We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly a five-star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hardly a five-star”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent two nights with my family in March.
The good:
We could tell the staff were making effort to be friendly, though not always natural. So a very generous one star from the lowest rating for their effort.

The bad:
Like some said, everything needed to pay extra. Things that would normally be free in other resorts were chargeable here, e.g. table tennis and pool table. Food and drinks were expensive too , and the food wasn't exactly sumptuous either. Slow too - once we ordered sandwiches and burgers at the pool side Verandah restaurant, and we had to wait for a good 45-min for the meal !! They explained that it was because the kitchen was not at the restaurant... is it my problem ? Should they not have told us before we placed the order and waited for a good half-hour ?
Since we were confined to the compound, we pretty much had to pay whatever they charged. A trip to the nearest market wasn't cheap either. It would cost S$6/pax for bus ride, or S$22 one way taxi. The journey apparently would take just 15 min. Really ? S$22 for a 15 min ride in Indonesia ?

The ugly:
The toilet is the room was disgusting with mould in all corners. It just gave me a feeling we were in a dirty and unhygienic environment. Every time I used the toilet, I asked myself why I wanted to subject myself to this when I could have stayed in our own home comfortably. Since the toilet was so disgusting, I couldn't help but wondering how clean/dirty the room was too.

For once we actually wanted to get home earlier during a holiday by changing our ferry to an earlier timing. It was that bad. We wouldn't have done it had it not because of the unsuitable timing.

Room Tip: Think twice if you can't stand mouldy toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusYawbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    920
    651
    297
    223
See reviews for
966
758
74
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner often plays golf here and always raved about the Island on his return, so he took me here for my birthday. We caught the ferry from Singapore saturday morning, direct to the resorts ferry terminal which took just over an hour and we paid for express visa to save queuing. There were coaches waiting to disperse guests but we walked the short distance to the lobby and our room was ready. The grounds were green and immaculate, we had a lovely big room on the ground floor with a big terrace and sun loungers. My partner was a bit disappointed as he had paid extra £50 for a sea view and hoped we would be up higher but after being offered a new room, we declined. I was more than content and could see a sliver of the sea ahead, it was a beautiful day and the terrace was much roomier than the balconies above. However, I'm not sure it is worth paying extra for 'sea view' from ground floor perspective.
The pool was beautiful, it was large and had different depths allowing children to play in a section safely whilst adults could also enjoy. The pool bar was a bonus, with music playing that made me feel like drinking cocktails to my hearts content. The food there was limited but it was only a pool menu. We later walked to the beach and enjoyed a sunset drink on the verandah at the restaurant. It was simply stunning. We went to the bar which had a colonial feel with dark wood and heavy chairs and then onto the nightclub for a dance to the live music. We had a wonderful night and the following day ensured we sat for breakfast which was buffet style. The omelette chefs were great, there was a great selection of fresh fruit, yogurts, Danishes, doughnuts, hot breakfast and local favourites plus cereal and fresh juice. Service was great.
We spent the rest of our day at the pool and the weather was great. We agreed we would get club membership so we could both enjoy weekends away there more often. The only blip was that our passports were not at the ferry terminal when we arrived for departure so had to wait for hotel staff to bring them up to us by which point the seats downstairs were taken and so we got a bucket seat upstairs. A word of warning, the ferry ride was extremely choppy on the return. Take sickness tablets if you are prone to motion sickness! Lastly, it may be a different Island but its still Singapore prices... Don't be shocked!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spicepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was here for a 1 night stay with my wife and son. Everything to do here cost money. For example $60 for an hour of karaoke session, $30 for an hour buggy ride, almost $70 for 2 person dinner. When we reached at 9am local time, there were no rooms to check in and we have to loiter around till 3pm plus checking the staff every hour if the room is ready. We had our lunch at the kopi-o restaurant in the hotel. No one was there except 2 families but we had to wait an hour for our food to be served. The only consolation is that the suite is very big and comfortable. Unless you are golfing and have plenty of cash to spent, this is not a place for a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest - Zax13,

Many thanks for staying at Bintan Lagoon Resort and reviewing us in detail. Your illustrative feedback has brought many issues to fore and we are really grateful for that. We are disappointed to learn of the inconveniences caused to you due to our service.

We assure you that we will strive to analyze the root cause of the shortcomings that you have mentioned and eliminate them at the earliest. We thank you again for taking time out to share your stay experience with us. We hope you would give us another chance to host you with amended services.

Thanks and Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went on a weekend stay with family of 8 adults, 2 kids and 2 infant (1 year old). Room consist of 3 bedrooms and a not-so-large hall area. It was ok though not fantastic. Didnt use the kitchen accessories. Rice cooker smell so bad plus found some white insects in it. Thermos flask was working fine. Since we had with us, 2 kids, 2 babies and 2 elderly, we didnt have much choice but to eat at the lobby 'Kopi-O' restaurant. Food was so so pricey that we almost gone bankrupt. A plate of fried rice cost an avg of $14 and taste was just so so. The beef burger tasted like medcine, the fish & chips has got fishy smell and buffet lunch cost $28++ for adult. Totally insane!
We were recommended a seafood place (outside the resort). Went for dinner, took a mini nus ride of 15-20 mins @ $35 and 5 mins boat ride to the 'kelong' restaurant. Total bill for dinner was $290 & our heart almost sink. Food taste so so too.
We also went to the Pasar Oleh Oleh and was surprise that the place is like a dead town. Great place to buy sourveniers though. A keychain that sells for $5 at the resort cost $2 here.
We ate dinner on the 2nd night here too. Price was slightly better thatn our seafood.
At the resort, we tried the Laser Quest - this was one of the nest activities. $11/pax
At the beach, we went for snorkeling - great service from the 'instructor'. The fishes was not as fantastic as Phuket or Bali though but we manage to say hi to some jelly fish, nemo, sting ray (not near us of course), sea urchin, super huge sea shell and nice coral reefs.
The babies had fun swimming and playing in the indoor playroom where they have some little tikes toys.
Would be back to bintan again but to be prepared to cook or pack lots of instant noodles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzahChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This resort was very clean and filled with many activities to mention (check on line). Typical resort that charges for everything but to breathe. The staff are great and the several offerings with bars, pools, golf, etc make it a very enjoyable stay.
Probably the biggest pitfall of the resort is the ridiculous expensive prices for drinks and an inability to provide drinkable coffee. Beer is S$7:50 a drink and wine is S$120+ for a bottle that costs $12 in Australia (Aussie readers - that's for Jacobs Creek!!!). As a group of 8 people we told the staff if they only made 200-300% mark up we would have drunk 20 bottles easily in 5 nights: instead we drank none.
The ultimate reason for visiting this place is for some of the best golf courses you will ever play - utterly brilliant.
I agree with other 'feed-backers' forget the ocean view garbage. there are no ocean views. Possible 'glimpses' but no views. you do get pool views on the ocean side though (from room 4050 East wing).
There is now a direct ferry to the resort from Singapore but the town ferry is also not a big deal.
Be careful when leaving your room - the doors do not close automatically.

Room Tip: BUY DUTY FREE BOOZE AT THE FERRY TERMINAL. This is the single best tip I can give the drinkers out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

spent a night at the resort. main benefits are the proximity to Singapore (45 min by ferry) that allows for a 2 or even 1 day escapes. Swimming pool was huge, beach was clean and wide. Food was average. Room was clean but a bit old and very basic.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the sea or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H2K12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location of the property is good, next to 2 excellent golf courses.
One can tell that this facility is not new, our rooms were renovated and correct, however
the bathroom was a quick fix, around the bathtub towards the wall mildew, every time one
took a shower bathroom was soaked and flooded.
Restaurants are outdated, food needs to be more regions specific, may-be less but better, not worth the money, too expensive across the board.
Pool area was ok, beach restaurant felt "cold", no personal touch.
We expected more, we stayed at the Angsana Resort a couple of years ago, hotel felt kinda newer, with less miles on the counter

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,563 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 38 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing