We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Far from luxury”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedroom villa with 1 other couple. The villa is far from luxury and is 2.5 - 3 stars at best. From the moment you walk in you are overwhelmed by the smell of mould which is in fact everywhere. Our friends sleeping in the smaller queen room complained they could constantly smell faeces in their bathroom. Furnishings are dated and the kitchen and bathrooms are old and basic and the place is generally very run down (as per my posted photos). Security needs improvement as even if you lock the sliding doors (both the front doors and the back doors) they slide open at either end anyway. Our pillows in the master bedroom stunk of unwashed hair. We asked for new pillow covers but they still smelled unwashed. Our sheets and quilt had yellow stains on them as well as mould. The TV had bad reception and most channels were fuzzy. The wi-fi was frustratingly slow. Front desk service was poor, we had asked to change our ferry booking time for Singapore which should have been a simple thing to do but instead turned into a 6hr ordeal with us having to constantly chase up for updates and ultimately threaten with a complaint to the general manager to get sorted.
The only thing good about the villa itself is the private pool which is a good size and has water views. Good cheap massage is a short buggy ride away and you do get a buggy to use for free (essential for getting around the resort complex). Food at the resort restaurants we tried were better than expected. Mini zoo was interesting and watching the sunset at Calypso Bar was a highlight. However, for a villa that's meant to be 5 stars and the most luxurious in the Nirwana resort complex we were extremely disappointed. It's definitely not worth the S$800/night we paid let alone the S$1500/night rack rate. I would not recommend it to anyone who is after a 'luxurious' or mould-free experience.

Room Tip: The 2 br villa has more uninterrupted ocean views from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hjsl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    51
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Long overdue review. We stayed with in-laws and our two toddlers for 2 nights. The villa we stayed in was in desperate need of renovation from the furniture, the structure (doors didn't feel too secure and worn), to the appliances. The villa was not properly cleaned either as we had left over food and drinks in the kitchen and fridge remaining.....looked like for a long time. On a positive note the 3 room villa was spacious and decently laid out with a private pool. The ladies in our group went for the massage at the spa just next door and found it overpriced and not very good....it was an outdoor setting. I went for a massage at the main bowling alley massage centre which was more reasonably priced and was decent. We stayed at the villas and compound the entire time and the buggies provided were convenient to use. We did the pony and elephant rides for kids + a few other activities but mainly used our villa pool. The restaurants at the compound was average and overpriced as expected nothing memorable. They did have a BBQ menu in the villa which included a private chef + all extras if you wanted to cook at your villa which we didn't try. The two stars are for the private pool and the buggy provided which my kids enjoyed....unfortunately we wont be back unless some serious updating is done at tired Indra Maya.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeternam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedroom villa with 1 other couple. The villa is far from luxury and is 2.5 - 3 stars at best. From the moment you walk in you are overwhelmed by the smell of mould which is in fact everywhere. Our friends sleeping in the smaller queen room complained they could constantly smell faeces in their bathroom. Furnishings are dated and the kitchen and bathrooms are old and basic and the place is generally very run down (as per my posted photos). Security needs improvement as even if you lock the sliding doors (both the front doors and the back doors) they slide open at either end anyway. Our pillows in the master bedroom stunk of unwashed hair. We asked for new pillow covers  but they still smelled unwashed. Our sheets and quilt had yellow stains on them as well as mould. The TV had bad reception and most channels were fuzzy. The wi-fi was frustratingly slow. Front desk service was poor, we had asked to change our ferry booking time for Singapore which should have been a simple thing to do but instead turned into a 6hr ordeal with us having to constantly chase up for updates and ultimately threaten with a complaint to the general manager to get sorted. 
The only thing good about the villa itself is the private pool which is a good size and has water views. Good cheap massage is a short buggy ride away and you do get a buggy to use for free (essential for getting around the resort complex). Food at the resort restaurants we tried were better than expected. Mini zoo was interesting and watching the sunset at Calypso Bar was a highlight. However, for a villa that's meant to be 5 stars and the most luxurious in the Nirwana resort complex we were extremely disappointed. It's definitely not worth the S$800/night we paid let alone the S$1500/night rack rate. I would not recommend it to anyone who is after a 'luxurious' or mould-free experience. 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom. The response and services provided are fantastic. The staff, Ms Yana, Wahyuni, and severval others who had attended to us - wonderful. The only down - I feel that if the place is given a chance for renovation, then the money will be worth. It is slightly run-down and while we were there, my sister was frighten out of her wits by a considered huge centipede which crawled onto her legs and luckily she flung it off ! It would be very dangerous especially if you have small kids running and walking around. Also, there are so many 'worms' crawling everywhere and my mother and the maid who slept in the living room, were unable to sleep soundly as worms were everywhere. Some even crawled onto the bed ! Other than that, it was fine.The television reception was bad. However, Bintan has improved so much with lots more activities as compared to years ago. We went for the ATV during a heavy downpour and sure enough, it was adventurous and exciting ( though also dangerous ) ! Breakfast at Bintan Resort was alright. For our meals, we brought food to cook and for every meals, we had home cooked food ! Overall, I would say it was a nice trip with helpful people around us.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraceLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Long
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We just left the Indra Maya villa and moved into a deluxe room and as we were to pay tips to the bell, we realized all singaporean dollars and certain amount of hk dollars kept in our wallet and pockets of Jean shorts were lost, though other personal stuff were intact. As a friend who shared the villa did not have a problem when he left earlier in the morning and doors were locked at all times, we believed someone broke into the villa when we went out for breakfast (the buggy was therefore driven away from the front of villa) and the thieve was selective.

And our money were not placed in open place: someone must do some search to find money in a pant left on a chair.

We are still waiting for a response from the management, which claimed that has never happened before. We plan to report to police thereafter. Whatever it does, the fact that we did lose money here, in an exclusive resort area where security guards are on duty at entry of the motorway to the villa area, is worrying and disappointing. The villa pool was excellent, good enough to overshadow the rooms flaws and breakfast, but losing money when you are in the relax mode is just a big blow.

Hope something better come up later.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KahOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Luxury? No way. These villas are deperately in need of refurbing. Extremely dated and in need of work. Kitchen is a disgrace. Tap wobbly, counters all cracked and stained. Ants everywhere. Fridge not working and leaking all over the floor. Tv not working (volume fading in and out.) Plastic curtains. Rusty nails banged into the bathroom tiles. Poor lighting in bathroom (not a hope at all of trying to apply makeup by that light). If they paid some attention these would be nice. How about a sound system for example you can hear from the pool.

Golf buggy is a plus. Pool and view is great. But I can't get past the feeling that I have been overcharged for something I didn't get. This is far from my idea of luxury. Its more like a family vacation short term let. Absolutely NOT what I was after. Better to stay down near the very lovely beaches of Nirwana's two main complexes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWKW727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Anyone whose headed to Bintan, I would seriously, seriously recommend Nirwana Gardens over a Banyan tree or Nikoi Island... any day and ten times over. I had booked a 2 Bedroom Seafront Villa at Indra Maya in Nirwana Gardens. Man the thing came with a view. What a view. The Villa was dirty when I checked-in, stains and overflowing toilet. One phone call and I was good to go. No points deducted. The Villa had a full sea view and the design was just amazing. Also had a private pool. Room service was slow, but hey I was in no hurry either.....Every villa was given an Electric buggy, free of charge to roam around. And boy, they have put up some resort. Nirwarna Gardens compound is a huge, huge & beautiful place. Clay shooting, Air Guns, Archery, Electric Bikes, Mini Zoo, Komodo dragons on the loose, Horse rides,pristine beaches, over water Bar, pub with live music, snooker table, choice of restaurants and smiling staff. Couldn't ask for more. Great place to unwind. I seriously recommend a Sea front Villa over a Sea View Villa. Don't expect your villa to be 5-star, its just fair. Delve into the sorroundings and rise beyond the villa... and believe me you will find Nirwana.

Felt like slapping the Bartender at the Calypso Bar.... should be fired. Very Rude guy parked in the most amazing chill out place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajatgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.2 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
25.7 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of 14 exclusive and beautiful pool villas, Indra Maya Pool Villas is exemplary of its name - exuding dream-like quality and extravagant beauty. Facing the South China Sea and overlooking the north-western coast of Bintan, the dazzling views are yours to relish in the luxurious comforts of your opulent suite or courtyard. Each villa is an exquisite fusion of exotic Indonesian, Thai and Chinese architectural elements. Step into the living room and the stunning view of the ocean will take your breath away. Elegantly furnished, each villa boasts of private pool, spacious living area and courtyard. *Indra Maya Pool Villa guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Villas Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villas Bintan Island/Lagoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing