We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great - and getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was my third visit to Nirwana - each trip has been a short visit with one of my daughters. Nirwana is a big complex, and this is Indonesia, so there are things that might be seen as not 'up to scratch' - the pool towels are a bit frayed (oh no!), the shower in the room isn't great (rarely used it anyway, just showered by the pool), and some parts of the resort are older and a bit jaded. Some of the food is a bit pedestrian. If nit-picking is your thing, you could find enough to spoil your holiday.

BUT, if you just want to enjoy glorious tropical weather in a stunning location with help from wonderfully friendly staff, this is your place. The horizon pool is stunning (my girls love the swim-up bar), and the rarely used beach is divine. My first stay was in the cabanas, and the little lake there has now blossomed into a magnificent lily pond. Nearby there's even a small zoo, featuring crocodiles, snakes, birds - and guinea pigs!

The buffet breakfast is generous and varied, and we could enjoy this enough to skip lunch (more time by the pool). There's a gym at the resort centre nearby, where you can also go 10 pin bowling, so we justified dinner by a couple of games and a good work-out. The gardens are immaculate, with the added bonus of the occasional iguana wandering by.

For tranquility and charm, go for the cabanas. We also like the main hotel, for ease of access to pool and other facilities.

Yes, it's not cheap, but in my view it's also not expensive considering the location and facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Malaytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bought Deal.com.sg voucher and went with my girlfriend last week. Very nice resort with great swimming pool. Beautiful beach. The room I like it very much. Very Balinese and Holiday feel. Nearby got a Lotus pond, beautiful and lovely Lotus flower. Friendly staff. Will go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewChistine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good location as it is only about 15-min shuttle from ferry terminal. Rather old resort, so the rooms are a little run-down BUT are being upgraded in phases. Bed is too hard and pillows too soft. Staff are friendly and helpful. Games operators take it slow and easy, so got to allocate more time for each game/activity. Flying fox, archery, and air rifle are good fun. Pool and the beach are great!! Quite a wide selection of eating options. Restaurant prices are a tad on the high side. A more reasonable option is the Makan Makan place at the Resort Centre ie games/activities centre. Buffet breakfast is quite good. Payments by credit card can only be made in rupiah, not the currency one made the room reservation in ie SGD, USD, etc. due to their local banking regulation, so guests may suffer forex margins twice ie when paying at hotel and at billing time by own credit card issuer.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, and service was excellent. But you can tell that the hotel has been around for a while... Bed sheets have holes and small stains on them, grouting between the tiles is black and wearing down and the wooden rails, beams and other parts of the hotel structure is faded in parts and looking worn.

Food is average (we tried the Dino Café and the basement coffeehouse) but the wait staff were warm and helpful. Our dinner at The Kelong was by far the best meal we had during the trip!

The beach provided hours of entertainment for the young kids (aged 6 & 7) - with clear water, small fish swimming around your ankles, crabs, hermit crabs, soft sand, beautiful sea shells and bits of coral... Just watch out for the occasional jellyfish!

The pool and kids club were also great for the kids, and they loved jumping on the trampoline (they wore the harness attached to bungee ropes and bounced higher than the trees... Some of the kids also learnt to do flips!)

One additional facility we appreciated was the shuttle service to Pasar Oleh Oleh Village, The Kelong, and all the other hotels & resorts in the Gardens. So for those who want to get away from the crowd at this resort, you can hop onto the bus and escape to the smaller resorts (Mayang Sari or Nirwana Beach Club).

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lin_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked through trip advisor after seeing rather good reviews from fellow advisors here and was there over a weekend.
The pre-stay was good as I've made special requests for my room and they bother to send a confirmation email to notify which I thought was thoughtful. The staff also helped to make my dinner reservation in advance.

The check-in process was pretty smooth but because we reached rather early around 12ish, we had to wait for about 1.5hours to check in at 1500. Although they agreed to my request of a sea view room previously in the email, I did not get it in the end. Was pretty disappointed but I do understand it was due to the peak period where it was the start of the 1 week school holidays + some rooms were being upgraded and hence the case. The hotel was fully packed mostly with families and their kids in tow. The wifi in the room was pretty weak but I'm not complaining since it was a vacation, definitely a good way to disconnect from the online world for awhile.

Kelong restaurant would be worth a try for its isolated location to see the sunset. But because it was raining on the few days we were there, we missed seeing a full-blown sunset.
The mayang sari beach was good as its quieter and much nicer than the beach at where we stayed.
Mangrove + fireflies tour was a good experience for city peeps whom have yet gotten a chance to see fireflies in action and not to mention the amazing star gazing opportunity from the boat.
Everything there is over-priced but I believe that's quite the norm at everywhere that is touristy.
Would also appreciate better if the hotel charges could have an option for us to pay in sgd$ too since the f&b & almost everything were mostly priced in sgd.

Well generally, it's a pretty good place for doing nothing and just lazing around but I would suggest going back when the rooms are being well upgraded as the rooms are pretty old by now. But the service staffs we've came across with were very smiley all the time and efficient too which definitely helped made our stay a better experience.

Room Tip: Request for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was really attracted by the photographs of the resort on web. so I didn't hesitate paying more for the stay.

Reached earlier at 11am, went for lunch at the Dino Bistro.Service was good but food was average and expensive. We paid SGD60 for only two main courses which were not well-done. after that we waited very long for the check-in. Was a little impatient so we went to the counter to ask if the room was ready. The counter staff told us it was not ready but we saw the keys there on the counter, but still, we waited till finally 3pm ++. We thought the staff will notify us when the room was ready. But nope, we were there waiting...

everything else was ok but got to remind them for the extra bed. the view from our room was not bad. I guess that is the only thing that will attract me to visit this place again. Comparing to other resorts in Batam, Nirwana has better service, but everything there was so much more expensive.. feel a little cheated when the bill arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mongchachacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Bintan Bintan... You have a very long way to go if you want to continue surviving in the tourism industry. Having been to resorts in Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Bali, and even Batam. I must say the only reason why Bintan can survive is perhaps the golfers who find it convenient and cheaper to play in Bintan compared to Singapore. You lose out big time to Thai resorts on service. Singapore resors wins hands down on service. Malaysian resorts win based on currency exchange and Bali is just simply Bali...cultural and colourful. My big pet peeve was the fact that if I had to be charged in Singapore currency, that you give me the option to be billed in my credit card in Singapore dollars and not convert it to Rupiah. Not only do I have to already pay for your exorbitant food prices in your resort, I have to deal with currency exchange issues which makes me feel like you are trying to rip me off. Even Batam resorts wins hands down because the food and shopping options are priced for locals and not rigged for tourists. I strongly urge Nirwana to rethink their pricing strategy in terms of f&b and credit card billing terms otherwise you will only have 1 time visitors who will never patronise your island again. Last but not least, I came here to your resort to celebrate my birthday and the dramatic irony of a service example is that I got an email from a hotel that I patronised in Switzerland in July and they bothered to send me an email. Nothing special was accorded to me (not that I expected any) but the example of the Swiss hotel's well wishes just shows how far off you have to go in terms of international standards.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,654 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,723 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
195 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: $106 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing