We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Country Escape, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Country Escape, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel about 5 times now. It has a really nice location in the country and great for walking our dogs around the golf course and other paths. However, this time, I began to feel the room we were in (one that we have stayed in before) was beginning to look tired. All perfectly clean, and the bathrooms are still great, but the carpet and furniture was beginning to show signs that it is time for a makeover.

We always have dinner during our short stays, and this time, for once, the restaurant was very busy. As is inevitably the case when there is insufficient staff to cope with a full house, the service was slow, the waiter short and snippy, and the general manager, who we have met on previous occasions, too interested in a business party rather than the well-being of all the guests at dinner. It was still a pleasant experience, but not what we expect from this hotel.

I'd still recommend this as a great getaway, but I hope the hotel invests in some updating and better staffing of busy periods soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    316
    53
    19
    4
See reviews for
191
326
54
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
315 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked a room here since most of the hotels were packed because there was a large event taking place in Luxembourg. It was a bit hard to find the hotel at first but woaw, what a setting.! The hotel is hidden away in the nature and has a very large golf course. I got an upgrade to a suite because at the time of check-in (15h) my room was not ready yet. Most people there were in the hotel to play golf, seemed I was the only person wearing a tie.... But a place I will return to. Prices are very reasonable and breakfast was very good. There was only one person to take care of dozens of people at breakfast. My tip to the hotel: if you have some many guests, make sure you have enough staff to look after them. The same for dinner, there was just not enough staff to look after so many guests having dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel, we got a special offer which made it really good value for money. Very beautiful country setting with a golf course, ofcourse :-)
There's a pool for swimming - so the water is quite cold. There's also a nice hot spa in mens and laides changing rooms, so if you're a family it's a bit odd that you can't sit together.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kimsky_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel and staff are most helpful - nothing too much trouble.

Room are bigger than some and are well equipped - if all Mercure were the same the world would be great for us travelling folks

IF you play golf - then this hotel is a MUST.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AMACSPORRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Luxembourg is small as we know 30 minutes and you cross it, but do stop as it is beautiful.
The Kikuoka is located @ 20 kms. from Luxembourg city and is a gold and country club with about 70 rooms
Nice pool and small full gym are on site
The rooms are well appointed, with bath and plenty of space with comfy beds. The rooms are a little too warm, but whose complaining better than being too cold
The Golf club has a good course for those who chase the little white ball
The restaurant and bars are pleasant and the food good if not brilliant, but again Luxembourg is small and 15 minutes gets you to may other eating places.
Its very peaceful and surrounded by forest, lovely

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Some colleagues and I stayed here whilst working in Luxembourg recently.
The hotel is modern with large, comfortable rooms, many of which overlook the golf course. The setting is rural and peaceful, but very convenient for Luxembourg city.
Guests have free use of the large, indoor pool, which again has a pleasant outlook onto the golf course, there is also a very small and rather cramped/hot gym plus sauna facilities. When we stayed there was a charge to use these, even for residents.
The hotel bar is a welcoming place to meet up for an after work drink or an aperitif. Snacks are also served.
The hotel restaurant offers a good range of choices, including local specialities. Breakfast is taken here as well and is of a "better" continental-style standard.
This would be a good choice for anyone spending a few days in the Grand Duchy, whether for business or pleasure.
My only, very minor, gripe was the lack of heating in the bathrooms. Not only did this make for chilly morning ablutions in the autumn/winter months, but it also meant that you were not able to air used towels or dry swimwear.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times.Staff always remember us and make us feel like much valued guests.All facilities second to none,the most peaceful hotel ever.Absolute bliss.Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BavarianGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canach
7.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
8.4 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
7.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
3.9 mi away
Legere Hotel Luxembourg
Legere Hotel Luxembourg
#1 of 1 in Munsbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mondorf Parc Hotel
Mondorf Parc Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mondorf-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club

Property: Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club
Address: Scheierhaff, Canach 5412, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Canach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in exceptional natural surroundings, just 20 minutes drive from the city of Luxembourg and features 59 comfortable rooms, 14 duplex rooms and two suites with elegant, refined decor, as well as 1 apartment with a kitchenette. The hotel also offers a traditional restaurant, two bars, five meeting rooms, an indoor pool, sauna, fitness centre, solarium and an 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club Hotel Canach
Mercure Kikuoka Hotel
Accor Kikuoka Hotel
Mercure Kikuoka Golf Club Luxembourg/Canach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing