We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beautiful scenery..but charges we pay are far too high” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bintan Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice beautiful scenery..but charges we pay are far too high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

First impression the resort is nice,beautiful,quiet with courteous staff..its deluxe rm came with a balcony with small table and 2 chairs facing the swimming pool..beach with white fine sand with clear blue water..scenery is gorgeous..i enjoy the pressure point massage as they came massage me and wife in our rm..Rm service with good food are more cheaper than outside food..
Just some issue i hope they can improve..the lightings in the resort lobby is dim..whereas using wifi is chargeable..a Pringles chips i bought at the convenience store at lobby cost me sin dolar 7.50..wow quite a number of services they provide are not only chargeable but charge at a much higher price than we use or spent in Spore..
Other than that if u want a short trip for 2 to have a getaway and free frm worries..tis is the place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edybw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    880
    620
    281
    212
See reviews for
901
736
69
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My trip's was on 3-4th Nov 12. Reached there pretty early so don't manage to check-in. We had booked 4 rooms in total. Went back to check at 12.30pm, still no room but another couple booked 2rooms and she got both. So check with the counter staff's that not even a room for me at all. Is it really that fully occupied etc ... Went back again at 1pm, same replied, no room but after few suggestions, finally get 1 room first. At least got a room so that our kids can change and go for a swim and rest ... Staffs friendness still ok...

Room's wise still like what other mentioned, is big but need further maintained as 1 of our room like raining outside the toilet the next day. Got the maintence guy's in and was an aircon pipes problem's. Shower head handle also need to be fixed too. My wife was hit by the fallen shower head as it don't hold well. Her last toe's is still swollen due to this but just don't want to make a big fuss ... But they should do some maintence work's to the rooms. Overall, room still pretty comfortable...

The sea was nice ....

Now come to the nightmare... Evening buffet's for Sat will be Grill & Steamboat Theme's. Charges will be S$38++/per pax adult & S$20++/ per pax kid. ++ will be 20% more ...We did check whether we can go for alcart (spelling errors). But was told it will only be available after 8.30pm which will be 9.30pm S'poe time. So no choice take up their buffet's. Honestly speaking, the seafoods were super, super unfresh and even after cooked, the prawns, crab etc meat were all sloggy. Any road side hawker can provide fresher food than them. Their beef grill were very dried and stale etc. Selections very limited for such prices. But since their place are located in nowhere, you have no choice and maybe because of this, they don't bother of their foods quality. Suggestion: U might want to bring your own foods etc...

Beakfast buffet's still fine with "OK" qualities....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

A place to relax and spend time with love ones without anything to worry about. The beach is beautiful, clean and perfect place to release all the stress. They have varieties of restaurant to choose, but i love the rice restaurant where i had dinner with my hubby on his birthday. It is on the seaside, you can enjoy the sea breeze at the same time you can see the wave splashing while you are having your dinner. They also have the cafe where you can have the seafood buffet, it is amazing, we went there when we are very hungry so its worth it. The Hotel and restaurant staff are very good, they are very helpful to the guest. Though the hotel is quite old but its clean so it's okay for me but the Air condition in our room is really not working properly but we didn't complaint it since we are just there for 3 days and most of the time we are in the beach or by the pool so it's alright, i hope they will fix it.

Room Tip: If you prefer to stay in the room facing the sea you have to pay more, but its not really worth it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ligaya35_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon_Boy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

A really great resort if you want 2 excellent golf courses and a relaxing time on the beach or by the pool. Really nice clean beach and the warmest sea we have ever swam in. Choice of several restaurants to choose from with a variety of food, Italian, Japanese, Seafood,, they were ok but not brilliant.
On the negative side the drinks are expensive, everything in Singapore dollars and paying Singapore prices. The place is very isolated, now villages or local shops so you just stay in the resort.
There are a fair few stairs as the resort is on a hill, its not onerous but could imagine it might be a challenge for some

Room Tip: We chose sea views and had a the top floor room, however, you are some distance from the sea and beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindon_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is one of those islands where you are basically paying to stay at the resort. There is nothing else there- and the resort knows it. They engineer it that even catching local transport is forbidden- they are not allowed in the resort area and you have to use their massively overpriced cars. They charge you for every single tiny little thing apart from sitting on a chair by pool. Feeding fish, using one of their boardgames, borrowing their flippers to snorkel......you get ripped off big time.

Once you come to terms with being gullible and a bit stuck, and then becoming determined that this will not ruin your holiday the rest of the picture is that the food is ok, the service is ok, the facilities are tired, the bath is mouldy. The beach was really lovely (very beautiful sand) if you face one way and ignore the fact that there's now a massive jetty and facility to direct ferries directly to the resort itself. And that the banana lounges are falling apart (but, hey, they were free to use). The WiFi is an outrageous rip off, the service was slow. Oddly enough, the room service was cheaper than eating out. They transport you to the engineered souveneir market but the transport timing cleverly does not go over meal times so you can't eat there unless you are willing to pay another $25 to get back to the resort- not that there are local taxis in that area.....it goes on.

For kids, there is heaps to do like archery, giant water balls, watersliding, a games room. But you pay. Surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IKZ2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hidden gem is really not a hidden GEM. In every aspect you find average or below that things. We liked golf course, with good service and perfect grounds. We didn`t like the hotel maintenance and service in there. Maybe we expected more, because of "paradise island" -status, but when looking others reviews, its not all about our prethoughts.

If you go Bintan, try some other hotel. There is other options. BUT, if you go there to golf... maybe this is for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZorroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to Bintan, and going on a long weekend was always going to mean the hotel would be extremely busy.
Pros: The staff appear generally helpful and are extremely friendly. The golf course and driving range were both very good. The resort is also very large, so you can go for nice walks. The kids really enjoyed archery with the kids club, and the laser quest and trampoline jumping (however, expect to pay extra for these treats). Gym was well equipped.

Cons: Everything is in Singapore dollars, so do not expect anything to be cheaper just because you are in Indonesia. The rooms are very old, and our toilet didn't stop running, and the bathroom floor was always leaking (we were in a Forest Suite). You could hear people in the room next door, and the kids in the pool. Breakfast during high occupancy was chaos - staff ran around clearing plates before you could finish, because they had to wash them and then reuse them. Food was so-so, and over priced, and you generally had to chase staff to get them to take your order. Internet use is extremely expensive at S$19.95 for 24 hour access on 1 device only.

All-in-all, we will return to Bintan, but will stay at another resort to compare against this one before coming back to this resort

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLongestHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.3 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.7 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12 | Bintan Utara, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing