We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Stars. Would have been 4 stars if not for the food options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars. Would have been 4 stars if not for the food options”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Went to Mayang Sari wtih my 2 very young kids (2.5 yrs & 1 yr) and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They loved going to the beach every morning and there's plenty of space for them to run around the room. The shuttle bus around the Nirwana hotel operated every half hour so we could move around with relative ease.

Food option is extremely limited in Mayang Sari so we had to hop over to Nirwana for more options. Food is extremely expensive, especially Rin. It was such a rip off. Breakfast was ok but do not expect much from it.

Find ourselves running to the main resort for facilities more often than not so it's actually better to stay at the main resort. Mayang Sari would be great for couple's retreat or those who would be enjoying sea sports the entire day.

Beach was really clean and the water was cool despite it being 2pm in the afternoon. On a weekday it's really like a private beach. I didn't run into any sandflies or oil problem. Not sure about the beach on the hotel side though.

The wooden floor is chipping so if can be painful when I trip over the broken portions. Bring bedroom slippers to safeguard your feet. Might not be used to the stone flooring of the bathroom so get slippers to walk in the room and bathroom.

Overall a pleasant stay. Will be back when the kids are older. Probably staying in Nirwana hotel for convenience.

Room Tip: Take the advanced booking offer. Get the sea view. It's really worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momokokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    263
    104
    27
    28
See reviews for
202
247
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The chalets in Mayang Sari are lined up in sets of 2 and in 2 rows. All chalets face the sea. The Sea View chalets are located in the 1st row and thus, there are no obstructions in front of it. The Garden View chalets are located in the 2nd row. We were fortunate to be given a chalet that had unobstructed view of the sea and we could enjoy the seabreeze if we sat on the porch.

My advice is to save on the Sea View-Garden View chalet price difference and buy yourself a Polo shirt or splurge on your seafood dinner at the Kelong restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooifei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not value for money!
Interior should be upgraded! No toiletries provided!
However, service staff were polite and friendly.
Room service was OK.
Rather lack of facilities and boring!
Skills of spa staff should be improved!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecilia084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

the cabanas were clean but very old and a bit rotten. food was not good, almost no fruits, every second day the same food ( for breakfast), no big choice at all. service was good. the beach was nice but full with tar spots and sometimes very noisy because of the hotel water sports. over the weekends lots of people were there, during the weekdays it seemed like we are alone... the area is quite nice, but you cant leave the hotel without some hotelshuttle because the area is so huge and there is just nothing. there is a shuttle that brings you to the shopping centre, but actually nobody goes there because it is just expensive (but still less expensive then in the hotel mini marts). just 300 metres behind the shopping center there is a little outlet and some spa. in the hotel and shopping center they want you to pay with creditcard (they change everything in indonesian rupees) or SGD or USD. Outside of the shopping centre and hotel you can pay with rupees.

all in all i would never go there again. its is priced like a 4star hotel but what you get might be 2andahalf star not more.by the way evereything is extremely overpriced, especially when you know the prices in Indonesia. And its even more expensive then in Singapur but the quality/service etc is way more less...

we would never go there again, better to spend the money for other islands or even in the malls in singapur... you dont get the value for the money you would expect...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisereise08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Semi - budget style accommodation as part of Nirwana Gardens Resort. Great spacious sea-view room, with old style bathroom. The ranch sliding door was broken upon arrival, but within an hour this was 'fixed'. The door locked, but if one was on a burglary spree one would have scored. Overall pretty safe there though.
The room was clean, and had a very welcome aircon unit. To get off the resort one would need to book a full day away and everything was hugely expensive. The variety of restaurants and hotels was great, so overall pretty happy. Bring a big wallet and don't expect to swim in the sea in January due to oil residue from the shipping lanes :-(

Room Tip: Ask for Seaview room, very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sannepanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Good: You cannot fault the staff at the Mayang Sari, always courteous and helpful. They were a great example of excellent customer service.
The Bad: The chalets at the Mayang Sari are tired to say the least. The floorboards were loose and creaky, the paint on the walls was dulled and chipping, curtains were dirty. The bathroom was in a dire state, dirty toilets, cracked and broken tiles and ants seemed to be crawling everywhere. This is a 2 star budget selling itself as a 4 star resort, does Indonesia have a Trading Standards office?
The prices however are top-end! A cup of tea cost me over 6SGD! The food at on-site restaurant called Spice is average, there is too much on offer for the ingredients to be really fresh, a fact demonstrated by a bad stomach on more than one occasion. Breakfast is ok, the omelettes topping the list.
The Ugly: This area of Bintan sits below the shipping lanes, the result of which can be seen in the black oil that sits on the coastal sea-bed and the beach cove that the resort edges against. I went in the sea for ten minutes and found this, sludge-like oil stuck to my soles, it was quite disgusting.
In summary, would I go to Bintan again? Yes, for a short break. Would I stay at Mayang Sari again, probably not, I'd pay more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaDeo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Just went to the Mayang Sari last year with my friend. We spent 2 nights here for our vacation. Though the room decoration is a little bit rustic and simple, but you can find the great sea view on your balcony. We stayed at the beach at night and it was so quiet for relaxing. But also need to mention that the facilities in bathroom is not good with some leaking problems. We couldn't log in the wireless at first and the staff were patient to help us. Thanks for their kindness.

It was a bit expensive in the resteraunt of hotel, suggest to go to Resort Center for lunch. You can also walk to the Kelong Resteraunt to have dinner and enjoy sunset view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youyoucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
578 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
172 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 38 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Property: Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing