We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, kid-friendly environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, kid-friendly environment”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was my fifth time staying at the resort. I keep coming back because the pools are great and keep my kids occupied and happy the whole day. We've stayed at one of the villas and the suite but would recommend the suite in the main hotel. It's closer to breakfast, the main pool, and has no stairs, which is a plus if you're travelling with young kids. It's also a bit cleaner, I think. I'd only choose the villa for privacy and if you want to cook. (But do check out the Banyu Biru pool - it has a small slide which kids up to 8-9 years will love). One hotel wing was undergoing upgrading while we were there with occasional drilling and hammering so do check on that if you're travelling in the next month. We stayed in the other wing and had no noise issues. Food is ok, though a bit pricey. We tried the Thai restaurant in the other part of the resort (free transportation) and really liked the setting and the food as well. Staff are very friendly and helpful, no issues.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendlybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    590
    328
    83
    60
See reviews for
500
455
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice and my first stay was very nice. The hotel area is quite nice as you can walk to the other resorts and entertainment area so you don't need to be on the hotel all the time. Also some of the entertainment was nicely priced i.e. massage compared to other resorts in Bintan. I didn't like to see the big birds and snakes in small cages either did I want to see the elephants, being locked from their feet in a small area. Rooms were big and spacy, corridors noisy and breakfast buffet was large. The beach was very clean and spacy (some have had oil or jelly fishes as their problem in the beach but we didn't see any).

The second time I came around we had a room that had a communicating door to another room. We could hear all the noises from the other room as they would have been made in the same room as we were in. Our next room guest was a lonely man and he did use the service of a prostitute. This was a family hotel so it was quite suprising to have a prostitute next to your room and they were quite loud during the night and morning. Even though we called to reception they still woke us. Also I thought that during my second stay our room should have needed some repair as nothing seemed to work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NirwanaGardens, Management at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi KatyerFin,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens, and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. It’s a pleasure knowing that you had chosen our Resort as your vacation destination for the second time, despite it faring a little less favourably than your first visit.

First and foremost, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your second visit. As the hotel management of Nirwana Gardens, we strictly do not allow illegal services of any kind in our hotel, including the unfortunate incident you had mentioned. As a reputable management company, we only allow business activities which are legal in Indonesia to be executed within the Resort. That being said, there are certain areas of our Resort which are open for public access, such as the Nirwana Beach Club beach, La Luna (on Saturdays) and The Pub; members of the public are welcome to patronize these areas at their own will and leisure. However we do have strict security rules and regulations which they would have to adhere to, so as to not cause inconvenience of any form to our own valued Resort guests. Although we have not encountered any such incident in our Hotel promises, it is indeed unfortunate that it has occurred and we apologize. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention and we will investigate this in further detail to avoid such situations from reoccurring in future.

We have also taken note of your feedback on the repair and maintenance issue and will convey them to our Engineering department to follow up on immediately. We would also like to inform you that our Deluxe Rooms are currently going through a facelift – the new and refurbished Deluxe Premier rooms category are targeted to be completed by the 4th quarter of 2013. We hope to welcome you back to our Resort for a third time, to have a chance to experience our new rooms on your next visit! :)

Once again, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the feedback as this will help us to continuously review and improve ourselves, to serve our guests better and to ensure our guests have enjoyable experiences at Nirwana Gardens.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed 5 days 4 nights in a suite at Nirwana with 1 toddler (2 years old) and a baby (8 months old). It was a great holiday as there are many activities for the young ones. There is a beautiful infinity and baby pool, kids' club whereby you can pay for children above 4 years old to enjoy some activities. Otherwise you can still go in and let your young ones play with the toys. There is also a mini zoo with roosters, rabbits, crocodiles, etc.

Massage is great and try out their monthly promotions. We engaged baby sitting so that we can enjoy some couple time. Besides there, you can also check out the activities center by taking their shuttle or rent a buggy at $29 per hour.

We love our room as it is facing the sea and we can even hear the waves when sleeping. Food was a little expensive, try out their Saturday buffet at the poolside restaurant as there is live band and fantastic ambiance! The Indonesian food at the breakfast venue is very good which we had for dinner and service was excellent.

No need to exchange rupiahs as it is still the same paying with Singapore dollars. Overall a nice resort which is children friendly. We will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessBureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Room needs renovation. Decent breakfast experience. Recreation centre looks like a dead town with only a few guests using them. Nothing much to do at night except for the typical tourist eating spots and nature tours. Service staff were friendly with a greeting which is nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you are looking for a getaway that is well priced, then you can chose this resort.
It's not 5 stars but we had a great time there. There's a great pool and the breakfast has a huge variety. The staff are great as well. Go for the kayaking in the mangrove - its a nice little activity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we will not be going there again. I had my doubts about the place after reading negative comments but wanted to experience it ourselves (it can't be that bad).

Transfer from the ferry terminal worked fine and the service in the hotel was good but it's clear that the hotel needs a bit updating. Our room was on the ground floor and it was old and floors were dirty. We had a baby cot in the room and in the 1st night there was a cockroach walking on the side of the cot. I didn't sleep much that night. The next day we went to the pool and while enjoying drinks at the poolside bar I notice a snake looking lizard swimming towards me. I got so freaked out but the bartender told that they are harmless, they just live in the middle of the pool. OMG. No wonder that there was a "dirty line" on the wall of the pool.

The beach there is really beautiful but we quickly noticed that there is oil on the beach and hotel offers gasoline to wipe it off.

Breakfast was good and there is plenty to choose from. And one big surprice for us was on the back of the hotel, a mini zoo. There was nothing mentioned about it, just suddenly noticed it on a walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaJaMiMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I like the pool! enjoyable and comfortable.

The room is clean and everything work in good condition.

At night we take the shuttle to somewhere having our dinner, food is fine but a bit over budget. Everything pay with Singapore dollars.

Breakfast is delicious and many choice.

I will stay here again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plotoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,532 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
171 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 38 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing