We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not for the budget conscious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed April 4, 2013

First of all, apologies to all as this review is long past overdue. However, I would just like to share with the viewers who may want to know more about the place.

The Pros about the place:
- Lovely place to relax. Nice sandy beach that stretches long and wide.
- Great for the family.
- Offers lots of activities for the children.
- A mini Zoo!

Cons:
- Food is readily available but can be a tad expensive. All currencies in charged in SGD/Rupiah.
- Buffet spread is just average. Really.
- Drive out to have a decent seafood dinner at The Kelong. Expensive.
- Night activities not that great unless you like to spend the night karaoke or just to have drinks. There's a bowling alley too but nothing to shout about.

My suggestion:
- Bring instant noodles by the packets. Hot water is readily available with the in-room kettle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Waw, i miss to give this hotel a review, this is not our first time to stay... (can say 3 times already) a slightly out dated for sure as we stay on August, but no harm that we share our outdated review.

Sure.. Sure... we stay only a night here as this planned to be weekend gateaway, when we leave from Singapore, we saw dark cloud on the other side, and when we reach, its start drizzling and raining heavily soon after.
We ask the ATV guides, whether they still going, they said wait for the rain stop. we booked them straight away, after 2 hours, rain stop... and we went off to play ATV, 6 of us... we all prepared to get dirty...
and we did get what we want... MUD!!!!...stuck on the mud... all lovely dirty games :P, and it end when we swim on the sea (as one of the vehicle gear box is gave away, we drive and play hard)..... i think if you less adventure than this, don't go....

The welcoming, room and staff is as usual, fantastic... booking our ferry to go back to singapore on their front desk is fast.

the hotel, as it is... great.... breakfast great choice... lunch...? we eat outside, dinner, we also eat at the restaurant outside hotel, there's a free shuttle bus to go there.

Swimming pool, just lovely, we saw one big lizzard swimming with us too... hahahaha, don't be surprised, as nature calls, they want to soak on the pool when the weather is hot. No worries, staff is on the alert and that lizard is not bothering us....

Activities, there's an arcade room... ok... we all in 25-35.... we feel like kids... playing arcade there. :P
shooting range... tried that too... pony ride? don't think the horse can hold us... we're to fat and heavy, don't want to torture the animal....
archery? we didn't try as we more interested in the shooting....

will be back (of course, more than 3 times already)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazy_Dharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is our 3rd stay here. It is of reasonable priced and clean and the best of all with an amazing pool, available activities like elephant rides and show, rifle shooting, archery, bowling, etc. Although it is no Club Med, but enough to keep my 7 and 2 yrs old happy and occupied. We love the breakfast! They need to renew their furnishings and upholstery though, especially the lobby area. The fabric looks dirty, dusty and old. Wooden furnishings and the fabrics can look clean and nice with good maintenance. Otherwise, the service of the staffs are excellent. The housekeeping staff even made an elephant out of towels and when we got into our rooms our boys were amused by it. The check in staffs this time however, they don't smile and look like they don't want to be there. I am not only talking about the one who is serving me, but while we were sitting at the lobby waiting for our room, the rest gave the same attitude. And the food, so expensive. But, it is a good place for a short getaway from Singapore to have fun with the kids.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Returned trip to Nirwana Resort Hotel after staying here for the last 2 trips and thought the service and facilities was excellent with good memories during the last 2 stays. However, was extremely disappointed with the service this round. Night shift staffs at the reception have extremely bad attitude. Other staffs throughtout the hotel do not display a smiley and friendly face like they used to. Food choices within the resort compounds is limited, extremely pricey and not worth the money for the quality. Apart from that, all amenities and food places closes early, the place is just not as lively as it used to be. Resort is also always running out of towels and had to make me wait for an hour for clean towels to arrive!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroundTheWorld7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked Deluxe Garden Room, the stay was marvellous! Spacious room, great view, well maintenance, friendly staff, amenities was convenient too!

Have recommended my friends to go there for a short getaway. You will never forget the experience you get back from the resort.

The beach is within walking distance, a pleasant seaview~

Will visit it again!

Room Tip: Opt for a higher level pool view. The view is magnificient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

At 1 st we thought oh no what a disaster!Booking.com did not make our booking so when we got there no rooms!The hotel quickly sorted this out and where very apologetic...Then we got to the pool no beds but the staff soon got us extra beds next to the pool!I loved my 3 nights here,its peaceful,the beach is beautiful and the staff lovely!I found the food good,i read the reviews on here and expected the worst but was glad you where wrong..The beach bar has the best burgers iv had in ages and the BBQue on a sat night with the music is brilliant!Its only $7 ++ for a bintan beer!Wine is more expensive but i took 3 bottles with me!!!lol..My kids aged 3 and 5 loved it..There is a mini zoo,trampoline,kids club,elephant treking,a park,the pool and of course a tree swing on the beach..We had an amazing time!Great value for money..

Room Tip: We stayed in 1233 and 1235 the are joining room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel made it very easy - from having someone meet guests as soon as they get off the ferry to explain the immigration procedures, to the return transfers to the hotel from the ferry terminal. The hotel was incredibly quiet when I arrived mid-week, a bit more lively on Friday, and manic by Sunday. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but to echo other comments, a bit dated. Breakfast was great - plentiful, tasty and lots of variety. Staff were great - if you're lucky enough to have Suyut as your room attendant, he may make animal "sculptures" with towels to entertain and keep you company - I got a peacock one day and an elephant another...an absolute touch of magic.

There is plenty of outdoor space for children, and the pool has a designated kids area. The Resort Centre is just up the road for the more adventurous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skybreeze_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,658 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
597 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: $102 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Fastbooking, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing