We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Flight break”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We needed to break our flight back from New Zealand to the UK and had already visited Singapore on the way out. So it was a nice rest after a lot of touring. The hotel was vast and not much in the way of entertainment, but no shouting and screaming either. If there was anything to do outside of the hotel, other than play golf, it wasn't advertised. There is a little shuttle bus that goes into town but no where near anything that could be called a restaurant. The food in the hotel was good but expensive for what it was. I did think that we could pop over to Singapore again but, it is another country and a problem going through passport control etc. So we didn't bother. But, all in all we had a wonderful, few days swimming and sun bathing. Both the pool and the sea were warm and sting free. It was just enough for us, if I were to go again I would take some friends to talk to.

Room Tip: We were located in the East side and it was quite a walk to and from, but peaceful and bug free, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear jackie G

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, yes the hotel is big with vast areas to move around and this also helps with seclusion in away for those that wish to have a quiet moment.

The journey to the nearest town outside Lagoi is about an hours drive, so the nearest is Pasar Oleh, which does have a few shops and restaurants but those open in the evening mostly.

The next time you do visit us without friends and wish to have someone to talk to, we are all ears and will gladly enjoy the company as you are our guests

Thankyou for your feedback and do drop by again.

Wecare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    901
    639
    291
    218
See reviews for
929
752
73
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was expecting more but was a little disappointed with the check in and check out service.
As for the room, I was given a ground floor and due to that could not use the balcony. As this resort has already been in service for sometime, some of the cabinets and drawers has creaking noise when opening/closing.
The beach and sea was fantastic - and the water was crystal clear.
The only thing that disappointed my beach experience was that I had somehow stepped on tar - yes the black sticky stuff, on my feet. Not sure where it came from, but notices were placed on the beach to look out for the tar, but how will we expect to get them at a beautiful beach.
Another negative point - all charges in Singapore dollars, which makes it very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janakraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Janakrag,

Thank you for choosing Bintan Lagoon Resort for your stay with us. Level two and one on the east wings dont have balconies but more like an outdoor patio that either lead straight to the pool or to the beach, the upper levels all have balconies.

As for the tar, the south china sea see's alot of shipping and sometime during the months of Feb, March and April the currents pull the sludge from the ships (which they dump into the ocean) to our beach. We clean our beach three times a day, we do put the sign up as a warning but its a rare chance you might get it.

Thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again.

WeCare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place RUINED my weekend. What a waste of time and money. I can't believe they charge what they do for this hotel! It is outdated, DIRTY and in total disrepair. The only thing that wasn't outdated was the SILK beach bar, that was closed during the day (Yes, ON the beach), and restaurant, that served TERRIBLE food.

The food is awful, 90% Western (I didn't go to Indonesia to eat pizza and nachos, even if Bintan is basically Singapore on a different island) and really expensive for what you get. Mediocre (AT BEST), cold, messy and picked-over buffet, watery drinks, fake cheese, tough steak, served on dirty plates.

We got stuck in a mildewy ground floor room backed up to the sewage drain line that's bathroom was covered in black mold. I didn't even want to shower or take my shoes off. The sheets were dirty and sandy (NOT from us) and we brought home tons of worms in our luggage. They offered to move us to a higher room, but it was even worse than the ground floor room. The inside of the rooms is as dingy as the outside. The hotel is covered in chipped tile, paint, wood...this place is waaaay past its prime.

Oh...and there is no WiFi offered in the rooms.

There is nothing redeeming about this place. Save your money and visit another island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear ED JOhn,

We are investigating the rooms and are going floor by floor to make sure this experience does not happen again. We have sent your valuable feedback to various departments to evaluate what you have mentioned. We apologize for what you went through.

On that note we do have Haskels our Golf Club house restaurant that serves local indonesian food, wish we had known of your dismay during your stay, we certainly could have helped you improve your weekend with us.

WeCare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice beach, friendly staff.
It would be better if there are more choices on restaurants.
A bit far away to down town, so most of the time are staying in the resort.
Golf lovers will love this resort .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank You for your feedback and for choosing Bintan Lagoon Resort, We do have the following restaurants that offer various different kinds of food and its as follows.
1. Kopi O our international Buffett restaurant as well as ala cartw with a selection of chinese dishes
2. Orzo, our Italian Mediterranean restaurant
3. Miyako, our award wining Japanese restaurant
4. Haskels by the golf club house which has selection of local Indonesian food
5. Rice, our signature beach front dining restaurant, we serve from the grill a combination of Surf and turf dishes as well as a mixed selection of western dishes
6. Ripples, our pool side dining with a bar located in the pool that serves all day dining, pizzas, club sandwiches and fresh juices
7. Verandah, our restaurant by the children's pool area which is similar to Ripples but changing to cater Indian food.

We will definitely start pushing this information out to our guests. Thanks once again for your valuable feedback.

WeCare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Huge hotel resort, with one of the the largest lobby I've ever seen. Comfortable room with a nice balcony, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Many dinner restaurants to choose from, my favourite was "Rice" at the white-sand beach. Despite it's a holiday resort, there wasn't too much tourist hoopla, except for a small welcoming ceremony. Own ferry terminal makes the disembarkation really easy. I paid extra for the sea view, but that was actually more like a garden view, with sea in the background... that was a waste of money. But overall, very nice stay.

Room Tip: Didn't really see the sea from the 5th floor "Sea view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Juha S

Thank You for your positive feedback, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back with us again soon.

As for the sea facing view we are looking into some of the rooms that maybe blocked by a few trees and once again we are happy that overall you did enjoy your stay with us we do appreciate this and your time in writing in.

Thank you once again.

WeCare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is close to Singapore, but it is not worth the trip. With a small amount more money and a very slight increase in travel time, you can go to Phuket and have a really nice experience. Here's the good, the bad, and the ugly about this resort.

The good:
- The grounds are magnificent. It's a real pleasure to walk around and enjoy the flowers, landscape and the overall outdoors.
- The pools are nice and clean. My children had a great time swimming around and the basketball hoop in the pool is a nice touch.
- Staff attitude is really great and friendly. The were happy serving my kids and allowing them to order without our presence. This gave my kids an opportunity to be more independent. Unfortunately, the staff is very poorly trained (see "the bad," below).
- I really had fun with the band that plays in the main lobby (there's a bar right next to it). They do great Bob Marley covers!
- Convenience of taking a ferry straight to their terminal is good.

The bad:
- Staff has great attitude, but is poorly trained and speaks poor English. This is unacceptable so close to Singapore in a resort catering to Singaporeans. On the last day we wanted to have a meal before catching the ferry and we explained to the waitress we were in a rush. She brought somebody else so we could tell them the same thing. Then they went away. We had to chase them down to order our food. Then it didn't come...etc; we were there for 1.5 hours and we finally had to rush to catch the ferry. There is a similar anecdote to each interaction: pleasant but inept staff.
- Rooms were really tired. We had mold and mildew throughout the bathroom and it just looked ugly and dirty. The aircon did not keep up with the outside temperature. It's time to renovate the entire resort.

The ugly:
The food. It's.just.bad. We tried all the different restaurants and it was consistently bad. The sad thing is the ingredients they used appeared to be good but poorly prepared/trimmed/served. For instance, we had some tuna sushi at the Japanese restaurant; it was fresh and the flavor was good. But it was cut to include some of the tough stringy bits. Those cuts should have been serve seared. Similarly, we had a hamburger (how do you screw up a hamburger? read on) that was filled with long strings of tough fiber/gristle. The idea of a hamburger is to make it good using good quality minced beef, not to mince the beef to get rid of cuts you don't otherwise want. There are plenty of talented chefs in Singapore: hire a few, give them carte blanche, and let them fix the place up. I don't mind paying good money for food, but it had better be good food -- this wasn't.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Laltro

We have looked into your feedback and as a senior contributor to Tripadvisor we sincerely appreciate your time in doing so. We are glad you enjoyed the surroundings of the resort.

As for the service and the food we are constantly trying to improve ourselves, your feedback has helped us identify some important points here and we have looked into it.

We do apologize for the language barriers in this case as well as for the quality on the food and the cut on the Sushi. We have brought this to the attention to our Executive Chef and are looking into all aspects of your feedback.

We do take the feedback seriously and appreciate this once again.

WeCare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

> Would give hospitality (service) a very good rating.
> I have a problem with having packages that says 3 days 2 nights and you have to wait till 3PM to get a room and check out at 12 noon... so, simply say 2 nights package.
> Need better towels and bed sheets and do some maintenance in the rooms.
> The mattress/cushion on the floor is very dirty... please change it and it is unhygienic... there is no cover on them, making it even worse...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brijesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcodemirandaMDM, Guest Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Brijesh P,

Thank You for your valuable feedback especially on the futon bed, towel and bed sheet conditions, we have sent this information to the revelant department and will do through checks on the standards and quality of them. On that note we are glad you enjoyed the service, our staff do try their best in making our guests feel at home.

Once again appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving you again soon.

WeCare Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing