We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations. Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations. Great value!”
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My wife and I booked a 2D1N stay at a deluxe room at Nirwana Resort Hotel in late December, for a short getaway (no thanks to the gloomy economic outlook!).

Given a host of other more pricey choices in Bintan, we went with guarded expectations. We were quietly optimistic though, given the numerous positive reviews given on this website.

We arrived at the hotel at 12pm Singapore time (which is 11am local time) and were told that our room was not ready but will be "guaranteed" ready by 3pm. Sensing our disappointment, the receptionist suggested that we go ahead and use the facilities first while we wait for our room. Encouraged, we changed into our swimwear and headed for the pool after leaving what we did not need in the safekeeping of the reception.

The pool was just as great as the sunny weather that welcomed us. We were given towels even though we did not had a room yet. The pool bar was swell too, the friendly bartender also offered to take care of the bill and charge it to our room. Good drinks (try the "Crazy Man" cocktail), even better service!

We had lunch at the poolside bar (pizza and pasta). Not fantastic but passable by our standards. Service was prompt and polite though.

At about 4pm, we decided that our room should be ready and thus proceeded to change up and headed for the reception. Surprisingly, it seemed that they were still unable to give us our room! But before I could even muster up a protest, we were offered a free upgrade to the Nirwana Suite!

Needless to say, the suite was a lot better than what we expected, and in fact, looked like it was recently renovated. Clean and fresh, the bathroom and bathtub were huge!

After settling down, we proceeded to book a spa package (S$315 for a 130 mins couple session).at Kedanton spa over at Mayang Sari at 5:30pm, a sister resort 5 mins away. At 5.15pm, the spa sent a car over to pick us up. Overall, we were quite happy with the treatment rendered though it was rather late by the time it ended. The spa driver then offered to drop us off at our next destination - which was the Kelong restaurant, for dinner.

For dinner, we opted for the 2-person 7 course set dinner (S$72++) - which we felt was great value. The ambience and setting was good too. Unfortunately, we were not able to head out to the cool looking Calypso bar for a drink for fear of missing the last shuttle bus.

Buffet breakfast at the Coffeeshop the following morning was ok too, and we did not wait long for our seats. However, I knew I shld have avoided the soft-boiled eggs. That seemed to be the culprit for my tummyache!

After breakfast, we went for a walk at the lovely beach and then a quick dip back in the pool again before packing up for check out at noon. Before our ferry ride at 3:30pm, we checked out the newly opened Resort Centre. The gym looked good and so did the other activities (like air-rifle shooting, paintball and archery). The bowling alley is still under construction.

Overall, we were happy with the place (not because we were upgraded, but because the place exceeded our expectations overall) and we would certainly visit it again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykonosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    584
    323
    83
    60
See reviews for
489
450
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We were at Nirwana resort hotel for Christmas this year. The service was excellent.

We were picked up from the ferry terminal and were greeted by dancers and hot ginger tea on our arrival. We were given our rooms immediately at about 11ish though check in was at 3pm.

It was pouring on Christmas eve but there was plenty to do. My son promptly joined the kids club that they had moved to the hotel lobby. For $5 a day, children can join in a range of activities from 10 am to 5 pm. On other days, kids can be left at the club house by the children's pool. There were daily visits to the mini zoo behind nirwana resort hotel, feeding the fish and turtles, face painting, puppet making, leaf painting, buggy rides, treasure hunts, team games, etc. The programme was conducted by Tina and her assistant who were able to converse in English fairly well with the children. I noticed that several security guards too were constantly around the group keeping an eye on the children when they were out on the grounds.

The pool table and pub where they were screening children's movies (Harry Potter I think) is a great place for parents to hang out while keeping an eye on the kids.

It's best to check into Nirwana resort hotel if one is traveling with children. Otherwise one would have to take the shuttle down to drop off kids and pick them up for meals. It's also easier to keep an eye on the children when they are in the same premise.

They had a great Christmas programme for the children with songs and dance at the lobby of nirwana resort hotel and Santa Claus arriving on an elephant. The kids were thrilled.

The pool is fabulous and I believe it's been described by others in this forum, so I wont go into the details. I do wish the Jacuzzi was heated though. The water was so cold on all three days. There are plenty of sea sports available ... though ours was a trip focused on our son. :-)

The resort centre is a 5 min. walk from nirwana resort hotel. It's a great place to go for meals if one is looking for food court prices and menu. Though I would highly recommend checking out the restaurants in the hotels and the food is superb! Especially at the beach hut resort and dino bistro. My son loved the turkey pizza and they made a pretty good 'nirwana illusion' at the bar of the beach hut restaurant. The buffet at the restaurants are between $35 and $40 per person +++ and children are charged half price. It's value for money.

Plenty of great buys and good quality gifts available on the 3rd floor of the resort centre. Check out the air rifle shooting ($8 for 25 shots), archery ($8 for 25 arrows) and horse riding ($15 for 3 rounds - dressed as a cowboy!) that's available at the resort centre as well. Do hire a buggy to ride around the resort at $25 per hour. It will give one an opportunity to explore all the premises ... there are plenty of picture perfect spots around the huge premise.

The service was excellent. The staff addressed us by our name. We had a view of the mini zoo. The furniture was made of teak wood. Classy!

Oh and, whatever you do, just bring Singapore dollars. When they charged the card it was in ruppiah and the rates were not good. The prices were always higher when using US currency and Indonesian currency for some reason. Everything is priced at Singapore dollars anyway, there is no need for any other currency.

It's an excellent hotel. We did not find it crowded as others have commented. However, we were told that Fri - Sun were usually full house as there were plenty of beach parties and concerts organized by the hotel.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We booked for the Nirwana Beach club, where we stayed before and got upgraded to the Nirwana beach hotel.

The hotel is a family resort hotel, probably 10-15 years old. It looks well maintained and has its very nice stretch of beach with it, when its high tide. When it is low tide the sea is too far out to swim.

The staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms where nice, cool with airconditioning and all around the pool/beach areas.

We visited this hotel over the weekend and there where still plenty of beach chairs available, both at the pool and the beach.

The breakfast buffet is good, plenty of western and asian choices. What we liked best of the hotels in the Nirwana group is the Spa on the complex. They have great treatments and in the 2 weekends we have stayed on the island, I have been there 4 times for the leisurly environment.

  • Liked — Location at the beach
  • Disliked — The hotel is getting a little bit old
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We went during the long Deepavali weekend and all the tour agents are fully booked by the time we tried to get a room 1 wk prior to the holidays. But we found hostelworld.com to have 2-3 rooms left. We paid S$400 online for a 3d2n trip with 10% downpayment. We booked the ferry seats online too at www.brf.com.sg. Paid extra S$15 for the upgraded seats, however we were not impressed due to the odd face-to- face seating arrangements. Singapore ferry terminal hwas convenient. On arrival, we were delighted by the free pick up service at the the gloomy looking bintan ferry terminal. At the resort we were greeted by a tired group of dancers and drum beaters but still they manage some smiles. We arrived early at 10.30 and were happy that the resort let us check in early at no further charges. The road to the resort was about 20 mins through the undeveloped but clean and neat landscape. Our room on the 3rd flr was very spacious and clean but had no good window view. Our lunch was at the poolside cafe and the food were priced as regular as any casual restaurants in Singapore. The beach was nice and quiet and we found some hammocks for use. Fish swim close to shore and on the left edge of the beach we saw a frantic battalion of tiny crabs. We cautiously spotted some jellyfish too. The beach was rocky and so we advise to wear slippers. Breakfast was wonderful and really made a good start to the day. The spread range in continental to Asian flavours like beef bacon to soto soup. We returned for dinner buffet ($30 ++) and we really loved the desserts. The pool was excellent and we loved the sea facing edge and we also liked the 'jacuzzi' feature as well. We joined some couples and enjoyed drinks at the pool bar which happened to be the only place on the pool grounds where smoking was not prohibited. Overall the landscape was really nice and breezy and the evening walks along the quiet beach makes a good end to the day. We thought the resort should provide more sun beds. It got really crowded at the pool and you have to really rush in for a good spot sometimes. Bintan makes a good weekends escape from concrete jungle of Singapore and although a tad pricey, we paid and got what we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Khairil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The Nirwana Resort Hotel is what I would call a good all-rounder. The hotel is part of the Nirwana Gardens resort, which also houses the Mayang Sari resort, Nirwana Beach Club and Indra Maya and Banran Biru Villas. There’s enough going on in the resort to keep the average person entertained for a short stay – including several restaurants, a water sports centre, nightclub and spa. I believe a new section is opening soon with a bowling alley and other attractions.

NRH gets plus points for clean and spacious rooms (we had a suite) and friendly service. Although there are several restaurants, the food was nothing special. The best food we had was probably at Dino Bistro, although I wish we had visited the Thai restaurant as the setting looked amazing.

We visited on a public holiday weekend and as others have commented, things can be scarce during such busy times! On our first day all the sun loungers had been taken before we arrived at the pool. So the next day we decided to have an early breakfast, only to find a queue winding right out of the doorway at the coffee shop. When we finally got to sit down we were greeted by a row of empty serving dishes on the buffet. Food was not promptly replenished.

An earlier breakfast didn’t help our quest for sun loungers, which were still non existent, and on the final day matters got even worse as there were no beach towels available. I do hope the NRH sorts out these minor problems as generally it’s a great hotel but honestly, if you feel like you are in some sort of race or competition to fight it out with your fellow guests for the last sausage or beach towel it doesn’t make for a relaxing time.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious room
  • Disliked — Lack of sun loungers & towels and queues for breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Fingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We were here a year ago and here we are again.

Thanks again to Mr Wahab, Ms Rie and their staff for their very nice services. From the VIP pickup at the terminal to the very nice birthday cake (complimentary from the resort) for our birthday girl, Jamine.

We like the nice and clean pool, the beach (with small fishes swimming round your feet during low tide) and the general amenities. There is even a mini zoo behind the main hotel area featuring alligators, alligator fish, snapper tortoises, eagles, parrots, pythons, etc. Don't think we saw it during our last stay.

Food ok but not cheap in general. But we do like their nasi goreng (fried nice) indon style, served with crackers, large prawn, chicken wing, egg and sambal (special chilli) sauce. S$12 a plate...not too expensive.

On the whole, another very nice three days stay.

  • Liked — Clean and nice pool view
  • Disliked — no sauna and steam room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nirwana Gardens Resort Hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming and always willing to help. Our suite was lovely, with beautiful ocean views and the resort facitilies fantastic. It was the perfect place to relax and enjoy a few days in the sun. Also, the food and surroundings at the new Japanese restaurant Rin, were outstanding. Would definitley return to Nirwana Gardens again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kirstyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,495 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
7.2 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing