We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bintan Lagoon Resort - the best short getaway to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bintan Lagoon Resort - the best short getaway to relax and unwind”
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I have been to quite a few resorts in Bintan for a short weekend getaway to take a break and unwind and I must say that Bintan Lagoon Resort is my overall favorite resort.

The resort has been around for quite a number of years, thus it looks a little worn around the edges. As it is a resort, do not expect 5-star plush carpeting. The rooms have been newly done up in my last trip there. I would highly recommend a seafront deluxe room when booking. Furnishings are basic and decent for use and bedroom slippers as well as bath towels are included. The food is pretty decent and you can very easily afford room service. They even have a tiny mini mart to buy some snacks and drinks. If you come via ferry from Singapore, I would recommend bringing some fresh fruit with you if you prefer to eat simply. Most of the sports, massage and entertainment facilities are located about a 10min walk away from the main building. It is a little inaccessible and an uncomfortable walk to the complex, but if you need a work out in the gym or have a massage, it will be well worth the walk. They have a well fitted gym albeit poorly ventilated.

The greatest plus point for Bintan Lagoon Resort is definitely the space. It is probably one of the largest resort in the island with its own private beach. I love walking the nature trails fronting the resort as well as along the beach. The beach is clean and well maintained. It is flat and wide enough that you can have a morning jog down the beach, or have kids create sandcastles without too much of a worry. I can walk miles down the beach without coming to an end and it offers wonderful privacy if you have the stamina to venture further down.

If you come with a large family or a bunch of friends it will be best to book the bungalows as they are sea fronting with just a few steps away from the beach.

Bintan Lagoon is definitely one resort I'll come back regularly as it is affordable, allows me to take lovely long walks and not be constrained to the resort itself, and is furnished decently and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeTang, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the very comprehensive recommendation and review of Bintan Lagoon Resort!

We are glad that you have made Bintan Lagoon Resort your preferred accommodation in Bintan. In order to meet to our guests demands, we are constantly taking note of all your feedback to make improvements to our hardware and software.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort and witness our improvements soon.

Regards,
Rae Tang | Marketing Communications Manager
for Bintan Lagoon Resort
managed by 3 Degrees Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    922
    655
    298
    224
See reviews for
971
760
75
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We have a 2D1N weekend stay at Bintan Lagoon and it is a good getaway. The West wing which we are staying has been fully refurnished, thus there is a nice large daybed overlooking seaview which is a thumb-up... No doubt about the expensive food prices, we ordered room service and it arrived in time but tasted disappointingly - which we felt the same price could better be spent at the buffet dinner. Overall, it is simply a good weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clear_Brook_Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeTang, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review of Bintan Lagoon Resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed your break in the resort, and we will certainly highlight your feedback on the room service food to our executive chef.

All our Deluxe rooms have been renovated now, and we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Regards,
Rae Tang | Marketing Communications Manager
for Bintan Lagoon Resort
managed by 3 Degrees Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My family and I spent three nights here in May 2010. We took the ferry from Singapore and there was a bus waiting to pick us up as well as a few others. The resort is a pleasant 10 minute bus ride from the ferry terminal. Our check-in was incident free and we were guided to our room which was pleasant as well.

However, despite our first impressions, reality soon came to the fore. Our AC didn't work and didn't get fixed in the 3 nights that we were there in spite of us mentioning it to the front office staff a few times. The second morning, there was a complete black-out in our room due to a power surge that tripped the circuit and it took the staff an hour to fix.

The resort has a kids club, but it's poorly staffed. We didn't try out the spa but we were disappointed with almost every facility the resort had to offer.

On the positive side, the two golf courses are in very good shape. I played both and highly recommend them. The next time I'm in Bintan, I'll most likely find another resort to stay at and will definitely make it back here for a round or two.

Bottom line...the resort has everything it needs to make sure the guests have a relaxing holiday but somehow manages to mess it up just enough, I suspect, to ensure that there are not too many repeat customers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeTang, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay was met with a power outage and a faulty air conditioning unit which affected your initial good impression of the resort.

As you can see from the work we have done in the resort, the rooms have been renovated and we have recently launched our new beachfront restaurant to add a new dining alternative for our guests. There are more plans in the pipeline to continuously upgrade the resort and its offerings to meet with our guests' expectations which will be carried out in phases.

We do hope that in time to come, when you visit Bintan Lagoon Resort for your golf trips, you will notice the improvements we have made and return once more.

Regards,
Rae Tang
Marketing Communications Manager
Bintan Lagoon Resort, managed by
3 Degrees Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The resort is spread out over a large area and beautifully designed. Its a lovely over to the beach. The decor is ethnic yet elegant and classy.The food was awesome. They have a wet bar and the pool overlooks the beach. The beach is quiet, clean and perfect for sunbathing.
The food is excellent. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had a great choice of Indonesian food. Don't miss the Rendang curry. And they have regular eggs- toast, pancake too. Room service was good. We has Sushi in their Japanese restaurant one day and sat out on the deck overlooking the beach. The sushi was excellent and the view very romantic.
They have evening entertainment of Indonesian dances. very nice!
Very nice gift shops.
The resort is a short walk away from another food court.

I just say watch out for the lizards in the evening. They seemed to be everywhere!!!!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank iamharrypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband and I went to the Bintan Lagoon Resort mainly because they offered such a terrific golf package.
The golf was superb, amazing courses, with very competent and friendly caddy, excellent service. All in all, the golf club was a well oiled machine and superbly run.
It felt that the golf club and the hotel were seprate entities - everything relating to golfing was superb. Hereunder, are comments on the Hotel itself:
The hotel and the rest of the recreational facilites were underwhelming, and shocking in certain areas.
Room - the room was pokey and dark, fittings poor. The bath/shower was so terribly designed that half the bathroom has a mini flood after each shower, and the counter-top sink was the shallowest we ever encoutered.
Spa - dingy. Would not recommend.
Swimming pools - there were 2 pools. The main pool was enormous and could be pleasant if it was not for the minor construction work taking place. The banging and drilling at the pool side started at 9 and went on till 5.30 in the evening. Some area of the pool was off-limit due to the work but buiding materials fell into the pool. In short, no peace and quiet. The recreational pool was family friendly.
Beach - almost unusable as there was major construction work going on a stone's throw away.
Dining - the hotel is geared for high number dining. We dined only at the main restaurant - buffet served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food was very very average. At times rather poor. The other restaurants had unimpressive menus though the prices seemed to indicate otherwise.
Entertainment was shocking, it invovled nightly performance at the lobby by a band that should not be allowed to perform cover songs the way they did.
Service - POOR. From the hotel Reception, restaurant, pool side, bar and restaurants to room service. Lacked courtesy, unfriendly (at times surly), unresponsive.
Two nights were more than enough. We were meant to take the evening ferry to Singapore but decided to check-out early and took the much earlier ferry.
Very disappointing. We feel that it was such a shame since if it had been properly managed, it could be a superb hotel. What a shame!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaCasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeTang, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that our golf club made your stay a little more bearable.

We are surprised that you found your room to be dark, as the rooms are all attached with large windows facing either the sea or gardens to faciliate natural lighting. We have also given your feedback to the spa operator, who is our tenant.

As for the works you mentioned at our pool and beach, we apologise that our maintenance works have inconvenienced you. We do try to minimise inconveniences wherever we can and in fact, we have kept a portion of the beach safe for our guests' access.

We are sorry too that the restaurants' menus and the resort's service has been found to be lacking. We have been reviewing these aspects and will be implementing improvements.

We do hope you will allow us another opportunity to change your impression of the resort in the future.

Regards,
Rae Tang
Marketing Communications Manager
for Bintan Lagoon Resort
managed by 3 Degrees Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Booked a 2d1n stay @ bintan lagoon resort. Was really impressed with the level of service as well as the resort itself. The room was rather nice with the day bed and comfy duvets,though we still had to walk a distance from the lobby to our room. The best part was of corse the beach! I guess it was a weekday so we kinda had it to ourselves. It was peaceful and clean. The pool was nice too. Ordered some finger food from the pool bar. In the evening we booked a 75minutes indonesian body massage for two which was at Pasar Oleh Oleh (15minutes away from the resort). It also came with dinner (which wasnt that fantastic) but at a really good deal (96 SGD Nett). Considering we were only there for a night, it is abit pricey in terms of food and sea sports etc etc. Overall good place to chill and relax.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NishaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

A spacious and comfortable hotel in attractive gardens with a huge swimming pool (as well as another large one with chutes where the kids tend to go). The staff are smiling and attentive and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The comfortable air-conditioned rooms are of a good size and nicely furnished (although as with so many hotels there isn't enough drawer space), and many have balconies overlooking the tropical gardens. Buffet breakfasts offer a large selection of European and Asian dishes, and the same restaurant offers themed buffet dinners (Italian, seafood, etc). These are all right, but the highly-amplified group which performs there nightly may not be to everyone's taste. The other restaurants (Italian, Japanese and grills/seafood near the beach) offer a much better dining experience, indeed a rather classy one. The hotel has three superb golf courses. The beach is nice but a lot of work is in progress building a ferry terminal at present. Overall, a very nice place to stay, and if not the most luxurious of hotels certainly a very acceptable and reasonably priced one. Very easy to get to from Singapore on a high-speed ferry (50 minutes) which is met by the hotel's free shuttle bus. Recommended, especially as a stopover on long haul flights via Singapore. My one complaint was the price of indifferent Australian wine (75 Singapore dollars per bottle). Better to drink the local Bintang beer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cestriantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,581 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
583 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing