We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your standard beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ferry ride from Tana Merah in Singapore gets you to one of the ferry terminals on Bintan. About half an hour later (less if you're willing to dish out S$ 10 to the Imagrasi) your visa is processed and you're on a bus headed for the resort.

The major problem that this resort has (and will probably continue to have for a while) is checking in. You will probably arrive at the resort at 12 noon, but you cant check in until 3 pm. This is because other guests who stayed the night before havent checked out yet. So you wait. You're free to have lunch, use the beach and the pool and basically laze around, without a room number allotted to you.

Even at 3 pm, there's no guarantee you will actually get a room. For example, we got ours at 4 pm. Obviously this leaves a bit of a bad taste in the mouth and your propensity to check out late increases as a result.

The resort otherwise is decent. The infinity pool is clean and expansive (watch out for the monitor lizard) and has a bunch of jacuzzi and children areas as well as an attached bar. The beach isnt the sort you'd like to be at. Full of seaweed and gravelly surface, you're better off walking 15 minutes to the adjoining Mayang Sari beach. Mayang Sari is another resort by Nirwana and the beach is nicer there.

The minibar was non-existent and the bed was too springy. The air conditioning is effective, but you may need to use the ceiling fan sometimes too! The breakfast spread is acceptable.

I fell in love with Indonesians and their food. People here are warm and friendly and the food is really to die for. Again, head over to the Spice restaurant at Mayang Sari and order for authentic Indonesian fare. Two of the service staff- Eni and Surya are particularly helpful.

Dont go by the spa rates at the resort. They're slightly overpriced. Instead head over to the resort center, up the road to your right. On the second floor, above the bowling alley is a brilliant spa. We got full-body, hour-long massages for S$ 30 a pop. You get a 10% discount if you go back there a second time, which is what we did.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arjyamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

As stop over on our way from SouthAfrica to Australia it served its purpose. Deluxe Room was well equipped and spotless. Pool area brilliant. Beach disappointing with oil and sea weed but this is a seasonal problem. Drinks vastly overpriced. Best to buy from store in lobby and cool in room fridge. Food a bit pricey but seafood restaurant good value. Staff not always fluent in English but display good attitude.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonydry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just stayed in the Deluxe sea/pool facing rooms at the Nirwana Resort in Bintan, The 55 minute ferry ride from Singapore was excellent, & the hotel pick-up was efficiently handled. The hotel is part of the Nirwana Gardens complex, which comprises 4 other hotels as well. The property looks a bit dated, though the pool area & grounds are in pretty good shape. The infinity pool is, in fact, the best feature of the hotel, as is the clean beach in front of it. The room was adequate, with dark furniture & all amenities that one would expect from a property in this class. Breakfast at the coffee shop was good, with a decent selection of Asian & western cuisine. Being vegetarian, options were a bit limited, but satisfactory. We tried the Dino Bistro for dinner one night & their Italian selections were pretty average. Spice, the Indo-Asian restaurant at the neighbouring Mayang Sari Resort, was the best option for us, A shuttle service operates throughout the complex at intervals of 30 minutes & is a good way of getting around. A host of sporting/fun activities are available within the premises. These include bowling, shooting, archery, ATV's, elephant rides etc. Makes it enjoyable for all those who like to be active on a beach holiday. There are stores selling Indonesian artifacts & clothes within the hotel. Also, a convenience store & money changer. A problem with the resort is the extremely poor lighting at night. Not only are the grounds & common areas very poorly lit, but even the lights in the rooms are completely inadequate. Also, being a fairly large resort, rooms can be tiresomely far from public areas. A thing to note for all tourists to Bintan is the fact that everything there is quoted in Singapore dollars, so there's no need to swap to the Indonesian rupiyah. Overall, an average to fair experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepLoyalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights including new year eve. We had to attend a mandatory nye dinner. Paid over 100 dollar a head. Whilst some pre dinner drinks were included the drinks at dinner were very expensive. Food qualiyy was poor. Entertainment started with the hotel management doing an act and didn't improve.
Rest of stay.
Food at dino's was good. Rest was average.
Staff keen to help and friendly but in general lacked knowledge and a few times we were given wrong information.
I needed to make some business phone calls but hotel system didn't allow calls to local toll free numbers.
Room was meant to have sea view but we were ground floor. The corridor outside room was noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VV1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rooms and facilities are old. Beach has full of dead seaweed. Massage place is not so hygienic (but service here was nice). Concierge was not helpful. Wuld not stay here again...
I had stayed at Bintan Lagoon resort before and found it much better for similar rate...
IF going to bintan, wuld not consider here ever again...or any of its other chains.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Since I've arrived there. I found a big queue to check in. The place looks like it has a life in the past but not anymore. There are a lot of facilities and buildings even the Marina that are future development but the place is old. Forget the pictures of the website about the rooms because they're not like that. There is no any place to go your life will be only inside the boring place. The restaurants are under the average,the prices in Singaporean dollars if you nonsense to change money in Rupia because will be expensive then dollars.
In one sentence I've felt so cheated.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Nirwana Resort Hotel in a Deluxe room. I guess the only difference to the standard room was the sea view. The room definitly required a refurbishment. Fungus in the bathroom and worn out furnitures is not what we expected. You can see that the entire resort was renovated maybe 3-4 years ago and really needs a make over. Food, beach and entire resort feeling was not really ok for the price of EUR 158,- per night and we expected more. Maybe we are wrong by comparing it with prices and experience from Austria, Italy, Spain, US and cruises. Staff were very nice but require a professional education in hospitality..... I believe next time we would fly to Bali or would choose a more exclusive resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk_Bockelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,676 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,761 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Lagoi Hotel by Nirwana Gardens
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: $109 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing