We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only saving grace was the welcome drink...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“only saving grace was the welcome drink...”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed in a 4-bedroom villa which was ok, but very old and slightly dirty. bathrooms were covered with grime and mildew.
Room service food was grossly overpriced and tasted terrible! even for something as simple as satay, it was too tough, oily and salty. The naan they served with curry was as hard as a frisbee...
Major gripe: activities such as the water sports or laser quest (etc) have to be booked waaayyy in advance which is ridiculous for people who are only staying for 2 days. It basically means that you have nothing to do on your first day unless u like lazing around in the hot sun and waiting 1 hour for the beach bar waiters to bring you your drinks which they will proceed to spill when they place it on the slanted tables, and then smile sheepishly at you until you ask them to bring you something to clean up the mess!!!??

Even if you try to book a jet ski for the next day, the jet ski staff will simply smile sheepishly at you ( we thought they wanted a bribe or something) and say "maybe you get tomorrow, no guarantee"
The sheepish smile and "no guarantee" was because they reserve the jet skis for people who book the expensive jetski safaris, so even though there apparently are jet skis available, you can't have them unless you pay a lot more by booking the jetski safari!
We only finally got a jet ski after my friend furiously berated them!
The problem doesn't end after getting the jet ski...it died after 3 minutes and we wasted 15 minutes trying and switching jet skis and in the end we only rode for 15 minutes but paid for 30 minutes. WTF?!
The only redeeming factor of this resort is its refreshing welcome drink. Period.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KechilBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    885
    627
    286
    214
See reviews for
911
740
71
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed at Bintan Lagoon Resort for a long weekend with 5 family members and 2 children. What a waste of money!! Were arrived on the ferry from Singapore and were met by courteous and friendly staff who escorted us to the resort and helped us to check in. The reception hall is impressive and we were greeted by local musicians and a welcoming fruit cocktail.
We had booked a 4 bedroom villa with a private pool which overlooked the beachfront. On arrival at the villa we were very, very disappointed. It was filthy, grubby and in need of an urgent facelift. There were damp on the walls and ceilings, mildew in the bathrooms and the whole villa was a complete eyesore. As much as we showered, we never felt clean.
The restaurants are overpriced and food mediocre. We were especially appalled by the restaurant in the main building where breakfast was served. The restaurant was infested by birds and bird faeces on the tables and chairs. Whilst you were eating, there were birds flying around you and picking off the dirty plates. Extremely unhygenic in our opinion.
On the positive side, the service was excellent and so are the facilities; lots for kids to do. However, this is not enough to compensate for the uncleanliness and overall poor quality. We could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1bitesizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

london UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My mum and I met up in Singapore for a few days before we arrived at this fantastic resort. It is everything you would want in a few days away in the sun and sea. The room was spacious, oh so clean and had everything we needed. The day bed was a plus! I slept on that instead of the bed it was so comfortable. The weather was great when we were there, the people that worked at the resort were helpful and very accomodating. The food was great and not too expensive as there were no other options nearby. The drinks especially at the Beach Bar were perfect after a lazy day by the beach or pool. If you wanted to get busy with water activities, biking, golf etc it was all there for you but it was PERFECT for just taking it easy. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigusbirdus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jegeg, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort!!

Please accept our greatest gratitude for continuing to make Bintan Lagoon Resort your holiday destination of choice.

On behalf of the Management of Bintan Lagoon Resort, allow me to extend a complimentary upgrade on next visit to our resort. Just would like to let you know, your compliment have been conveyed to our staff at the resort. They in return would like to express their pride and pleasure at the opportunity to have been of service to you.

If I can be of any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me at publicrelations@bintanlagoon.com

Thank you again, for your appreciative comments. The staff and management look forward to having you back with us soon.

With best regards,

Diah Sastri
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was very excited to leave on a dream holiday to Bintan Lagoon Resort, and arriving to the Resort, the entrance did look promisingly grand. However, making my way to the room on the other end of the Resort, the surprise began, as the 'hotel' turned out to be an open air one! As it was still day at this point, the only inconvenience was the fact that the steemy hot weather would knock you off the minute you stepped out of your own room. As the night would come, however this would mean disgusting creatures, ie hundreds of lizards running around in the ceiling... Another surprise was also in store when I had my long awaited spa treatment, meant to be the first of many planned for this vacation - I basically felt like being molested by the hostess!!! Naturally this could be an exceptionally well 'trained' (as in muscular) hostess, however, this would be the first and last time I had any treatment in the resort and I would recommend my friends also steer clear of the spa. Furthermore there were a few unpleasant surprises as the minibar was updated only once during my week stay, and there were some trouble with the cleanliness of the sheets. Despite of all these negative points, I must say that the general service level was very good, and thanks to this I would give the resort a 3,5 star rating - a 4 star it is however not.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulSisterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed in 4 bedroom Angsoka villa right on the beach on a 3night - 4 day deal splitting up our time in Singapore. It was supposed to be 5 star but wasn't, really needs to be refurbished.
No problems with the trip from Singapore, probably because we went on a Tuesday to Friday trip. I believe weekends are really busy. Checked in easily and didn't have to wait too long for boarding. Ferry is really nice and comfortable and only take about an hour. We were met at the other end by an immigration officer who fast tracked the 9 of us through so again no problems. The bus to the resort only took 15 minutes and we checked in easily enough.
Although the resort is nice looking you really do have to pay for it. The cheapest bottle of wine is about £40 and a 330ml tin of beer is £3. Best to take juice, wine, spirits and beer with you if that is what you drink because this place is so much more expensive than Singapore. A very small supermarket is on site with high prices and very little to offer. Breakfast was very good and we ate at the same buffet restaurant at night and it worked out at about £23/head, food was good so had no complaints. There is a small beachfront bar that serves reasonably priced food that was really quite good but again, the proce of drinks let's it down. There are various activities from jet-ski to quads but be careful of the pricing. Nice place but it is a shame that visitors are ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Buddy-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our travel agency had recommended Bintan as a nice place to stay a few days after a long flight into Singapore, mainly as it is very close to Singapore.

Connecting to/from Bintan takes a LONG time - checkin to the ferry at least an hour before, the bus to/from the resort are slow and with long connecting time, and password and visa control in Indonesia is SLOW - so all in all you should expect a 4-5 hour connecting time to Bintan - so flying to another location in South East Asia turns out to be a better option. Or consider staying in Singapore. There are hotels and beaches. Probably even cheaper than Bintan as they rip off customers with an exorbitant price level.

The Bintan Lagoon Resort is a resort that needs a face lift. A huge concrete construction placed close to the beach. We stayed in the Floral Suite. You should be prepared to be served in a cafetia style of restaurant - with price levels that you'll find difficult to find in other places in South East Asia. The stuff barely speaks english and if you run into trouble you are certainly in trouble as no one can understand what you are trying to explain and even harder to get someone with decision power to do anything. Expect to use several hours to fix things - probably not worth the effort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MortenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Nice looking resort, besides for the fact that it was incredibly noisy and my bed was as hard as nails, it was this resort's approach to its environment that really peed me off.
In the rooms we are treated to a note that if we re-use our towels we can be kind to the environment.
These people should go down to their beach to see the waste they leave scattered every night to wash into the ocean. I only had 2 nights to see this, I can only imagine what goes on over the period of a year.
Beautiful sight seeing white balloons scatter across the beach and peacefully drift out into the ocean, a memory of the Korean party from the night before, sure the fish will love it.
Well done, you sure are building a sustainable resort!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TwoLeftFeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,499 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,416 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing