We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No as great as the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No as great as the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Looking for a short getaway, Bintan is a great choice. This hotel however is not exactly the best hotel I've been to. My first encounter with this hotel is its horrible website. I could not book a room nr could I get information about the boat that goes directly to this hotel. No big deal as the Bintan Resort Ferry is easily bookable on line, but still this is where my frustrations began.
Second is the rooms are in serious need of updating. The walls had pen marks on it, the sheets had holes in them, There was no clock in the room, and the bathroom marble really needed to be replaced. There were some small updates, but it looked ridiculous compared to the rest of the room. I paid for an oceanview wich is really a view through the trees and the loading dock of the ferry. Beach access? well yes there is a bit of beach but most of it is taken up by the ferry termainal. And 22 Singapore dollars to go to Pasir Oleh Oleh? Really? On other islands I have paid 1/3 of that for the same amount of ride time to a town. And unless you want to eat at the hotel everyday, you have to take a taxi to go anywhere else to eat. So add 44.00 to your meal since that is the only way to get off the resort.

Good Points that gave it the 3rd star are the staff. They are very friendly and welecoming and eager to help. My husband was looking to go fishing and the staff helped get him I touch with someone to take him out. He had a fabulous time and made some new friends.
The pool is huge and nice as well. seems there are plenty of places to lounge or I was just there during a non busy time.

All in all it was a nice vacation, but I would not book this resort again.

Room Tip: Don't spend the etra money to get a room with a view of the ocean. NOt worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southernqt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    886
    627
    287
    214
See reviews for
913
740
71
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

First time to Bintan Lagoon resort. We were looking for a short trip to take a break from our busy schedule. Managed to get 3 days off at a last minute notice and booked a 3D2N stay in Bintan Lagoon resort.

Our initial google check on Bintan Lagoon resort was not great as some of the reviews we saw were not good and we got a cheap price for the trip with the ferry trip included so we were just keeping our fingers crossed for a good holiday.

Guess what, we had a wonderful holiday!! The ferry brings you directly to the resort itself. It is a huge place with a nice long stretch of clean white sandy beach and green golf courses. Our room was the deluxe sea facing room with king size bed. The room itself was pretty neat and clean. It was large and spacious for both of us.Toilet was alright. Airconditioning was working very well. Good TV channel selections.
Breakfast buffet was included in our package and the food prepared was actually quite nice. There was a good selection of western and oriental dishes.

We had a good time relaxing at the beach. Water was quite clear. It was not too crowded over the weekdays. Absolutely what we were looking for to escape from the busy city life. Clean swimming pools and a leisure center with board games, billiards, archery and etc.

We ate at the Miyako and RICE restaurant. Miyako was alright. RICE was awesome. The lamb chop i had was delicious. Juicy and tender. Alcohol was pricey.

All in all, we enjoyed the trip maximally. Had a good time relaxing at the beach and using the facilities. A tip to you guys - do purchase some alcohol at the Ferry Terminal and bring it over as it will be cheaper that what they charge you at the resort.

Have fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choon Chiet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The most convenient getaway resort if you're coming from Singapore. Immigration is right at the doorstep of the resort. Travel time from SG is around 1.5 hours.

The resort may resemble a caricature - villas, golf course, golf carts, singing staff offering you welcome drinks, etc. Rooms and villas are spread all through out the resort. The villas can house as many as 10 guests with all the amenities including kitchen utensils, etc. It also has its own lap pool cleaned daily.

But the piece de resistane is the beach. Stunning wide beach with powdery gray/white sand. The view is just magnificent. Water isn't that deep but one has to watch out for strong waves. It can actually be a surf camp as well.

Food choices are average and not well thought of. Crew is attentive to your orders. Better to cook as the prices are exorbitant plus the estaurant area is far from the villas (they provide you with an APV)

Checking in is a hassle and they really need to review this process as it takes a long time especially as the guests all arrive at the same time via the boat. Wifi is a joke - it's expensive and slow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim28Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I know this is a little late to make a review for this resort. I came with my family last month and was greeted with the warm welcome dance. They are very attractive.
We was here for our vacation for second time in Bintan, didn't feel the urge of leaving the hotel, everything was almost available within the hotel. We love the ground in the Bintan Lagoon and it is a good thing because there is not much thing to do in Bintan aside shopping and playing golf. The rooms are nice, but nothing wow, I would expect more luxury within the rooms for a resort of this caliber. The shops within the hotel were a bit expensive. Actually, everything are expensive. Big thanks to Nicholas who gave us journeyful vouchers so we could get many discounts and enjoy some complimentary facilities such as karaoke and late check out. He's a nice staff. We registered only 4 people, but he gave us 5 vouchers and help us how to booking a hotel in those website.
Overall, this is a great resort, which is family-friendly but with privacy if you want it. The beach is good and there are many water activities for the more adventurous and active guests. We hope we can come back to Bintan next year.

Room Tip: Our rooms are nice but they need to renovate the rooms and building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panithan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spend our 1st anniversary here with an overnight stay since this is the most convinient place to travel from Singapore over the weekend. The resort was big & you have everyhthing that you need. Shops, food, resto, massage, golf, club, videoke, billiards, swimming pool, water sports etc..
The pool was really good to hang around. The beach is so-so, coz there is no Life guards (if you have kids be sure to watch them over) & it closes at 5pm. You can still swim but at your own risk. The place is good for families & couple to wants to have a relaxing weekend.

But the food & water sports were pricey,since everything is in Singapore dollars. the buffet breakfast was good though. You will think you Checked-in in Singapore hotel.

Overall is a great place to stay for weekend trips for couples or family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizmofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am recently back from my weekend stay here with my boyfriend. We live in Singapore and fancied a short break to Bintan. The resort looks very promising from their website, and by all means has all the key ingredients for being a very good resort; however the lack of maintenance over the years has allowed the resort to become very dated. We booked a standard room which was large and spacious and had a small balcony looking over a small road and gardens. The room was very comfortable however the decor and furnishings have clearly never been replaced from the hotels opening in the 90's. The bathroom was a good size but again the lack of proper maintenance and "quick-fixes" made it look dirty (mold and water stains on the walls).

The resort is large and the two golf courses would be its main attraction. They look well maintained and relatively quiet - a good choice for a golfing weekend. The pool is great - large and even has a swim up bar. The beach is also a great selling point for the hotel; it is clean and goes on forever.

There seems to be a lot of activities for all to enjoy from jet skiing, kids club, golfing and a good spa there is something for everyone. The restaurants are not bad either. We ate at RICE and the Japanese restaurant and would recommend RICE. The food was good (nothing too fancy) and the service was exceptional from our waiter Francis Toni.

The hotel would be an excellent retreat if they invested money into renovating the public areas and rooms. The pricing is also too high for what you are getting - maybe 10 years ago you could justify paying Singapore prices but not anymore - charging $7 SGD for a half pint of Tiger is ridiculous!

Room Tip: Standard garden view room is all you need as you cannot see the sea from a "seaview room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend at the Bintan Lagoon Resort in late July of 2012 and had a wonderful time. The resort has quite a few things to offer as far as activities go but we just decided to ride jet skis for a bit and then hang around the pool bar or on a chair on the beach for the rest of the time. The breakfast buffet was great and we quickly decided that the restaurant on the beach (I forget the name) was our favorite. We had a nice dinner there on Saturday evening and then went back for day-time beverages the next day before our ferry ride back to Singapore. The staff is incredibly friendly and always seemed to be smiling. The resort itself is pretty secluded and I wouldn't recommend it to those who prefer to go out and explore, but if you are looking for a weekend to relax and be lazy on the beach, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing