We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable villa in a beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We shared this villa with another family and had a wonderful time. The small (2 bedroom villa) is perfect for a weekend getaway. Each family had separate rooms, and we were able to put the toddlers to sleep upstairs and have our adult time hanging out in the living area downstairs. The open layout is great for entertaining and hanging out, and the villa is in pretty nice condition.

Some areas of improvement: the hotel seemed to be skimpy in villa necessities such as enough toilet paper (or extra toilet paper), kleenex boxes, salt pepper, and towels. We found ourselves having to call housekeeping all the time for all these extra necessities. Sometimes it would take a awhile to get what we needed.

The hotel grounds itself is beautiful. The beach is amazing, beautiful, and clean. The pool area is really nice, with a huge wading/kiddie pool for the little ones.

Area of improvement for a hotel: Please have conference events occur away from the shared/public area, such as the pool. The Sunday that we stayed there, relaxing by the pool was a little difficult as there was a a huge loudspeaker in the open grass area nearby, with very loud music playing, then a loud emcee leading groups in team-building games. I suggest moving those types of activities to a more remote area away from the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in the Villas over Chinese New Year. To be fair this is probably the busiest time of the year for the hotel (and therefore the highest priced) but the standard of the villas was still very disappointing. Everything is there (ish) but they're old and need refurbishing. Surprising lack of A/C downstairs in the villa. Service around the complex was OK but food choice and cost was disappointing, particularly for dinner. Prices clearly geared to the Singapore market.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Our 3 nights 2 day stay was pleasant. We purchase a family package thru holiday bagus. The staff was efficient and easy to communicate with.

Everything was good except that the food at the food court costly. SGD$5 for a kaya toasted kaya bread?! like SERIOUSLY?! The villa looks old and slightly rundown. They descent facilities perhaps due to low occupancy the resort looks like a ghost town. Good service from the hotel associates. We love the elephant ride and mangrove tour!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ain-Helmi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

A quick getaway trip w my galfriends and I before our new semester started! We wanted a cheap holiday that was easy yet fun for us so Bintan was our top choice! All I can say is, it was worth the dollar, since each of us paid $30 for a 2-bedroom villa (there's 6 of us).

The room wasn't exactly the best of the best but for the price we paid, it was totally acceptable! The rooms was rather clean (altho the toilet on level 1 was dark). The pool was near our villa and there's a sauna for usage too.

Anyway, here's a few tips for you:
1) Avoid going during off-peak period because they use this period to do maintenance of their water sports activities. There was basically no watersports to do, except for jetskiing!

2) Never book spa sessions from the front desk area. It's expensive since they'll either send you to another resort or outside of the resort for the massage. Instead, do ask them to book a session for you at their recreation centre!

3) Use a credit card to make payments because e value of their currency is constantly fluctuating and I ended up paying lesser than I thought

4) Be very careful and remember to close your door! There's a resident monitor lizard living in the pond. And w e surroundings being dimly lit, its easy to trip and fall

5) Take time to look up into the sky. Its gorgeous, cos you getta see the sparklng stars shine so brightly!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

In a nutshell - great service at Nirwana Gardens Resort, but our Banyu Biru villa (Suria 6) was quite old and run-down. It lacked many items that you would expect in a self-contained unit (eg., no washing machine or dryer or even clothes lines; no coffee maker; no rice cooker; the fridge was missing several shelves; there was only one small rubbish bin). But our a family of 5 adults and 3 young kids had a great time, partly due to the low occupancy rate mid-week and partly due to the good service provided.

We got an NTUC birthday deal to stay for 6 nights in one of the four Banyu Biru villas that NTUC owns (~SGD250 per night for a 3-BR villa). These villas are like two-storey townhouses. There seems to be about 15-20 of them and they are next to the main Nirwana Hotel so you can walk to the Hotel restaurants and facilties and use the same beach.

Actually, you don't need to walk very far at all, since it only takes one phone call to the Nirwana reception to summon a "buggy" to your villa. The buggies are like golf buggies and are a lot of fun (particularly for kids). We found the drivers were friendly and would always check that everyone was safely on the padded seat and holding onto the side rails; they would take us anywhere on the Nirwana Gardens complex. (This was how we discovered the mini zoo that's to the side of the main entrance into Nirwana. Our kids wanted to feed the deers, look at the crocodiles, snakes and eagles every day!)

Very few of the villas have an oceanview, but most are near an attractive system of ponds. In fact, the outlook in every direction from our villa was quite appealing.

Most appealing were the two good-sized swimming pools (the children's pool had a slide) that are only one or two minutes' walk from most of the villas. On weekdays, we had the pool mostly to ourselves and the pool attendant was quite liberal in allowing us to stay on after official closing time (6pm).

We found it very convenient to make phone calls to reception or housekeeping with any questions or requests. On our arrival and discovey of the missing items, they were quick to bring us the items (alas, no washing machine or dryer, though!). We also got extra towels every day (initially there were only 2 or 3 towels in the 3-BR villa!) Even more important for us, the housekeeping staff readily agreed to our request to clean the villa late morning (when were always out swimming) rather than in the afternoon when our kids were asleep.

So, what's wrong with the amenities? Old, run-down, cheap. The beds were very hard mattresses on wooden slats. The matress on one of the double beds almost fell through to the floor and we realised that the slats were out of alignment and some were broken. The maintenance people were quick to come and repair it when we rang. However, given the reasonable-sized bedrooms, we were amazed that the beds were small and uninspiring (when did you last sleep on an original "double bed" where your feet touch the end of the bed, rather than a Queen-sized bed or bigger)?

If the Management would just spend some money on decent beds, then we'd gladly recommend these villas. But if sleep is important to you, go elsewhere in Nirwana Gardens (or elsewhere in Bintan for that matter).

Room Tip: Decide if you want to pay extra for an oceanview villa or if you are happy to have a pond view only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSAfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in a three bedroom villa. It was quite spacious but was a bit tired with some well used furniture. A fresh coat of paint would smarten it up as well. Air conditioning upstairs in the bedrooms was great, but only ceiling fans downstairs made it a bit hot.

Pool and beach were very good. The choice of restaurants was also very good and reasonably priced.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdabbs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa -it was large and clean,a little run down but only needs a lick of paint!Outside we were surrounded by nature-ponds filled with lillies and 2 resident monitor lizards!Resort was huge and if you like sport they have archery,trampolines,flying fox all on site so no need to get bored.Restaurants on site although didnt try them all the food was great and lots of choice.
For us living in Dubai it was so nice to get away from skyscrapers and modern life and have some basic nature to appreciate.I was worried after reading the reviews but go for it I am sure you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BagpussDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
1.5 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
24.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#7 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: $316 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyu Biru Villas is located on the north western coast of Bintan Island, less than 10 minutes from the ferry terminal and a mere 55 minutes ferry ride from Singapore's Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal. Banyu Biru Villas is surrounded by landscaped gardens and set within Nirwana Gardens. For cosy family reunions or group gatherings, stay at one of the Banyu Biru Villas which are fully furnished for a comfortable homestay away from home. Designed in four contemporary styles, 36 lovely villas are available for your short-term stay. *Banyu Biru Villa guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villas Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing