We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyable getaway from Singapore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable getaway from Singapore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a property that could be simply amazing with the right manager in place - and some investment. Everywhere you look, there is room for improvement - and you find yourself wishing that someone would just fix that sign, paint over the stain, improve breakfast *just a little* as you walk around the resort. But I'm getting ahead of myself.

Pros: We made the booking from Singapore and took our three year old. He LOVED the water slide. The resort is great for families with small children and provides a nice getaway. Once we figured out the Indonesian food was terrific, we enjoyed lunch and dinner. The Japanese sushi place was excellent - and the restaurant on the beach superb. The grounds were expansive, and the place had a nice relaxed feel.

Cons: A few hundred yards from the beach restaurant, there was some very brown sludge flowing into the ocean. Could have been run-off from the forest, but it didn't smell like it. Resort ends and the garbage on the beach begins - it wouldn't kill the management to send a team in there once a month so we don't have to look at it.

Biggest plus: really easy to get there from Singapore.

Biggest minus: you rack up the charges in SGD, then you must (by law) pay in Rupiah - at a fixed exchange rate of 8000 (really?!). The prices for the food and drinks are already fairly outrageous - be aware ahead of time that this happens, and bring rupiah - you will save yourself 20%. Bring a bottle of NZ Pinot and you'll save $120 - that's the cheapest bottle of wine on the menu.

Overall, we'll go back - but maybe a little wiser, and having done the currency exchange ahead of time.

Room Tip: West wing - east wing has construction going on and a poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sightseeing_Cynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    857
    599
    262
    204
See reviews for
867
703
69
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I must say it is quite costly for a Indonesian Island. Everything is priced in SGD/USD.
But apart from these negativity, it is yet the closest place for a good weekend getaway from the stressful all busy hectic Singapore. The beach at Bintan Lagoon is clean and nice.
The unit we booked we paid around 500sgd a day but it was a double story house with 4 rooms. So i think its worth it. You feel like you live in a rich home for a couple of days, the tennis court infront, a buggy car given (with charge) for you to drive around beautiful private like homes, its tranquil, nice gardens, feels like you live in a rich place for a while.
As for the lobby, staff and so on, they were okay. During the night you can just chill by the beach, take a drive with buggy around and its really nice.
I mean, all these you dont get in Spore. So even if we pay a bit costlier, its still cheaper than to fly to an remote island which involves flights and time consuming. So yeah, its a good hotel, clean, well planned and yeah you pay more!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaizoRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A short ferry ride to the dedicated resort terminal, minimal hassle, luggage well transferred. We were unable to do an early check-in, but were happy enough to hang around the lobby. Pleased with the feel of the resort. We stayed in the basic deluxe room which was more spacious than expected, and did not encounter any problems like those stated in the reviews below. Meals were expensive, drinks more so. If you're thinking of getting to the Kelong Restaurant at Nirwana Gardens, the free transfer is only for the return leg, at either 8 pm or 10 pm. To get there, one would have to utilize the resort's taxi service which costs S$24/way. It's about a 20 minutes drive. Cleanliness can be improved as we saw a room-service tray left outside a guest's door for a full 8 hours. Service was functional - we left the room card inside the room and it took about 15 minutes for them to send someone to help us open. Did not do any sea sports due to the weather and cost, but the beach and pool is good enough to rest for a full day. Main stayers spotted were tourists from mainland China and a good number of caucasians. Tried the laser-tag and it was fun. Only unexpected disappointment was that the return ferry was cancelled at the last minute, and we had to transfer to the main bintan ferry terminal earlier than scheduled. Overall, a better stay than expected with the last-minute package and the mere convenience of a getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

First up, if you are new to the region then please don't expect that Bintan island is a tropical paradise a la Phuket or even Langkawi. It's a pretty average spot, although the golf is supposed to be good. Having said that, it's a quick 60min ferry ride away from Singapore and nice enough to get away for a spot of R&R.
I have previously been to Bintan and stayed at Angsana. The grounds here are much bigger, although I would say the landscaping is comparable. What I love is the beachfront bar/cafe where you can sit and have a drink. The beach here is not great as it's very close to the resort's own ferry terminal.
Food - we only ate at the main buffet restaurant and it's just ok. But then you really don't find amazing food anywhere in Bintan so it's fine for what it is.
Pool is big and large with a children's area so you can get away from them if that's what you want. I didn't get to do much exploring since I was here for work, but seemed very well kept.
Rooms were bright and clean, and we didn't have any issues with dirty rooms or broken items. Having said that, it is not a 5-star resort - maybe a 4 at most, but as I said, fine for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Stay further away from the elevators - it's a longer walk, but the rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gin_and_jelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days in january 2013 and slept in one of the very nice and big Floral Suites.
Even though it was very comfortable, you never really stay in your room anyways! There are many things to do, from lying at the pool, eating in one of the many and very tasty restaurants, or enjoying activities like golfing.
If you play golf, this is the place to be! it has 2 beautiful courses, where you can play in a relaxed and nice atmosphere.
Most of all, i have to praise the service and the employes of this resort! Of course everything is always clean and if you have a request, it is dealt with immediatly, but you also rarely see such warm and nice people!
I found many good friends while staying there and i will always remember my vacation at the Bintan Lagoon Resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a stunning resort with enormous grounds and an extensive list of activities and other entertainment options. It's really grand in scale, but it seems like Indonesian building standards (or the quality of the finish) are a bit lax. For how much effort must have been put into it, it seems pretty poorly maintained. That said, it is kept clean, has big rooms with everything you could need and the staff consistently go out of their way to try and help you. As long as you don't have OCD then you can put the maintenance issues out of your mind and enjoy a fantastic, relaxing island holiday.

A couple of things to be warned about: 1) Every time we went down to the beach the sand was littered with rubbish and bluebottles so we never ventured into the ocean. I would strongly recommend sticking with the pool. 2) Food is pretty expensive BUT it was consistently delicious and I couldn't fault the service either. The Mediterranean restaurant was by far our favourite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaKLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This resort is tired and in need of maintenance. On arrival only 2 of our 3 rooms were available. The rooms were described as "De-Luxe" but there was nothing de-luxe about them. The rooms was basic, the bedding torn, bath panel broken, a damp smell in the bathroom and no view from the balcony. We complained to reception and the receptionist laughed when we explained we were unhappy about the standard of the room, she thought we were kidding !!! She explained we could upgrade for a further supplement per night. We told her we were not prepared to do this. The duty manager stepped in and agreed to move us to rooms with a pool view at no further charge. Impressions of the resort are that it has seen better days and is in desperate need of maintenance i.e. paint the outside of the buildings, repair loose tiling around the pool, replace torn pool umbrella's and badly soiled pool towels. The prices charged at BLR would not be out of place in a 4* facility but BLR is no longer a 4* facility, however the prices charged for accommodation, food & drink have not been adjusted accordingly. They take more care of the gardens and golf course than they do the accommodation. The one good thing they have are staff who are helpful, courteous & polite, never passing you without a smile or genuinely asking if you are enjoying your holiday or if they can do anything to help. They are very friendly people. We were booked in for 3 nights but only stayed one. We moved to the Banyon Tree which is a real bit of paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest - B T,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Bintan, Indonesia and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

We are disappointed to learn that we were unable to leave a positive impact on you during your stay with us. Although, our staff takes utmost care while maintaining the hygiene of the rooms, we assure you that corrective actions will be taken at the soonest possible to avoid future inconvenience to our guests. We take this opportunity to inform that the pricing of the food has been set according to the current industry standards.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.3 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.7 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
19.2 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village
Grand Lagoi Village
#10 of 32 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing