything. The only member of staff that was really nice was the young boy at the swimming the kids loved him and i couldnt say 1 bad word about him always spoke to the kids n played games when they were in the water

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

having used site for 16yrs this is the worst family holiday we had staff were vile and rude bar manager was the worst he threatened our teenage boys and also my wife saying he would physically remove us from the bar even though our boy was 18yrs old have never had such a terrible holiday the manager elaine has no people skills her way to resolve it was to keep the boys out of the bar even though they werent drinking just playing the fruit machines she said they could come back after 3 days our holiday was ruined from the get go .as a result none of us went over to use the facilitys because we felt under threat from the bar manger frank and his staff we will never go back to this site again watch out if you have teenagers

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tummel Bridge
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,278 reviews
11.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,745 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,088 reviews
10.9 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Tummel Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Tummel Valley Holiday Park

Address: Tummel Bridge, near Pitlochry | Perthshire, Tummel Bridge, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Tummel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tummel Bridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isn't life great outdoors?When you fill your days exploring castles, cycling down leafy lanes, fishing lakes, climbing up mountainsides and soaking up scenic views, even the busiest holidays can help you unwind. At peaceful Tummel Valley, right in the heart of the pretty Tay Forest, you're free to enjoy the whole of the great outdoors. * A peaceful park on the banks of the River Tummel * Unwind in an idyllic woodland setting * Fishing, golf and Highland attractions nearby * Heated indoor swimming pool with splash pool * Luxury riverside lodges ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tummel Valley Holiday Park Hotel Perth And Kinross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing