We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience but customer service could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I had gone to Club Mahindra as part of our College ReUnion and had a great time at the resort. The check in process was not very smooth and despite checking in at 4pm the room was not ready. This was perhaps the only glitch I encountered. Given that the resort was almost running to full capacity on weekdays, crowd management was very well handled. The food at Tamara was great with a wide choice of cuisine including live counters. The seafood items were worth noting. I missed a trip to their shack on the beach supposedly serving excellent seafood since it was closed on Mondays. The room given to me was a studio, which was very spacious and comfortable. However the view was bad (facing another building). I also visited their Spa and the facility offered was real Value for Money. The resort also arranges events in the evenings, which we really enjoyed. The Pools at the resort were both well maintained especially given the fact that many people were using the same at any given point in time. Sames goes with the well maintained lawns. There are some outdoor activities as well including zip lining which one must enjoy. Overall I had an experience of a life time given that it was my college reunion and we chose this place to make the event special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arvind_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Arvind,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation, the food, the ambience, the spa and also enjoyed the various activities at our resort. Our staff will be extremely delighted to receive your appreciation and we’ll certainly pass along your compliments to them. Additionally, the points you have brought to our notice will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel has received rewards in the past, but the service, attitude and standards are no longer keeping up with the promises. Service requests have to be repeated before there is any action, even for simple things like getting a newspaper delivered to the room. Many services have to be paid for, and come in packages, that don't allow for individual choices. The hotel also promises free WiFi - only in the noisy lobby though - but during our stay it didn't work.

Club properties often offer buffet-style meals, not a good choice if you want to eat healthy. We avoided the expensive buffets and explored the many places right outside the hotel, many come with Russian menus due to the influx of tourists from that country.

The taxi mafia outside the hotel has been mentioned by several others already; not sure why the hotel does not offer for people to share transportation to and from the airport.

There is not much to do in the area itself; if you venture out, be warned that there is a bag-snatching problem in Goa.

All in all, we were not impressed with the property.

Room Tip: Check out several rooms, before settling for one. Since this is a resort catering for families, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and apologies for the inconvenience caused. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My parents arrived at the property at 830 am. They had emailed the hotel 2 weeks in advance and then sent a reminder 1 week before their trip about the early arrival and had requested an early check-in. The hotel replied to say they would try their best, which is fair.

However, on arrival, my parents found that the staff at Club Mahindra Varca reception were particularly unhelpful - and also boorish and rude.

They refused an early check-in on the basis that there was not a single empty room. Which was a plain faced lie because numerous people checked out during the 6 hours while my parents were made to sit at reception. When this was pointed out, the chappie at reception spitefully said he would give them a room before 2 pm - no matter what. This was a 20 year old kid mouthing off to my 65 year old parents.

Te hotel claimed it was busy because of the Diwali weekend but whilst that is true, a simple walk around the hotel revealed empty rooms being cleaned out by staff. So the it about not having a single empty room was patently false.

At the time of checkout, my parents requested a late check-out. Not surprisingly, the same chappie at reception rudely said that they could sit on a chair near reception and even if they had a a spare room, he would not give them a late checkout.

My parents are senior citizens. They told the Club Mahindra reception staff that they needed to lie down and weren't feeling well. It didn't seem to matter.

When they were eventually allowed to check-in, they offered a room overlooking the dining room. My father had to walk back to reception and plead to be moved to a room facing the pool. Again, why sneakily push people into a bad room if you have a better one available?

This company knows that the members are locked in and have paid their membership fees upfront - so what's the point in keeping them happy - it's more lucrative to bring more suckers into the scheme.

I am so totally disgusted by the attitude I saw on display at Club Mahindra Varca, I will be sure to tell anyone who cares to listen not to purchase a Club Mahindra membership.

On a different note, the hotel's new spa is nice as is the new pool. The hotel location is not bad - close to a very nice beach. But it is really far south, which means its a long hike to go anywhere. And the cabbies outside are extortionate. If you try and rent your own self-drive car, the cabbies will slash all your tyres, we were told by the hotel. When I asked them why they don't fix that, they said they were helpless. Curious how they seem to be the only hotel I am aware of that suffers from this problem.

The hotel rooms wear a tired and dirty look. Headboard fabric filthy, wooden surfaces chipped or faded, bathroom fittings broken, etc. The mattresses were like stone and gave me an uncomfortable night's sleep and a painful back in the morning. The hallways desperately need a repaint.

The dining room often looks like a war zone. Food strewn on floors and around the buffet stations, tables uncleared, queues to get into the room, orders for anything forgotten multiple times, random pools of water on the floor unattended to for several minutes after being reported.

What can I say. I am not a fan. At all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Giveitagonow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed ( third or fourth visit) recently at Mahindra Resort Varca Beach from 2 November 2013 to 5 November 2013.

The trip was anything but perfect. We are 'Red' members and are entitled to one bedroom apartment. However, since the booking was done at the last moment we were offered instead two single rooms (hotel rooms). At the time of the booking we had informed the Resort people that we will be flying in from Bombay early morning and they should allow us to check in early, as against their usual check-in time of 2.00 p.m.

Our trouble started when we reached the resort. My wife and me were forced to wait for 6 long hours before the unusually reticent and almost rude reception staff allowed us in our rooms. All this while sitting in the lobby we saw number of people checking out, much prior to 11.00 a.m., departure time. Upon repeated requests to give us a room the reception guys refused to make any concession and were almost brusque in their dealings. The worst part is that despite knowing that we have been waiting since long, other persons were accommodated first, and we were the last to be provided with our rooms. When I raised this issue with one of the staff, he gruffly told me that I can say what I want to but they have policy and will not budge. Imagine our plight, when we had to catch our flight at 5.30 a. m., for which we had to get up at 3.00 a.m., in the morning! The whole attitude of the reception and booking personnel was 'I care two hoots for you and your travails'. and most uncooperative. After all this the rooms offered to us were dingy and on the rear side and had it not for my insistence we would have been forced to look at the diners having their meals whole day long.

Our simple request for providing extra water to our room was also not accommodated.

Similar situation arose while checking out and again despite advance information were forced out of our room at about 12.30. I pointed out that since the holidays were over and though I had two rooms in my name, of which one was surrendered much before 11. o'clock deadline, I should be allowed to stay in the other room, but no heed was paid to such request.

While the reception staff was generally callous and deliberately non-cooperative the restaurant and dining room guys were amazingly friendly and helpful. All the persons handling holiday rush were so helpful they looked like guys differently trained then the unfriendly reception staff.

I must make special mention of M/s.. Aditya and Sandy, (both being lobby managers) were real helpful and did go out of their way to accommodate our request on 4 November, even though it was quite late at night.

Overall while the place is good and restaurant and dining room staff as also other general staff are helpful it is the reception guys who quite let you down.

Room Tip: If you are staying in hotel room, ask for pool facing rooms, else you will have to smell food and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Augustine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi Tushar,

Thank you for your feedback and we are certain that our resort staff especially Mr. Aditya and Sandy will be delighted to receive your compliments. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience always, and are concerned that your experience was not upto the standards that we strive to deliver. Please accept our apologies and be rest assured that all your concerns will be looked into on priority. Please do continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is the best place to holiday, chill out, do-nothing and hog over food and drinks. it has a private beach accessible upto midnight. studio apartment we stayed in was superb. our stay was for 7 nights so we got ample time to venture out to north goa,south goa and every nook and corner of goa. two swimming pools and gigantic garden to stroll makes it a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: choose rooms on 1st floor far away from reception building.Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saloni_vkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi Saloni,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Varca, Goa. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation at the resort. And, indeed the proximity of the beach to the resort does give a very private feel to it and glad you were able to enjoy it. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are planning a Full family Trip, this is the best place in South Goa.
secluded from the City by 9 kms, the place is unnaturally calm, no pestering at the beaches, Nice long beach, the in house Shack serves delicious Sea Food (slightly expensive).
You can Drive 15 kms to visit Martins Shack at Colva beach if u really love sea food

para-flying (boat driven) and speed boat rides are Ok-OK types.
you can enter atleast 30-40 mtrs into the sea during the day time and enjoy the sea waves.

facilities are resort are exteremely good. Service is excellent, Buffet is availble for BF, Lunch and Dinner. Good qulaity food.
Place is clean and tidy

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasadh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi Prasad,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Varca Goa. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you relished the dining experience and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Also, your points regarding the food prices have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Club Mahindra's Varca resort in Goa was just wonderful. Lovely set up with a huge lawn, 2 swimming pools, couple of restaurants & a dune shack just about at the beach. Food was excellent, service & amenities provided were upto the mark. There was also a Trikke to ride which was a bit tricky ;) For the ladies, a beauty parlour & Svastha spa for the stressed & over worked Mumbaites was absolutely refreshing. Overall a very relaxing & pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Varca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Varca Goa resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
0.9 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
1 mi away
Club Mahindra Emerald Palms
1 mi away
Sterling Goa Varca
Sterling Goa Varca
#1 of 10 in Varca
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
0.8 mi away
Regenta Resort Varca Beach
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Varca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Varca Beach

Address: 176 1 Survey No | Salcete Taluka, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Varca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price Range: $199 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Varca Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Club Mahindra Varca Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Hotel Varca
Hotel Mahindra Varca Beach
Club Mahindra Varca Beach India
Varca Palms Beach Resort
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Goa
Mahindra Varca Beach Club India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing