We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get back on the boat and don't stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get back on the boat and don't stay!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was one of the most horrible hotels I have stayed at in a long time. We arrived by boat, after the boat was changed due to bad weather (namely the boat not operating or broken). The hotel or boat company never informed us of the 20kgs allowance and then on arrival a $25USD visa application. We didn't mind about the cost, it was more the inconvenience. Then one of the staff at the Bintan Lagoon Resort offered us a quick check in visa for addional 4SGD. This was okay. He took $50AUD and $30SGD and never gave back our change. This turned out to be a fiasco, which was resolved 1 hr before we left by the hotel manager who was not equipped to assist us. He had no idea how to resolve an issues in the hotel.

When we arrived the room was horrible. No bed side lamps working, doors broken, stuffy and damp. Only one plug works for overseas computer.

We were then upgraded to a better room, however, by then we had decided to cut short our 9 day stay to less than 24hrs. This place is horrible, run down, damp, the food was terrible, I can't imagine why anyone would stay there. Apart from what looks to be a nice golf course.

The staff don't do any work. They are always on a computer or busy shuffling you from one person to another, so they don't have to do any work. The only person that really helped was a car driver, who actually wanted to help us.

The bus is unreliable and we were back on the boat, happy to be back in Singapore, on Christmas Day.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mozaic H, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest - Anne W,

Many thanks for staying at Bintan Lagoon Resort and reviewing us in detail. Your illustrative feedback has brought many issues to fore and we are really grateful for that. We are disappointed to learn of the inconveniences caused to you due to our service.

We assure you that we will strive to analyze the root cause of the shortcomings that you have mentioned and eliminate them at the earliest. We thank you again for taking time out to share your stay experience with us. We hope you would give us another chance to host you with amended services.

Thanks and Regards,
WeCare@BintanLagoon
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    922
    655
    298
    224
See reviews for
971
760
75
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Rooms are suffering a bit from the humidity, especially during rainy season. Ruined my running shoes and shorts since I did not realize that the black spots on the beach were oil and not washed up seaweed, although the hotel is doing its best to clean the beach every day. Unfortunately, every wave washes up bits of oil (imagine what this does to wild life when you see what it does to my running gear after one run on the beach!). Food and activities expensive, but good and fun - and the massages were heavenly! Lots of staff seams annoyingly (for an expensive hotel) inexperienced. But a few members of staff really stood out as being sincerely friendly and going that extra mile. Cocktails the best ever. Direct ferry from Singapore adds to convenience. Relaxation factor overall great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently popped back to one of our favourite locations in the world - the Bintan Lagoon Resort on Bintan Island, Indonesia. Made even better now with the new Mozaic Ferry system dropping you off literally in the hotel, including customs and immigration. No more going to the normal terminal. If you are staying Bintan Lagoon it's a must do. You drop your luggage at Tanah Mereh Ferry Terminal and see it again in your room - superb! Also the newly named Rice Restaurant and Bar is a MUST see. Right on the beach, with amazing views, lovely staff, an array of cold drinks - it is just and chill out music pumping. It's so so good you actually let them get away with pretty average food. Apparently there is a roof top terrace too for private function - I feel a birthday party coming on. It's fantastic for families and kids as there are two pools, one with kids slides, zorb balls, bouncy trapeze, kids club, lazer quest, ping pong, etc etc. You can also rent a suite room for a bit more than a normal and get an extra bed or two in it. Makes a big difference when you're there with 2x kids not to have to have two rooms. Or push the boat out and get a gang of families together and rent a villa there and get your own golf buggy for scooting around. It's just a lovely resort hotel, a little old now perhaps but she has not lost her charm and me and my kids will be back time again for sure!

Room Tip: Forest suite was our choice this trip - double plus 2 extra beds for my kids - all of us in one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

(Please note travel dates: 24/3/2012 - 26/3/2012, am compiling my reviews on agoda on tripadvisor as well)

Booked a Deluxe Seaview room, well, there was a seaview but the seaview is really really farrrr away from my room (think we were at the East Wing), i was not able to hear any waves crashing etc. Instead i did hear construction works going on, it was coming from the left side of where our room was situated. It was really soft so did not really disturb our sleep or anything cos we couldnt hear it if we were inside our room, however, we could hear it whilst relaxing at the balcony. Overall average in terms of decor and cleanliness.

I was totally surprised when I first checked out the beach, i remember gasping and gushing and running towards the waters. I was surprised as most of the Bintan resorts/hotels I visited did not have such a nice beach -- it was a vast and very very long stretch of blue waters and soft sandy beach. Excellent, I really think the hotel takes pain in maintaining and keeping the beach clean - i see them sweeping and picking up trash/sticks/leaves etc daily. There's also some sea-sports and activities if you are up to it... also lotsa deck chairs and sheltered spots along the beach. at the left-hand corner of the beach the hotel is building their very own ferry terminal!!!! i prob will be visiting this hotel more often by then (such convenience!) but i'm not sure if this would compromise the condition of the beach/waters by then... and because they had such a great beach i only went to the pool once, i thought the size of the pool was really nice and spacious w the usual poolside bar.

I really did not like the Kopi-O buffet and there's always these crowds of tourists choking up the entrance of Kopi-O. Plus food was real crappy for the price i was charged. Just eat at cafe/restuarant that's by the beach (think it is called RICE?), we ate most of our meals there, good service, nice ambience, good taste, good presentation and portion. Its not cheap though, be prepared to spend on the food!

Tip: Have a cuppa coffee at the open-air deck chairs at RICE, watch the stars! Buy all your snacks etc in Singapore! We got ripped at the hotel paying S$7/- for a bottle of Pringles!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLEE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The resort seems to be under permanent maintenance. We found it very expensive - unfortunately our son drank water at arguably the best restaurant supplied at dinner and became ill. Really guys don't drink the water .. Nice pools and the swim up bar great for drinks and snacks .. Felt kind of stuck at the resort and was happy to get out and about.

Call Luis 081364113363 he operates a tourist taxi service. It was great to see the real island and we found him to be fun and helpful on our stay. We hired him for a couple of days. He knows all the best spots

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annw432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been to Bintan this January. Pleasant experience. However, the resort service was bad, the check in time for my Deluxe Beach View room was delayed. When we asked about it the staffs were giving the eye. I'm utterly disappointed. Room and toilet was generally clean with a few ants crawling around since it was by the beach. However, on the first day, my family and I went on a half day trip, and we met a very nice van driver. He offered us a day trip for the next day and it was great! But because of the location of the resort, it was very far from the town.The view of the beach was nice and the tour of the town was great. Back to the resort. Food was very expensive. And all are in Singapore Dollars. The breakfast buffet taste bland and boring. Had lunch at the Japanese restaurant. The food was expensive and quality as well as taste is poor. I will not come back to this resort anymore, although i will visit Bintain again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanteSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

stayed 2 nights in the deluxe room, room and bathroom were spacious and quite modern in design. nice corner in the room to chat/ play games if you're traveling with friends/family. slight issue with the sheets feeling sandy and slightly stained but still clean overall. better than what i had expected from reading reviews.

service
service was great, staff were helpful and friendly most of the time.

dining
we stayed in the resort to dine and dining options are that of a typical hotel ( read: expensive) but food and service was good. dinner at RICE was quite well-done although it is slightly high end dining. also, take note that service charge of 10% and government tax of 12% (22%! in total) will add quite a significant sum to your total bill.

entertainment
beach along the resort (a slight walk of 5-10 min from the rooms) was clean and relatively unpolluted, waves were too choppy for us to swim and water activities were limited due to the weather conditions. 2 pools available with some entertainment ( slides, pool basketball) leisure centre also offers other activities but all must be paid for, such as billiard ( S$8.80/hour ), , table tennis ( S$3.30/hour )and cycling ( S$6.00/hour ). ATV rides (quite expensive at S$88 for a double per 30 mins) bring you along a "forest' trail and not the beach, but still quite enjoyable



transport to the hotel is very smooth (from Singapore), as many of the tourists are from Singapore, most of the resorts have shuttle buses that work like clockwork to bring you to and fro from the ferry to the hotel, just follow the signs and ask reception for the schedule. safe and easy.

note: everything within the resort ( food, activities) is priced in Singapore dollars, therefore it is of more value to pay in S$

we stayed for a wed-fri, hotel was relatively quiet on weekdays but quite crowded when we left on a friday.
overall good for a short stay, due to limited activities, would not recommend staying more than 3 days and also not during the monsoon season as weather conditions prevent you from doing many activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zpsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,581 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
583 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing