We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful property marred with bad transport options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful property marred with bad transport options”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

First things first, Mahindra-Varca is a beautifully laid out resort. Luxurious rooms and well equipped kitchen units promise a great family holiday.
We were there for three nights and the stay was very comfortable. The proximity to the beach is the biggest advantage of this property.
The check-in time is very odd - 2pm. We flew down from Mumbai, and reached the resort by 2.30pm which means that we hadn't eaten our lunch. Nobody bothered to inform us that the restaurants close by 3pm. First of all, the check in procedure was super slow. Secondly, if the check in was going to take so much time, basic courtesy is to ask if they have eaten and if not, then inform them about the restaurant timings and urge them to eat while the check-in procedure goes on. At 3.15 when we reached the restaurant after checking in, we were told that we would get only the restricted menu which gives us hardly any choice - sandwiches and some measly dal-rich combi meals. Didn't appreciate this behaviour at all.
If you are a family which likes to explore cities and places you visit, beware!
A bunch of goons man the taxi stand outside the Mahindra Resort. Its either their way or the highway. They have the most unrealistic ratecard I have ever seen. From Dabolim to Varca, the taxi fare is Rs. 750. However, from Varca to Dabolim, for the same distance, the taxi fare goes up to 1,000 rupees. How??? The Mahindra Resort management has no say int his matter. The taxi drivers are fleecing their guests right under their noses and all complaints with the management go unheeded! On the contrary, the person at the reception turns around and says, its the taxi unio's decision, we have no say. So, we pay Rs 2800 for a round trip to the Bom Jesus Basilica and Panjim, which is just about approx 118km in total. This is only for 4 hours. Anybody who knows the distances in Goa between two places would know that this is completely unrealistic. But thats the order of the day. Sheer dadagiri spoils the entire plan of Goa sightseeing.
The service at all restaurants is super slow. We were a group of 8 who went for dinner at the Dune Shack. All of us ordered various drinks, 3 of us decided to share a bottle of wine. The beers and the gins came promptly, but the wine took forever to arrive. First, they couldn't figure out the bottle, then they didn't have the corkscrew...what sort of a bar is this? By the time the wine came, the beers had gone flat let alone warm. Anyway, the dinner made up for the drinks faux pas.
If you stay at the Mahindra resort for 3 days, you will not eat idli, dosa, vada, poori bhaji for the next 6 months. The breakfast menu is extremely uninspiring and unappatizing. No creativity applied in planning menus.
The next day we reached the restaurant for dinner at around 9pm. We ordered for simple things like tomato soup and Hakka noodles. We had two kids with us aged 4 and 9. Both were very hungry and sleepy. Tomato soup should not take anything more than 10mins max to make. It took half an hour to come. By then the kids were cranky, one had gone off to sleep without having any dinner. Half an hour for tomato soup which is made out of tinned soup? That too after telling the waiter that we need it fast for the kids. But I guess thats the general speed of delivery at the resort - super slow!
Having said all this, I must say that if not for all these glitches, the resort makes for a perfect holiday destination. I would request the management to look in to these matters to make their guests more loved and appreciated. After all, we are paying a huge sum for the upkeep of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkfreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    679
    199
    78
    63
See reviews for
1,019
341
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

It is a beautiful property with beautiful gardens and two pools.The beach is private and spotless with no crowds very romantic for walks in the evening .Kids zone has loads of activities to keep the young ones occupied.Food is not very good as the buffet gets very boring if you are staying for a week ...very limited choice of international cuisine.it is also expensive.Beach shacks are a good option for variety.The Spa is very good and the masseurs are well trained.Try it ...members get a discount as well.If you have a bike there are two great supermarkets before the church on the main road so you can get all your groceries from there and of course it has a good bakery with lots of stuff you can bring back and heat in the microwave(pizzas,patties donuts for the kids)Fresh fruits are also available just where you turn in from the main road towards the resort. I would advise to stock up on some things like microwavable popcorn ,chips fruits and bakery stuff for kids while you are on your way to the resort from the airport/station..most taxi drivers will stop at stores for a tip.Also we bring our own wine and you can chill it in the fridge and carry it to the poolside and borrow glasses from the bar.....you can do it for beer as well.Poolside bar has 2 basic cocktails but be careful the add lowest quality alcohol to it .The grocery store in the resort has milk (nestle cartons) white bread ,eggs,butter, cheese, maggi, cold drinks, water ,candy and some of the prepacked meals like haldirams paneer dishes etc,

Room Tip: The outside block is amazing if you want lovely views of the gardens,pools etc They are more central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richagupta_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Over 200 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 3 restaurants, right on the beach, great location and great service! First choice, every time i head to Goa!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shetul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Ok,so lets start with the pros.Its a great property,very well maintained lawns,pools and rooms.Its got its own grocery store where you can pick up your basic requirements,a club house which has a pool table,table tennis,video gaming unit.The staff is very friendly and courteous.It has a taxi stand right outside its gates and other local shacky type restaurants where you get your local cuisine.Its proximity to the beach is amazing-just past the dune shack and you're there.It shares the beach with another great property"The Zuri White Sands".Security is tight along with active life guards so you dont have any strange or shady people hanging around.Very different from the northern beaches.White sands,blue sea and the shacks offering great food.And now for the cons..( not too many,so the management doesnt have too much to worry about).We were staying in the studio appartment, which are all located at the further end of the resort..decent bit of walking to do everytime you would want to get to the reception,restaurants or getting out.They had golf carts to take you to your room with your luggage but tried calling for it when I needed it as I had sprained my ankle and it didn't come.The apartment was very sparsely done up,no fancy stuff,old box tv,basic wooden furniture..nothing spectacular..bed linen and towels were a bit worn out ,though clean.The pools used to get a bit crowded and I think that they could have easily had another pool,considering the size of their property.The restaurant during meal times was chaotic..too many people,too few tables.The waiters were not able to cope up with the rush so what you had were people sitting on tables which still had leftovers on them.What they actually need is a larger dining room or should use their coffee shop for holding their buffet meals for lunch and dinner as well.The buffet meals ,though tasteful,lacked variety and one got pretty sick of having the same north indian type heavy,masala meals..Even though I had bought the food coupons,by the end of it,we were rushing out to eat most of our meals..
Barring from these few problems,my trip was great and I would definitely recommend the place to other travellers and I hope by the time I go there again,they would sort out these problems..Happy Travelling......

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bharat1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, India, Christchurch, Kuala Lumpur, Kochi, Gangtok, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Best thing about this property is its proximity to the Varca Beach, it is a very private beach with 24 hours security, you have to enter your details on the security register to enter the beach. The property is neat, calm, quite big as a beach resort should be. Nice gym, there are 2 swimming pools, separate pools for kids with instructors always on the watch.

Resort has almost all facilities such as grocery shop, trademark Club Mahindra activity center which hosts a number of sports activities, evening parties,out door sports.

From Madgaon Railway Station it is approximately 10 kms, outside the station one can opt for a pre-paid Maruti Van for about 400 Rupees while Club Mahindra pick up from Innova will cost you around 700 Rupees, both are value for money.

Outside taxis are not allowed in the resort for pick up's, so you have the option of getting taxis from the Club taxi stand which has a union, rates are ok, i can say 15% higher from market but its nice. Not that bad as suggested by some other members.
I stayed there for 5 nights and absolutely loved the resort. You can hire bikes for as low as 250 rupees a day and petrol is yours.

For food, there is variety of option inside the Club Mahindra with almost 2 specialty restaurants. I preferred to eat outside some times for dinner, there are almost 10 shacks just on walking distance of the reception of the club with decent sea food and north Indian food with good cocktails and liquor and you pay half the price of what you would have paid inside.

But try the food inside the club especially the Portuguese food, also there is an option of candle light dinner on the pool side, you can book it from the reception.

If you are looking for a nice holiday, be at this place, both for families and couple, this club is situated in south goa which is about 45 kms away from the main city of Panaji and the main party hub, so it is kind of nice and calm environment, you can anyhow take a car or bike and head for party zone in the North Goa

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ashleygiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Varca has everything -a world class resort
Jasmine(also a Club Mahindra resort) is small but really cozy...great rooms, beautiful view, nice/cozy swimming pool and a great food station....really worth visiting.

Only minus point - little far off from the sea

Room Tip: Take the pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHNPareil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

It's simply awsome. Has it's own private beach which is simply very good, lonely, white sand!! It was good to be there early morning, late night in moon light...Rooms are cleaned daily at any hour of the day/night by staff promptly...Room service, food quality is great. Choice of food is also a plus point..Had a comfortable 7 days stay and never wanted to return from this very large property of Club Mahindra (one of the best resorts among all that they own)..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarunSurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
1.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Emerald Palms
1.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Varca Palms Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
22.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Varca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Varca Beach

Property: Club Mahindra Varca Beach
Address: 176 1 Survey No | Salcete Taluka, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#2 Spa Hotel in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Varca Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Club Mahindra Varca Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Hotel Varca
Hotel Mahindra Varca Beach
Club Mahindra Varca Beach India
Varca Palms Beach Resort
Mahindra Varca Beach Club India
Club Mahindra Varca Beach Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing