We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This time we booked one of the most expensive rooms, a suite. Ok the balcony didn't look over the sea exactly and I was hoping to lie outside on a bed and there was just a couch thing, but the room was beautiful. Really spacious, a four poster bed and huge bathroom.
The promotion of a cake if it was your birthday month was very touching, and when the cake arrived it was huge! Had a slice and took the rest back with me!
Bit strange there was nothing in the fridge.
I love Nirwana gardens, if you really want to do very little and relax it's the place to go. The staff are really polite too and I thought it was excellent they gave us our room in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2010

Spent 2D1N at bintan, nirwana resort hotel.
Once you reached, there will be a group of performers welcoming you, and a welcome drink will be given. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Bought the all-in-one pass for activities (SGD $33++) at the activities desk, but didnt get to fully utilise it due to thunderstorm. Asked for refund and the staff gladly helped me get back money for activities I have yet to try out (:

Food is priced, but it taste good.
Breakfast buffet at the coffee shop was average.
Hotel was a little old, towel and bedsheet were not exactly clean. You can see little yellow spots on them. But, overall the room's clean and neat.

In short, I enjoyed my stay in nirwana resort hotel (:

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askanvends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is a nice beach weekend get away for Singapore residents. Do not expect much on what they say and photos in their website. The rooms are a little run down and old but spacious. Service is a bit slow but courteous and welcoming. The dino bistro bar serves good food but may find it expensive for others. Well, everything in bintan resorts is Singapore priced. So do not ever compare it to Phuket/Bali/Boracay or some other countries not in the same exchange rate as Singapore.
Nirwana is one of the resorts in Nirwana Gardens. It's a big property shared by several resorts. There are other activities to do like ATV bikes, Golf, tours and more. BUT THERE'S NO NIGHT LIFE HERE! This is good place for relaxing, seclusion and commune with nature and yourself.
The pool is excellent! It is designed in a way where you can chose a more private spot for yourself if you want to get away with a group of people who are loud and goofing around. It's a combination of deep and shallow areas, and jacuzzi are scattered in 3 areas. The beach is fairly good. You can swim on it. and you can clearly see your feet below. Sand is white and powdery soft. Just sitting at the shore you'll see a lot fish swimming around.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spytime2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Arrived the hotel with good expectation after reading some good reviews from this website. Upon arriving the hotel waited in a long queue for registration, it took about 20 mins to get our key. For the timid , you will spot monitor lizard, fat house lizard and ants all over the hotel compound.

The room-mouldy smell hit us immediately and the key tag does not work so no electricity! This reason is enough to put us off and there were more to come! The room looked old and tired and the bed and pillows were very soft even with 2 pillow each guest. The bathroom was dirty and old and the water drainage was slow and that made the floor looked constantly wet and dirty. The towels were old with faded white colour.

Pool and beach were good. Beach is clean and the sand are soft.

Went to the fame Kelong Restaurant-actually came to this hotel because of it-the sight of the sea was sure nice. Can't detect any freshness from the steam garoupa, the squid and beef is tough from over-cooking. The food is just not worth the price we have paid S$110 for 3 persons.

Pasar Oleh Oleh-just quoting everybody 'it's really nothing much'. Food there were cheaper but not any nicer. You can get much cheaper beach wear and keropok. You have to pay $5 for the ride.

Resort centre has all sort of activities with a fee. It has flying fox, bowling, air rifles, archery, ATV etc

Meals at the Coffeehouse-breakfast which is included in the price is mediocre. All I had was eggs, sausages and some over-sweet cakes. Little variety, the chicken renang which the other reviewer has commented was still in the menu and the meat was tough . I can't understand as this is the country where it should produced a good chicken curry.
Lunch/Dinner-al carte is not encouraged in the Coffeeshop(buffet restaurant). We have to take the buffet dinner. At 7.45pm most of the food were not replenish, we DIDN'T got to taste the Pumpkin and sweetcorn soup and the baby lobster. The other hotels in the rest of the world has yogurt with many flavour, over here there was only the original for breakfast and dinner. The main thing i ate were vegetables,baked fish and satay, it cost S$35++

Since this is the school holidays, the hotel is full of people and noise. Along the corridor you can hear noise from other guest talking loudly late into the night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnVacationSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Overall this hotel is nice and beautiful. Good, new and clean facilities. I love the scenery at the pool. The staff are very friendly and flexible. The rooms are clean and new. however you cannot see the see from level one seaview rooms as there are blocked by trees or playground. So if you are taking the seaview room, hopefully you will get the rooms at the third level. Food are all taken in the resort. You can take the shuttle bus to other parts of the resort to try the different restaurants.

The seafood restaurant was great and the cafe was not bad. However I took the promotional dinnner buffet on my first night which had guest star cook to prepare Italian food. To my disappointment there isnt much Italian food and we mostly had BBQ food and it is not very nice. Everything that you spend will be in Singapore dollars and each meal range between S$30 to $40 per person. I do not think you would want to eat at the local market due hygiene reasons.

Don't bother to go pasa ole ole as there's nothing there except local souvenir store, polo ralph store and couple of convenience store if you need to get something. You have to pay about S$5 to take a ride there or if you can book a SPA session with Aura SPA which i strongly recommend, you could get free transportation to the location which is near to pasar ole ole and back to the resort. Just go to the activity counter to do the booking.

There's nothing much to do at the resort. Perhaps water sports which are expensive at the resort and beware of tar at the beach which i spent an hour clearing it from my sandals. There is also a rereation center which has bowling at S$3 per game, pool/ billiard and arcade.

Finally the resort is very near the jetty, so you dont have to waste time travelling to the other side of the island. Overall I enjoy my trip to Bintan

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeginSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We booked up the hotel for a weekend stay with my son, and his girlfriend, who are based in Singapore.

After the usual hassles of getting to Bintan and getting through immigration we were efficiently met and taken to the Resort Centre for check-in etc. So far so good!

We had booked a small two-bedroomed villa but when we inspected it, the sheets were dirty, the air-con upstairs did not work and neither did the downstairs fan - both very necessary in this part of the world. The fridge was a little tired too! As this was not satisfactory we asked to be moved to a different villa but the next one, we were shown, was not up to standard either. However, after some discussion and extra expense on our part, we were able to secure a suite and and adjoining room in the main building. This was of a reasonably good standard and now things seemed to be back on track. Staff were always polite and seemingly wanted to help - can I say!

Generally, we liked what we saw and the breakfast etc was good, the grounds tidy and the beach and pool etc well up to any description we had seen. But the resort made one terrible error. We went to the flagship restaurant (Kelang) on the second night and were informed that a bus would arrive to take us back to our rooms at 11-00pm. NO BUS!!! The workers went home on theirs but not us! Eventually, with the help of one of the remaining staff, security guards gave us and another family a lift an hour after we expected to be back. There is no way one could walk because of the unlit paths, distance and possible dangers from snakes etc. It transpired, from what I could extract from the bemused desk staff, that a corporate trip had taken preference and we were only paying guests so not a priority - more money can be made from businesses. Not a good situation to be in.

Yes, we did (sort-of) like the place but the resort is tired and needs a management shake-up not further new development that seems to be their way forward. They need to get sorted what is there.

There is so much potential here that is just not exploited and therefore I would find it hard to recommend in spite of wanting to be positive in so many ways. All-in-all, it is not worth the effort getting there - the immigration/security situation, for what is little more than a short boat ride, is bureaucratic and expensive (you have to buy visas on landing) yet all Bimntan is really is just an off-shoot of Singapore using the same currency etc. Next time we will probably fly off somewhere from the wonderfully efficient and excellent Singapore airport and probably spend less money in doing so.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demimaderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

generally, we tried food at the kelong and the restaurant . it was soooo bad. especially the buffet breakfast. the rendang they served with the nasi lemak, was made with small chicken off cuts. all i had was bones, the two days that i tried it. really nothing to rave about.
the bed was of poor quality / old. it was too soft. it dipped and i could feel the springs. i was in a deluxe room.
got really interested to go into the city. the hotel charges a lot but we found a guy who was only charging $80 for six hours. he is so kind and was really accommodating. even when when my son vomited in his car, he never once complained and did all he could to help us. his car accommodates up to 7, and is very clean and comfortable. it was a toyota. i strongly recommend his services. his name is Alim: +628192201044, +6281270993904.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutsquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,651 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
596 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: $102 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing