We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Bintan(Bintan Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Bintan(Bintan Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveler rating
186
287
114
33
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
287
114
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice restaurantnirwana gardenssea view chaletoctopusbeachfront chaletsshuttle buskelong restaurantbeautiful beachswimming poolindian cuisinethe main hotelking size bedclear watermini zoowater sportsseafoodrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 650 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to Bintan Island in February this year and stayed at this property for one night. The resort has got connectivity to ferry terminal which is good and makes the transfer easier. The resort is a part of Nirwana resort and has easy accessiblity to all the other restaurants and rides within Nirwana. The rooms are spacious, nice and clean. The beach is very good. Only thing is the time, as our ferry reached by afternoon and then we had very less time left to enjoy beach activity. Most of the rides also get over by 5, or either stay here for 2 nights or come early to enjoy all the rides. They also have Javan spa facility neaby, which is very good!!

Room Tip: Go in the right season and reach lil early to enjoy all the rides.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashantg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Mayang Sari. Yes, it was so good we went back again, and for five days at that.

Then again, it really depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for a place to chill, soak up the sun and sea, and not do very much at all, this is the place to be at. If you are the type of person who measures the worth of a vacation by the number of activities involved, you may be better off at one of the other more mainstream resorts, although there is a free shuttle that takes you around to the other Nirwana-owned places. We took it once to check out the pool at Nirwana Gardens.

We had a lovely seaview chalet. What better way than to be lulled to sleep by the crashing waves. And to take five steps and get onto a beach that we didn’t have to share with more than four people at any one time (this was July) was pretty amazing. What we also appreciated was the little deck attached to each chalet. We spent lots of time on it reading and chilling while waiting for our sunblock to properly adhere to our skin. The beach itself was clean, and the water was clear enough. Watch closely and you will see fish, and if you aren’t so lucky, jellies. You would hardly believe that Singapore is but 40 minutes away. Regarding the chalets themselves however- they have obviously seen better times. They do need some sprucing-up in the form of a paint-job and new sheets. It would be such a waste otherwise. There were occasional times when we felt that our almost perfect experience had been let down by stained sheets, flakey walls, and the mould that collected in the bathroom along the ledge where the tiles ended and the yellow walls began.

The real saving grace however was the top-notch service by the staff at Mayang Sari. They did everything with a smile, and it as cliche as this might sound, they always went that extra mile. A few instances here of how they made us feel at home.

(1) When we were checking in, we realised that our favourite chalet had been taken. We enquired if we could switch chalets some time during our stay, and the receptionist, Antonio, gladly informed us that our favourite chalet would become available the next day. And even though he wasn’t going to be around the next day, he left a message for his colleagues, and the room transfer was effortless. They even got someone down to help us transfer rooms.

2) We only brought one toothbrush by mistake, and were prepared to have to fork out an unreasonable amount of money for one, as is expected of resorts built far away from civilisation. But our fears were unfounded- the people at the reception provided us not one but two sets of toothbrushes complete with miniature toothpaste tubes.

3) We had no bottle openers and the people at the reception did not hesitate heading over to the cafe to help us open a couple of coolers that we had brought along.

4) And then there were those packets of mosquito repellant. Yes, beware the mozzies. Slather on some repellant in the evening, and you’ll be fine. Room service had initially left us two packets of repellant. I think they noticed that we had been using them- there was a half-used packet on one of the bedside stands- and the next day, they doubled the number of packets to four! How very thoughtful!

5) Last but not least, it was raining cats and dogs when it came time to check out. The people at the reception actually sent a buggy over to our chalet to get us and the driver was concerned when we said we could make our own way to the reception building.

It really is the little things that matter most.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muggsy0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Charming chalets with wooden floorboards and woody decor. Neat and clean and but not very well maintained (i.e. evidence of wear and tear over the years). However, I would still recommend it as the service staff are very polite and accommodating, and will go out of their way to help and address any queries or requests.

Gorgeous beach with fine sand and clear water.

I'd definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The resort is a quick 45 min ferry ride away. If budget permits, opt for Emerald class which allows for a separate check in lounge where you can wait in comfort with the coffee machine, biscuits, small playground for the children and generally a calmer boarding experience. On the Bintan side, Emerald Class passengers only need to show up at the counter with luggage, hand over their passports and wait confortably in the lounge while the staff clears immigration for them and checks in the luggage.

Mayang Sari itself consists of groups of wooden chalets that surround the beach. We stayed in 2 of the Dragonfly chalets and although we booked a garden view room, the chalets were built such that ours had a sea view too! The rooms are definitely old and basic. The floorboards have gaps and "retro" would be an apt description for the bathrooms. But both rooms and bathrooms were clean. We saw lines of black garden ants on one of our room walls but since we made sure not to leave any opened snacks in the room, they did not trouble us and disappeared once we turned on the lights and airconditioning in the room. We asked houskeeping to provide us with room slippers and once you slip these on, everything feels much better.

Do try the services at the Kedaton spa. Although prices at the hotel spa are double what may be available outside, the service and ambience make it worth the extra expense. We had lovely massages and there is a promotion in May for 2 people at $200 total. Our spa experience was 90 min long and included a footwash, tumeric scrub, yoghurt rub and aromatherapy massage. The manicure and pedicure experiences were equally enjoyable. Do note that mani/pedi services and the hair treatments are carried out at the Kedaton Spa Warung at Nirwana main hotel. This means that you need to take the Kedaton Spa car to Nirwana. The car will send your there and pick you up at the end of your spa treatment.

The food at the Kelong restaurant and Spice Restaurant were of a very good standard. Prices at the Kelong restaurant were not cheap but the seafood was very fresh. We had buffet dinner one night at the coffeeshop at Nirwana Gardens. That was the worst meal of the trip and one of the most expensive. At $34++ per person which isn't exactly peanuts, our table encountered a bad coconut, overcooked beef wellington, not-fresh scallops and mussels, sour vanilla for the crepe suzette and soured bananas in coconut milk. Skip this restaurant. We should have.

The food at the food court is decent as well. We ordered a few local dishes such as ayam kecap, ikan bakar and the bakso to share and these were freshly prepared and tasty.

Prices at the resort centre for souvenirs were the cheapest. The Mandaling shop at the resort centre also sells kopi lewak (civet cat coffee) in beautiful little boxes that make great gifts. The resort provided us with complimentary coupons for 2 free bowling games per room but sadly we didnt get a chance to use them. All the polo shops in the resort may carry different seasons clothing and hence discounts available may differ from shop to shop with the one at Nirwana Gardens being the most expensive and the one at mayang sari considerably cheaper. The only shop which carries childrens' polo clothes is the Nirwana Gardens gift shop.

Words such as rustic, quaint charm and simple describe mayang sari perfectly. The beach is suprisingly clean but there are jellyfish in the water. So if you do go to mayang sari, be prepared and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dseptkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is an idyllic spot - do go for a Sea view chalet - it is worth the extra cost!
The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and the food was very good.
The room is spacious - bathroom has all the required facilities but in need of a make- over!!
However my trip in the week was wonderful - 2 days seemed like a week and the ferry transfers were done with efficiency leading to a most relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryann707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews