We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom villa and as soon as we arrived, I told my children not to unpack. The Villa was so run down and shabby.. Management moved us to 2 hotel rooms and those were not much better. The rooms were musty and everything felt damp. There was mold on almost every wall and the bathroom was just gross. Food was bad and VERY EXPENSIVE! You are trapped in the "resort" with no other options. My Husband said the golf was beautiful but the course was in bad shape.. we booked for a 6 day beach and golf holiday, we stayed for about 36 hours. The staff all seemed so unhappy and when we checked out early, no one was surprised. So disappointing..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest - PaulaCook,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Bintan, Indonesia and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

We are disappointed to learn that we were unable to leave a positive impact on you during your stay with us. Although, our staff takes utmost care while maintaining the hygiene of the rooms, we assure you that corrective actions will be taken at the soonest possible to avoid future inconvenience to our guests. We take this opportunity to inform that the pricing has been kept according to the current hospitality standards. We have noted your problem about the shuttle van and ensure that necessary modifications will be made at the soonest possible. We remain committed in providing our patrons the best in services and facilities.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 2,697 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

great hotel ,huge property well maintained...but be ready to pay for every facility u want to use..
the have buggies for villa ppl but not for other guest...so if u have a person on wheel chair they still don't accomadate,
very unfriendly stay...will not entertain any requests made...we had 5 rooms all in different corners and different floors, even after making a group booking..the message by the beach was good..and the Pvt. beach was also nice...but thats about it..
the room service was bad ..coming from pan pacific in singapore were we had amazing staff ans service, this was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khushboo_agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in this resort celebrating our marriage anniversary.

I must say that we completely enjoyed out stay here. The resort is luxurious and huge. Infact its so big, that one does not need to venture out in the city.

The gold club is amazing and so is the lovely beach. The Rice restaurant on beach is great.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Best of all are the sea facing villas.

Room Tip: Keep room doors closed all times to avoid insects and condensation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KaushalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

for the price paid on accomodations and expenditure at the hotel, the service would have never been what you may expect.
due to festive season and the high price we paid for 2 sea-facing rooms, it turned out to be nightmare with the floors perpetually wet, if not damped. i brought my family with 4 kids, and my eldest son have slipped trice on the damped slippery floor. It was due to exessive condensation from the 2nd floor of East wing. it was such a waste for not being able to enjoy the breeze without causing extreme condensation. i waited for 3hours before a room changed to another connecting rooms at west wing. take note of this if you have booked a sea-facing room.
2ndly, F&B prices are exorbitant although i'm already quite prepared to pay double of what you might pay in 5stars hotel in singapore. A can of Tiger beer is at least $10-$11 unless happy hours at certain bars that serves 1-1. opt for RICE restaurant or otherwise The Terrace which serves Tiger/Heneken at $8. Another note on the published Happy Hour timings on their in-house publication,, it was never accurate. So do check out before placing your orders. Next, is their restaurant timing. It was stated as well Lunch is available at Japanese restaurant but it never opened, and when it states Dinner opens at 5.30pm, it only opened at 6pm. Options for Lunch is very limited.
Lastly, on our departure day (25/12/12), it was raining heavily and we have checked with Journeyful counter for our departure ferry on the night before and early morning itself. We were told not being able to change our afternoon timing to morning ferry due to rain. So, the staff told us to stick with our initial planned at 3.40pm. To our surprise upon checkout at 1.40pm, the counter staff told us that ferry is not operating and have left with only 5pm & 6pm departure timings with other ferries. To make matter worst, i have 2 sicked children with high fever. how could they not informed us beforehand so that we have the option to opt for earlier available ferries? Staff said they might have missed us out? Might have???? Nevertheless, the manager was helpful to make arrangements for the next avaialble ferry at 2.30pm.
The trip could have been better if the rooms are well maintained, service improved and revise the F&B prices to equate service rendered.
I should have sticked with my choice to Club Med for an all-inclusive holidays and balanced meals for my kids.
definitely my last trip to Bintan Lagoon

Room Tip: beware of excessive condensation in some sea-facing rooms like mine-east wing 2002/2003 opt for hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maymay77singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was one of the most horrible hotels I have stayed at in a long time. We arrived by boat, after the boat was changed due to bad weather (namely the boat not operating or broken). The hotel or boat company never informed us of the 20kgs allowance and then on arrival a $25USD visa application. We didn't mind about the cost, it was more the inconvenience. Then one of the staff at the Bintan Lagoon Resort offered us a quick check in visa for addional 4SGD. This was okay. He took $50AUD and $30SGD and never gave back our change. This turned out to be a fiasco, which was resolved 1 hr before we left by the hotel manager who was not equipped to assist us. He had no idea how to resolve an issues in the hotel.

When we arrived the room was horrible. No bed side lamps working, doors broken, stuffy and damp. Only one plug works for overseas computer.

We were then upgraded to a better room, however, by then we had decided to cut short our 9 day stay to less than 24hrs. This place is horrible, run down, damp, the food was terrible, I can't imagine why anyone would stay there. Apart from what looks to be a nice golf course.

The staff don't do any work. They are always on a computer or busy shuffling you from one person to another, so they don't have to do any work. The only person that really helped was a car driver, who actually wanted to help us.

The bus is unreliable and we were back on the boat, happy to be back in Singapore, on Christmas Day.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest - Anne W,

Many thanks for staying at Bintan Lagoon Resort and reviewing us in detail. Your illustrative feedback has brought many issues to fore and we are really grateful for that. We are disappointed to learn of the inconveniences caused to you due to our service.

We assure you that we will strive to analyze the root cause of the shortcomings that you have mentioned and eliminate them at the earliest. We thank you again for taking time out to share your stay experience with us. We hope you would give us another chance to host you with amended services.

Thanks and Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Rooms are suffering a bit from the humidity, especially during rainy season. Ruined my running shoes and shorts since I did not realize that the black spots on the beach were oil and not washed up seaweed, although the hotel is doing its best to clean the beach every day. Unfortunately, every wave washes up bits of oil (imagine what this does to wild life when you see what it does to my running gear after one run on the beach!). Food and activities expensive, but good and fun - and the massages were heavenly! Lots of staff seams annoyingly (for an expensive hotel) inexperienced. But a few members of staff really stood out as being sincerely friendly and going that extra mile. Cocktails the best ever. Direct ferry from Singapore adds to convenience. Relaxation factor overall great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently popped back to one of our favourite locations in the world - the Bintan Lagoon Resort on Bintan Island, Indonesia. Made even better now with the new Mozaic Ferry system dropping you off literally in the hotel, including customs and immigration. No more going to the normal terminal. If you are staying Bintan Lagoon it's a must do. You drop your luggage at Tanah Mereh Ferry Terminal and see it again in your room - superb! Also the newly named Rice Restaurant and Bar is a MUST see. Right on the beach, with amazing views, lovely staff, an array of cold drinks - it is just and chill out music pumping. It's so so good you actually let them get away with pretty average food. Apparently there is a roof top terrace too for private function - I feel a birthday party coming on. It's fantastic for families and kids as there are two pools, one with kids slides, zorb balls, bouncy trapeze, kids club, lazer quest, ping pong, etc etc. You can also rent a suite room for a bit more than a normal and get an extra bed or two in it. Makes a big difference when you're there with 2x kids not to have to have two rooms. Or push the boat out and get a gang of families together and rent a villa there and get your own golf buggy for scooting around. It's just a lovely resort hotel, a little old now perhaps but she has not lost her charm and me and my kids will be back time again for sure!

Room Tip: Forest suite was our choice this trip - double plus 2 extra beds for my kids - all of us in one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheKenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,637 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
388 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: $83 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing