We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“expensive weekend getaway for a so-so resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“expensive weekend getaway for a so-so resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend getaway with husband in January 5-7, 2013 (Saturday - Monday). Upon arriving at Bintan terminal, we had to wait for about 20minutes in the bus-ferry to take us to the resort, and the bus was super old-looking, and the engine seems to be very slow..

We had the deluxe room which was located in the first floor near to the pool area and from the window we could see only the grass.... it was spacious but dusty, the tables and the tv were covered with dust. Room service should really be improved.

The breakfast was great, I love that the breakfast area was spacious and that the tables were well-arranged, many choices as for the menu, a great point!
but the food in the restaurants seems to be over-priced. as a matter of fact, I think everything here is expensive!!

the pool was great.. but the beach, was oily when we went there.
Overall, was a decent expensive getaway..
recommendable? I guess not..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    500
    280
    73
    47
See reviews for
392
384
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I checked on 26/Jan to this resort.Property is Ok But not the worth of value.
Restaurents are very costly as compared to singapore or other place charging a 1.5l water bottle @ 5$USD. and single meals per person costs 20$USD(small sized meal)
Wifi connectivity is less,evening beech is full of sea weeds and they got it cleared only during morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aravind K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was there for 2day 1night. Just checked out today.
Bintan has improved alot since my last visit a decade ago.
I chose this resort based on TA review and the good price offer after comparing with Bintan Lagoo Resort.
First impression of the resort: Nice pool overlooking at the beautiful sea.
Seems like a busy resort with lots of visitors especially from PRC and S Korea.

What I like?
1) Pool overlooking the beautiful south china sea.
2) Shuttle service is regular.
3) Staffs are friendly and patience.
4) Lots of outdoor activities you can join but of course its no free.
5) The room is rather spacious and the cable tv has lots of programme.
6) No lack of F&B. We had seafood dinner at the Kelong. Recommend it although its not that cheap but the view is fantastic. Food is decent too. Free shuttle service to it. Best is sunset.
7) Family friendly
8) Breakfast buffet is rather decent.

What can be better?
1) The resort check-in time is 3pm local time. Early check-in subject to availability and even then it is around 230pm. So if you arrive very early, do be prepared for it.
2) F&B is quite expensive.
3) Beach & sand is covered with black oil spill. So better avoid at all cost.
The beach at Mayang Sari resort is defintely much better.
4) Bintan is not like Phuket or Bali, no street food, local mall or joints of pub. So it lacks of certain charm. Basically, a few resort conglomate occupying the best beach plot and runs the activities.
5) Price is not that cheap overall.

Overall, its still a decent short getaway from Singapore.
I think 1 or 2 night is good enough for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResidentSgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

How would you react if you would have traveled 20 hours to a destination that had promised great sea sports possibilities and then they would tell you that there are none?

The case was this. In their websites Nirwana Garden Resort presents information about daily diving and snorkeling opportunities, so we brought wetsuits, swimfins and masks all way from Finland to Indonesia just to hear that actually they offer these services only from April to August. And actually beach area is oily and full of seaweed.

Yes, I did get angry - had promise kids that they'll see fishes. Yes, I did complain about misleading marketing to the hotel management immediately and yes, I'm going to write negative reviews about this destination to each and every travel website I know.

And yet another thing. Hotel was located so that there is absolutely no changes to see anything else but the resorts services. Nearest city is 85 km away and no transportation is organized to get there. Taxi to the city costs about 100 euros. In hotels restaurants service was below average and prices where in European level. Small dinner for 4 people without drinks costed 80-100 euros.

This is not the way I want to travel. I want to experience local things.

Ps. Management promised to change the information on their website. Guess have they done so?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heli74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Place is nice for a weekend getaway from Singapore. Situated very nearby singapore, its quite easiliy accessible via ferry. Also, the resort has a pickup from the jetty. The rooms were quite average.However, we loved the beach which was quite secluded, and had a nice enjoyment with friends. Also, the DJ rocked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pravein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friends and I were at this resort from Dec.28 and originally we were going to stay two nights, but by the second day, we checked out early and moved to another resort. Our experience from the moment we checked-in was below standard. We arrived around 12 pm, and the front desk told us the room wasn't ready, which was fine. We asked if we could at least have Wi-Fi access, the guy laughed and said no. We asked again and the second time he said, "there's no solution to your problem, no". Really? That's the way you speak to your guests? The property was also crowded and noisy, and it was not cheap either. If you want to waste your time debating with the front desk or chasing down the staff just to get basic amenities such as towels, this would be the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purple5188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The rooms are very old, no balcony unless you take a suite (quite unusual for a resort to have no balcony) and the pool is very dirty with many black little things in it. Poor maintanence of the pool but 1 plus point is, there is a pool bar with music! Drinks and food from the resort and even the resort shops are overpriced! Service is excellent, friendly staffs and the in-house restaurants are clean. Great band - The Zoom in the Pub, very professional singers. The Oasis BBQ by the beach needs more publicity, we had BBQ lunch there before leaving but the beach is very disappointing and dirty, all too dried up with oil. This is my 2nd time here in Nirwana after a decade and it is quite interesting to see the recreational activities have been increased. There are deers, elephants and horses and you can take pictures with them, they even have shows. In day time, you can visit Pasar Ole Ole, there are few souvenior shops there but do dropby at Cafe Helo Helo for lunch as they serves good tasty local dishes and by night, you may head to The Kelong where you can have your seafood on the floating sea. It can be a little pricey. Overall, if it is for a short getaway, you may still still try this place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farina2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#10 of 31 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 245 guestrooms including 31 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing