We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK price, good outdoor environment, busy in main building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK price, good outdoor environment, busy in main building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The price of the resort is relatively competitive compare to others in the area and in near countries. The main building is bit busy and seems suitable for family. For couple, I think better stay at the other side of the resort ( Maiya Sari, beach club.....)

The outdoor environment is good, beautiful gardens, quite ok beaches, with a resort center. Many in house activities, elephant ride, bicycle rental, zoo......which suitable for family travel.

As I lived at the basic room ( Garden view, main building), the furniture and decoration seems need to update and renovate. Generally, is acceptable and stay comfortable.

Restaurant are bit pricy, food quality are generally ok.

Tips:
1. Main building ( busy with kids)
2. Restaurant recommend Kelong, Dino Bistro
3. Night Life, don't miss the band show at night, the pub
4. Join the tour/spa outside hotel, it's cheap and in good quality, with door to door transportation provided, (you will get leaflet at ferry pier)
5. Book directly through The Hotel web page may get special discount.
6. As previous post said, be aware for unreasonable foreign exchange rate by using credit card, I would suggest to pay in SGD cash.
7. There are many Chinese and Korean living there, usually with kids.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank cjohnny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    564
    314
    81
    57
See reviews for
463
439
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lakedistrict
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you've got children then this is Ok place. If your travelling as a couple avoid this very busy resort. Food is OK nothing special and a huge barn of a feeding station. rooms Ok and clean. Pool busy with kids everywhere and making noise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed 5 Days from the 10th January in two joining deluxe rooms. Both had been recently refurbished. Pools are great. They have a well run routine for getting to and from the ferry.
Prices are what I would expect inside a resort. They had good options for light lunches that were reasonable. Bar staff were outstanding helping me learn a few words of Indonesian.
If a poolside holiday is what your looking for then this is it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel overcharges EVERYONE who stays here unless you pay in Singapore dollars in cash. They choose to quote all their prices, including your final bill, in S$, then trick you into thinking there is a currency exchange taking place when you settle your bill in Rupiah. They insist that if you pay by credit card, it must also be in local currency and they then use an INVENTED exchange rate to convert the S$ bill into Indonesian rupiah. The result is that they charge you more. We only stayed 2 nights and had very little else to pay for other than the room and we were overcharged by S$30. I complained to the manager who finally agreed with me, after about 30 minutes of persistent explanation on my part, that there was a problem and he invited me to leave a written complaint, which I will be following up to ask for my money back. There is NO currency exchange taking place if you are paying in local currency, no matter what currency they choose to quote your bill in, and last time I looked, it was the central bank who set the base rate, NOT Nirwana Resorts Hotel! At best, this is deception and at worst, it is outright fraud. If you stay here, make sure you pay either in cash S$ or insist that your credit card is billed only in S$, otherwise YOU WILL BE OVERCHARGED. This scam must net them hundreds of thousands each year, so if you have stayed here and still have your receipt you should demand a refund! It could be a hefty sum if you paid for golf, trips and F&B as well as your room charge. I will never return to this hotel as this penny pinching, money grabbing attitude permeates the entire business and spoils what would otherwise have been a pleasant trip.

Room Tip: Furthest away from lobby at the end of the hotel is peaceful as no one passes by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thekozmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

To start off: Do not go to Bintan in the Monsoon Period (october to march): what you would find is dirt, oil (!) and jelly fish on the beach, no sun, lots of wind & waves & rain - proof for this is found when ýou see the warnings signs on attempt to access the beach. a big number of staff is daily removing the biggest dirt items from the beach with Little success. Overall definately not the perfect setting you would look for. The Resort itself is part of a Resort comprising at elast 5 other establishments. we found the Hotel to be the best Quality, the beach condos might be nice as well. The Restaurants, we tried japenese and seafood,were good fun. We would not have stayed more than 3 days total however. also note that only your passport would tell you that you have been to Indonesia. the whoel area ist strongly controlled and checked - it all appears to be a leisure spot for Singaporeans - all Prices (highly overpriced) are only quoted in Singapore Dollars.

Room Tip: invest more and book the deluxe rooms, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustrianGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cainta, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I would like to commend the resort management for an excellent service and courtesy by its staff. From the moment we arrived via the shuttle service until we left, everything was well-organized. They have a system to make sure you get your luggage on time, no mix-up plus we got our boarding pass right away after we've checked out. Everyone is so nice, helpful, courteous and gives a warm smile.

Rooms are clean and well maintained. Air-conditioning and water heater are working well. Wifi is free though not very fast but up the beach, wifi connection is good. The only minus is the cable which is not clear but actually is not an issue because we are mostly out of our room to enjoy the beach.

Food is average and a little expensive. They serve good cafe latte. Beer is expensive.

They have a 3 big swimming pools. It is a good place to lounge while my daughter is playing and swimming with the other kids. They offer warm beach towels which I like so much.

The beach faces the South China Sea which can have really strong waves. Sand varies from fine to grainy to rocky. They have quite variety of sea animals along the shore. We even found a seahorse! Another minus is that my husband found broken glass, glass bottles, light bulb on the beach during low tide. Make sure you have booties when you swim.

Overall, my family enjoyed our trip in this resort. It was very laid back, relaxing and an enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calavatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at a Nirwana-Suite room with my wife and two kids in late December. Staff was friendly and foods served at restaurants were better than I expected. The suite room was much older than pictures I saw on the web site. Once I entered the room, I thought I should have booked a Deluxe Premier room, which has been refurbished.
My kids enjoyed pools a lot and swam every day during our stay. This is a nice hotel for families with small kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.3 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
7.3 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing