We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an 'okay' resort hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an 'okay' resort hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

stayed at the resort hotel for a short 2d1n trip. it was ok, on average. we had the superior room facing the garden on the ground floor. nothing too fanciful or out of the ordinary. the only thing was that, upgrading works was being carried out and altho the notice stated works carried out only till 1800hrs, there were still knocks and drills going on till about 2100hrs...

we had room service for dinner that night, simple menu with little choices but the food was great. breakfast buffet spread the next morning was good too.

the resorts have free land transfers from the ferry terminal to the hotel and shuttle buses to get to the shopping area within the resort area for a fee. everything within the resort is in SGD so some things are really not worth it as it costs the same thing back home. the only thing we enjoyed was the spa at d'bintan salon & day spa other than that, it was just alright.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Among the benefits - a huge area hotel, nice beach with white sand. Prices in restaurants and hotel spas are inflated by several times. The hotel is designed for affluent customers from Singapore. Spa in the nearby village of cheaper and better in quality. For the rest it is better to choose other islands of Indonesia than Bintan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked Nirwarna Gardens as the place was highly recommended by my travel agent. We expected to have a great time after reading reviews here, somehow things didn't seem to work for us from the moment we stepped in on the island. The ferry terminal authorities blatantly asked us to cough up S$ 3/visa on arrival as bribe. We definitely weren't prepared for this and were quiet put off with this experience.

We landed on the Bintan Island at 12.30 pm and the resort staff waiting for us at the terminal told us that the check-in time was at 3.00 and it's up to us how to kill our time until we checked in. With sweltering weather, baggage and two kids in tow, we chose to go and wait at the resort. The lobby was overcrowded with guests pacing up and down waiting to check-in. Since all activities are away from the reception area, most guests including us chose to wait for the check-in.

The room allotted to us was quite dated with a not-so-great view. In spite of allotting a room for 4, the amenities were set up for 2 guests. We had to call housekeeping to ask for towels, coffee mugs, coffee, shampoo etc. The pool with the sea view is definitely the highlight of the resort.

Our package came with complimentary activities thrown in. There is no real fun in offering a bowling session for free and asking us to cough up for the bowling shoes and socks!

The complimentary buffet offered a wide spread and the staff are friendly. The food of course is quite expensive when compared to other resorts, but guests are left with no choice as one cannot explore beyond the resort unless you take the paid shuttle to the town. All said and done, the resort is quite big, well maintained and allows one to explore the place and activities at leisure if you are willing to cough up $$$.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room...after all you are going there for the scenic beauty the resort offers. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RekhaSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just spent a couple of days on Bintan whilst visiting Singapore. Its really big, spacious resort with shuttle buses to get you around everywhere. Lots of activities from jet skiing, archery, shooting, golf and even a big bowling alley and game center, with a bar. So great for families, yet not overbearing for couples at all. Unfortunately during our stay, one restaurant was closed for renovations and one was booked for a big function, so dinner options were very limited. Otherwise the choice of restaurants is pretty good. Rooms were decent but unfortunately standard rooms didnt have a balcony. The ferry trip over from Singapore was easy and comfortable, and the resort is pretty close to the terminal, but we did spent more time at immigration than we did on the ferry. Overall, we would definitely stay again. Its not 5-star, but we had a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyotravellers1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked 2 nights here at the end of a Singapore trip. The ferry trip was extremely rocky and the 50 minutes felt a lot longer! Luckily, we got through immigration relatively quickly and were directed to the Nirwana resort bus with the other 50 people. There are only a few resorts near the ferry terminal area so we were torn between booking here or Banyan tree. We booked Nirwana because of the beach and pool but were really looking for a better quality hotel than this one but not quite Banyan tree level. Nirwana is looking old and tatty, even the newly refurbished rooms are poorly finished. The room was clean, and adequate but not luxurious. However, the choice is limited, we visited Banyan tree, and that resort is v expensive and the hotel is looking worn too. Also, the service was awful, the Nirwana staff were far more friendly and attentive. We were glad that we picked the Nirwana Gardens hotel, I think its the best choice out of the hotels in the area. It has everything you need from a beachy resort perspective, but just a bit old.

We liked the mini zoo, riding the elephant along the beach and swimming in the big pools. Great for weekend, but no longer than that. The choice of restaurants is great, nice to wander through the resort and gardens stopping at the different cafes/restaurants shared within the Nirwana resort hotel group. The scenery is beautiful and its a great escape from city life, but I wouldn't travel a long way to get to Bintan, not a great deal to do. Also, the tar on the beach means that you can't walk along the beach, its just pretty to look at.

Room Tip: Choose a premier room, a newly refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myholidays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The resort lives up to customer's expectations! Looks exactly in the pictures! Great ambiance, well-kept and tidied up rooms! Plus a buffet breakfast that'll surely satisfy a glutton in you =) not to mention the clean pools and great beach! Definitely a paradise that you will get back to.. Thank you, Nirwana! See you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preggo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The whole resort is definitely a paradise like from a picture book. So many beautiful views that serve all cliches you may have of 'paradise'. And here we already are at the sad side of it: it is sad to see the tar at the beach, and as soon as you put your head under water you will see plastics and other garbage. Do not misunderstand me: the resort is perfectly clean and maintained - impeccable.

We spent an amazing vacation of one week there. The pool is unbeatable, and if you are lucky you can see one of the big lizards taking a bath. If not at the poolyou will definitely see them somewhere around the huge resort area.

The price for the hotel was good value for money. A bit of a letdown were the high prices for everything else - particularly food and drinks. Definitely higher than anywhere in Europe and also Singapore. This might be due to the fact that the resort is tendered for wealthy Singaporeans going there for a short trip - it is probably the most convenient short trip to such a beautiful destination you can make out of Singapore. The ferry-ride of 50 minutes was nice and easy.

All staff were amazingly friendly and contributed to the very special 'paradise'-feel.

All in all it is two thumbs up, with tears in my eyes for the pollution of the sea.

Room Tip: Take a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustriaPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#8 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#5 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#9 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing