We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed July 5, 2013

this hotel is very far at remote place, it very difficult to reach this hotel in the night even road sign are not their. cleaning are cleaned in two days, no request entertained, reception work only 10 to 6 pm. normally people are rude except the lady at reception. restaurant staff enjoy beer at swing poor deck. no room service. taxi driver Tony will robe you be carefull while dealing with him.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riazul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was told to pay with cash just to be charge again for "not show" when I was back. Impossible to get any receipt or fix it by email. They simply does not want to resolve it.

On top of this, the hotel is very old, dirty and far away from everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have been reading many reviews of the CJM some are true but many are not.
Basic and honest report here.
I stayed for four weeks be it not in the hotel part but in a private apartment on the far side of the complex.
My apartment had views of the sand dunes and then onto the sea. I had a one bedroom ( double) a living room and a kitchen bathroom was next to bedroom and a large balcony. I had some fantastic folks living next to me and above me a mix of British and German. The area was kept clean every day someone was around with a brush keeping the paths clean and clear of rubbish. The plants got a watering every other day so area was very green and the shrubs always in flower. Had no problem with dogs ( i'll get to that later ) in my area. All in all the private section of the CJM is WORTH every penny I paid for 1000 rupees a day and with AC and a TV at no extra charge well worth it. Contact me if you need the agents number(its not the hotel)
The only draw back about stained at the CJM are the and sorry to say this the Russian guests not all mind you but id say 90%. Rude/ arrogant / Dirty/ no respect for the workers at the hotel and complex and the complex itself and always DRUNK they have a thing for dark rum and not just one bottle but whole boxes of it.
The dogs basically is down to the Russians they encourage then dogs to follow from the beach and end up feeding them so have packs of dogs around the hotel section, which others have to pass to leave the complex during the day and evening very off putting more so for the folks who have children. They leave rubbish outside in the evening and in the morning you find the dogs have ripped them apart and rubbish all over the place> yes hotel has two notices very small and blink and you would miss them, I can say hand on heart I did not see one member of the hotel team stop any dog following the Russians or asked to stop feeding them.
The complex had two pools , still has but one empty and I asked about this and was told it was kept so due to very late night manoeuvres by the Russians ( sorry I am not having a go at them just stating facts) fighting and other stuff so is kept closed, which is a real pity has its a nice pool and is in shade which In Goa you need during midday heat.
The tennis court is in a bad state id turn it into a car park myself. The main pool is unlike a few reports is kept clean and looked after all day. Is open to non residents but they have to pay a pool fee. I likes to walk past first thing and you can see all the crows having a morning drink lol .The pool was never busy so loads of room to relax and the bar and restaurant is so close so no problem in ordering a cool drink or a bite to eat.
One ACE place and you have to visit even if only walking to the beach is to visit Roza & Tony place it is near the entrance to CJM and what a welcome you will receive. Always with a smile and you can get anything you want from them . Dont bother with bringing heavy shampoos and soaps and bug killers she has them all plus food , water, you name it Roza will have it or if not she will get it lol. The breakfast are great and coffee and tea any time you want and if you drink many a cold can waiting for you.
The beach is a short walk away down a very unkept bit of road farm land one side and the complex on the other , its sad to say like many parts of the world parts of it are being used to dump rubbish. That Road could be made into something that is a pleasure to walk down if all parties got together and sorted it. Be careful of speeding bikes this road has not speed bumps at all. The beach its self is pure heaven it is like having your own private beach, just take a walk off to the left and within five mins your away from it all, but still close to a beach shack if needed. They have sorted beach sellers and beggars which is good but sad to see they have got shot of the ice cream sellers who just rode up and down the beach ringing a bell and was no bother at all.
If you needed to get to others area of Goa you could get a bus that stopped and started at the cross roads and also you could always get a taxi at the main gates. I used to spend an age drinking coffee and looking at the drivers trying to get the best price from the tourists very entertaining. Also bikes if you dare ride one always on hire at the taxi rank.
Just outside the complex and a short walk away you have many good places to eat many cater for the Russians.
A small walk away is Carmona Village the place to get your fresh stuff from fish to fresh and I mean fresh chicken ( you will have to see this yourself ) and a chemist a barbers shop three of them and internet be it a little slow.
All in all a good area but like all areas its got its bad points.
CJM just needs a FACE LIFT and to sort the hotel section and it will be an even better place to stay .
On my rating it is for the private apartment not the hotel

Room Tip: Always take a torch power cuts happen often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank atomic1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

what a great place to stay.close to the beach,has a good swimming pool and serves good food at a reasonable price.Will go back again for definate.Staff are polite and friendly and rooms are clean.We stayed on a b&b basis and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

"I love the place with a Capital I"... I say this because, with respect to hotel standards its like any ordinary hotel, nowhere near being called a resort. I will write below the things to set your expectations right. At last you are the best judge of what you want.

What's Not Nice:
1. Reception Area is in tatters and urgently needs renovation(does not matter to me).
2. A 15 mins wait is almost a must since staff is less(not that bad either).
3. Room cleaning is done only once in two days. So prepare to keep your room clean. However, any urgent needs, help is available on request.
4. Food is average.
5. A bike is almost needed.
6. Refrigerator or phone in room is not available.

What's Nice :
1. Perfect place to recharge yourself for busy city life with 5 star facilities but no time.
2. Nature around the place is awesome. I love the place.
3. People are friendly and nice.
4. The shop beside the main gate helps you to get anything and everything.
5. The BIG Value for Money to enjoy a peaceful few days away from the busy and loud cities.
6. There are couple of options with respect to good food around.
7. Swimming pool is useful though not very well maintained.
8. Zalor beach is awesome(almost like a private one) and the shacks though few are great

Conclusion :
Go to this place if you want to spend some quality time with your near and dear ones in peace and happiness and also not be bothered about your pocket being drained out.

Room Tip: Ask if room has refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soum_Hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Poor local connectivity in terms of Public Transport. Food costly and not convinient for Vegetarians. No telephone connectivity in Rooms. No room service. Poor Breakfast not fit for everyone. Poor hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank PAWANKUMARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
5.0 mi away
William's Beach Retreat
0.6 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#10 of 39 in Salcette
168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Regenta Resort Varca Beach
14.9 mi away
Farmagudi Residency
Farmagudi Residency
#4 of 7 in Ponda
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Jose' Menino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Jose' Menino Resort

Address: Zalor Fatrade Varca, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonia Jose' Menino Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort owned by the Saldanha Group, with its sales office at Mumbai "Kyle-Sal Holidays (p) Ltd". Resort has 50 Rooms, equipped with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Restaurant & Bar, Travel Desk, Foreign Exchange, Doctor on call. All rooms en-suite w/c, hot & cold shower, Balcony, Refrigerator, twin-double beds, CTV, Cable connection, Wardrobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonia Jose' Menino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Jose` Menino Hotel Varca
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing