We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Bintan at Nirwana Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Madurai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in Bintan at Nirwana Resort Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During our last visit to Bintan,we enjoyed our stay with Nirwana Gardens Resort hotel as we liked their welcome song with drinks and staff with smiling face helped to accomodate us in our room and enjoyed their excellent breakfast and enjoyed the sight seeing by visiting the seashores,with coupons we played games etc.,Really nice stay. tks M.Vijayakumar

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vijayakumar151258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    597
    332
    84
    61
See reviews for
505
459
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Last visit to Bintan we stayed at the Banyan Tree - much more expensive and exclusive villa etc but quite boring by comparison. This time we stayed at the Nirwana in a main block room as recommended on Trip Advisor. Room average 4 star but the alternative at Mayang Sari looked
run down. However the breakfast at main building amazing - anything and everything. All the main restaurants were excellent and the staff were lovely. We had some really good food. Beauty salon not glamorous like Banyan but really good pedicure. Little zoo in the grounds with aminals rescued by Customs from being exported for trade - vulture, pythons, parrots , large lizards etc. etc. all well looked after clean and no smells. Great pools and small beach at front but if you walk round to Mayang Sari another beach and if that has people on it just keep walking there is always another white sand cove around the corner. Bikes etc. for hire and a really good place if you want to explore or for children. Also a few shops of the gift type in the main building. Next time in Singapore we will definitely re-visit Nirwana Resort.

Room Tip: Main building with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent three nights and four days at Nirwana, and we almost didn't: the negative reviews almost led us to spend an extra three nights in Singapore, instead, but we're very glad we went through with our plans.

The resort is very nice, staff are very friendly, and there was more to do than my wife, three kids (9, 6 and 3) and I could possibly fit into a short vacation. There's a very nice pool, bowling alley, beach sports center, outdoor activity area (with archery, horseback and elephant riding and more), a small but nice "zoo", shops and much more. There's also a nice selection of restaurants -- we tried about five and were satisfied with all of them.

The place might be considered expensive if you're coming from inland Indonesia or a developing country and have never been to a resort before, but as far as resorts go this one was a bargain. We paid about $150 US for a room; a buffet dinner cost less than US$30 per adult (1/2 for kids), and beach-side massages were only US$30/hour. The hotel we were at in Singapore before visiting Nirwana cost more than twice that amount, and everything else was also much more expensive.

Staff were very nice and helpful, even helping me find and retrieve two bottles of wine that I had purchased at Duty Free in Singapore at the ferry station and forgot on the shuttle bus that picks up guests at the Indonesia ferry port.

The beach did have tar on it, and there was a lot of seaweed, but the beach a 10-minute walk away was clean and very nice. We rented body boards and had a great time there. Aside from that, the pool was our regular hang out, and it was wonderful.

The hotel's guests are about 1/2 couples and 1/2 families, and the place is very family friendly. The rooms have free Wi-Fi, and when it rained the hotel showed kids movies in the lobby.

A very nice place, and I feel foolish to have been concerned about the negative reviews I read before visiting. We would definitely recommend Nirwana, and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgilA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are so many accommodation choices available in Bintan but Nirwana Resort Hotel was one of the more affordable ones so that's why we picked it. I must say initially we were very confused by the structure of the place - apparently this was only one part of a giant cluster of resorts in one area of Bintan.

Once we arrived from the airport, we quickly realised how easy it was to get around the island. There's a shuttle bus service that comes every 30 mins (if I recall correctly) so from there you can visit other resorts to try their breakfast/food, and other must-visit spots like the seafood restaurant nearby (a must-try!).

Check-in was a breeze. However, we were a little disappointed to know that we didn't get the ocean view room like we requested for. Oh well. The room was nice, very spacious and clean. Wasn't very impressed with the toilet though. Had this slight mouldy smell. Also, the walls - they were sooo thin. We could hear this bunch of old ladies next door talking VERY loudly. Bummer!

Anyway, we stayed out quite a lot and spent our days doing absolutely nothing. The pool was REALLY nice - our favourite part of the resort. I think we stayed there for almost half a day! It's huge and it has different sections for adults, kids, those who just wanna chill, etc. The beach's also gorgeous - quite clear water and not crowded.

I also need to point out to all foodies that the breakfast spread here is fantastic, considering the amount of money you're paying for everything. No need to worry about crappy noodles or uncooked sausages - everything's fresh and very tasty!

I'd recommend Nirwana Resort to couples (or friends) looking for a short getaway - it's perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend getaway with husband in January 5-7, 2013 (Saturday - Monday). Upon arriving at Bintan terminal, we had to wait for about 20minutes in the bus-ferry to take us to the resort, and the bus was super old-looking, and the engine seems to be very slow..

We had the deluxe room which was located in the first floor near to the pool area and from the window we could see only the grass.... it was spacious but dusty, the tables and the tv were covered with dust. Room service should really be improved.

The breakfast was great, I love that the breakfast area was spacious and that the tables were well-arranged, many choices as for the menu, a great point!
but the food in the restaurants seems to be over-priced. as a matter of fact, I think everything here is expensive!!

the pool was great.. but the beach, was oily when we went there.
Overall, was a decent expensive getaway..
recommendable? I guess not..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I checked on 26/Jan to this resort.Property is Ok But not the worth of value.
Restaurents are very costly as compared to singapore or other place charging a 1.5l water bottle @ 5$USD. and single meals per person costs 20$USD(small sized meal)
Wifi connectivity is less,evening beech is full of sea weeds and they got it cleared only during morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aravind K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was there for 2day 1night. Just checked out today.
Bintan has improved alot since my last visit a decade ago.
I chose this resort based on TA review and the good price offer after comparing with Bintan Lagoo Resort.
First impression of the resort: Nice pool overlooking at the beautiful sea.
Seems like a busy resort with lots of visitors especially from PRC and S Korea.

What I like?
1) Pool overlooking the beautiful south china sea.
2) Shuttle service is regular.
3) Staffs are friendly and patience.
4) Lots of outdoor activities you can join but of course its no free.
5) The room is rather spacious and the cable tv has lots of programme.
6) No lack of F&B. We had seafood dinner at the Kelong. Recommend it although its not that cheap but the view is fantastic. Food is decent too. Free shuttle service to it. Best is sunset.
7) Family friendly
8) Breakfast buffet is rather decent.

What can be better?
1) The resort check-in time is 3pm local time. Early check-in subject to availability and even then it is around 230pm. So if you arrive very early, do be prepared for it.
2) F&B is quite expensive.
3) Beach & sand is covered with black oil spill. So better avoid at all cost.
The beach at Mayang Sari resort is defintely much better.
4) Bintan is not like Phuket or Bali, no street food, local mall or joints of pub. So it lacks of certain charm. Basically, a few resort conglomate occupying the best beach plot and runs the activities.
5) Price is not that cheap overall.

Overall, its still a decent short getaway from Singapore.
I think 1 or 2 night is good enough for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResidentSgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,570 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 36 in Bintan Island
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing