We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Peaceful Goa Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here from Dec 21st to Dec 25th 2013. We were two families and an great experience at this resort. The resort location is awesome, with excellent swimming pool, beach bar right on the beach, ease of access to the white sandy beach. The beach was the best as this was only used by the resorts guest and hence no over-crowding. We both had two superior rooms (swimming pool facing), which are nice. Take the BF only package, if you love to roam around in GOA to experience other places or you can spend some time on the beach shacks nearby for a cool drink and food (very cheap). The food at buffet is not that good at times. Will recommend to all with families as lot to do around in the resort. Must spend time during the sunset on the beach...Enjoy

Room Tip: Choose room near the pool if with kids or else any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear DSThakur
Thank you for your Excellent feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed in this resort for a couple of nights in Nov 2013. The USP of this resort is beach facing property in South Goa, which indeed is a wonderful thing.

I stayed in an all meals inclusive deal. All the meals and services were excellent.

The room size as per the price is very small. They have disco and recreational centre but they were barely functional as there were no guests.

All n all good resort for spending nice quiet time with family along the shore.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puneet_srp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Puneet_srp.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your rating our Food and Services as excellent. It is unfortunate that there were no other guests when you visited the Disco. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've stayed twice at this resort for 2 four day weekends in two different years. We were pleased with our stay both times. The rooms we had were small but clean and nice. Internet reception is good, restaurant staff is willing to cook for kids, breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful the pool is fantastic, the beach is nice, the beach bar is very nice and there are children activities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimShum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear KhimShum
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I don’t normally write reviews but this time I got so pissed off that I decided to write one.

First off – this place is a rip off. Everything is 5X what you’d get outside. We had an ‘all inclusive package’ (all meals were included) but even then we ended up spending good amount of money per day. For example, a bottle of water 100 Rs, a beer 250 Rs, Cocktail 800 Rs, Juice 250 Rs and so on. We were there with two kids and it was very easy it is for costs to add up. There’s tennis courts - you have to pay to 'rent' them (they were empty all the 4 days we were there BTW), and pay extra for racquets, balls, shoes.... whatever!

Secondly, the registration staff is very arrogant. There was a guy at the front desk, names Amit (who claimed he was executive), kicked us out for not carrying US passport. (I am US citizen and my wife has green card. We were carrying US driver’s license which was even accepted at the airport!). He said that the the email should have written terms and conditions that says that you have to carry ID. We pulled up email and sure enough there was no mention of carrying ID. He was rude to the point that he said something off the effect that ‘ you guys should thank me that I am letting you hang out in the lobby without identification’. Imagine our disappointment having come all the way from CA to enjoy vacation.

Then there’s the random swimming pool closure. Out of the blue some people pull us out of swimming pool to clean some ‘sand’ which according to them was deposited when people entered the pool without taking shower. Then they were forcing people to remove their sleepers while walking near the pool.

We had requested an extra bed in our room – which finally came after calling and poking front desk literally six times!

Food was mediocre – it lacked taste. I wouldn’t dine in such place with the type of money we were paying.
Beach is clean so there's a plus. Rooms were average size - nothing special. TV remote didn't work..

If you plan on going to Goa, my recommendation is to stay away from Ramada Inn. Its complete rip-off. You are better off going to Taj or other resorts nearby for the same kind of money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear K S
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the time and effort you have put into giving us as much detail as possible so that we can improve our product and services.
I do agree we mark up the prices but this is required keeping in mind the overheads and costs incurred. We do check that we are competitively priced with other similar Hotels to ensure we are not out priced as that would lead to no sales. I will however have the pricing re-checked to ensure we are not unreasonable.
Amit will be suitably reprimanded for his behavior. There is a rule however that "Foreign" nationals submit a copy of their passports as it is required to fill out the "C " forms. This is a Government requirement. Driving licences are acceptable for Indian nationals.
I am still trying to investigate the reason for pulling people out of the Pool to clean it. The Pool cleaning is physically done prior to opening in the morning and continuously after that by the pool filtration system.
Your feedback on the food quality has been brought to the Chef's attention. He will work on it to improve the taste.
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is very good.it is cheap and easily affordable to common Man.everything is good except the staff and food.the staff in other hotels(take leela the neighbour hotel in considerationToday's modern world has led to a major health problem for many people: a poor diet. Today's fast-paced fast-food world is causing serious health problems such as an increase in cancer, diabetes, and obesity. One simple way to begin fighting this trend is to add more fresh fruit and vegetables to our daily diet.
One of the benefits of fresh produce is that it adds fiber to our daily diet. Fiber has many benefits such as improving one's regularity, alleviating unnecessary discomfort in our lives. Added fiber has also been shown to help people control their weight. As well, research shows that adding fiber to one's diet may help reduce the risks of certain types of cancer and diabetes.
Another benefit of adding fresh fruits and vegetables to our diet is that they contain many of the essential minerals and vitamins that our body needs in order to fight off diseases and to maintain a healthy status. While you can accomplish the same thing with vitamins supplements, some experts say that the body is better at processing natural foods than artificial supplements. But, say the experts, don't stop taking your vitamins—they are still helpful.
Finally, another reason for adding fresh produce to your daily diet is that it helps one to replace or cut down on unhealthy snacks that might otherwise be high in white sugar and saturated fats. Fruits and vegetables tend to be more satisfying than high carb snacks therefore reducing one's desire to reach for those unhealthy snacks too often. By reducing unhealthy snacks, this helps the body in regulating its sugar levels, thus helping to fight against diabetes.
We all could take immediate

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank 707Dodoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear 707Dodoui
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that we are not perceived as being overpriced. I have communicated your comments on the Food quality and the need for further training the staff to the concerned department heads and we shall work on improving the same. Best Regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently stayed at the Ramada Beach Resort for our Christmas break. After a rocky start with our reservation being 'lost' we had a very pleasant stay at the Ramada. The rooms are spacious and clean and the grounds are kept well. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and they had a decent variety of choices.

The beach in front of the hotel is amazing and you can cycle on the beach for kilometers. The beach shacks sell lovely sea food and they are generally very cheap.

The Wifi (like in many hotels) is not cheap and you have to purchase a separate coupon per hour for connecting each device. They do however have complimentary wifi in the lobby.

The hotel is rated online as a five star but is at most a four star hotel. However, I would recommend it for a lazy summer holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lela33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear lela33.
Thank you for your feedback.Do accept our apologies for not being able to locate your reservation at the time of your arrival. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 Nights including the Christmas Eve. I called them to book a package which included all 3 meals. On the day we arrived at the airport, eventhough we could identify the Ramada person with the placard easily, we had to wait in the scorching sun for quite some time. But the bad experience ended there. We were taken in a luxury car (thoughtfully they had bottled water in the car for us) to the hotel, which took about 45 minutes.
The check-in was very pleasant (why don't the hotels give some fresh juice/soda as welcome drink, instead of some canned punch). The lobby and the main area of the hotel is awesome. It was a like palace or a church. With all the christmas decorations, it brought a great festive mood.

We were given a room in the new wing, which is farther away from the main area having restaurants and the pool. Later we enjoyed it as an advantage, as it burnt atleast a few calories - we had enjoyed and picked up a lot of calories because of the lavish buffets for all 3 meals.

The room (Deluxe) was very clean, nice and roomy with a balcony. The bed was too soft, it could have been a bit firm. We had a partial view of the ocean and good view of the golf course from our balcony. The entire property is dated, especially the spa. It is a good a 4 star hotel - Don't have high expectations of a new 5 star hotel.

All the 3 days, we relaxed on the beach and poolside. The beachside amenities are good. If you want less expensive drinks, you can visit the nearby beach shacks.

Their buffet meals were very lavish and great variety. They could improve on the taste though. Some of the deserts were awesome. The pool side candle light dinner with live music was a great romantic idea.

The christmas eve party was amazing, especially the European dance troupe and the local orchestra (Goa is stuck in the 80s English hits - But we enjoyed it and so did all the Russian and Indian guests).

I would certainly recommend this hotel for your stay. Buy the package with all meals included (otherwise it would be very expensive).

Room Tip: New wing has the advantage of making you walk everytime. The main building's rooms could become...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sekar-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have changed our welcome drink to coolers, sodas or coconut water instead of canned punch. Beds with firmer mattresses are available and could have been arranged had we known your preference during your stay here.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,615 reviews
16.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,406 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
3.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravela Beach Resort

Address: | Varca Beach, Salcete, Varca 403721, India (Formerly Ramada Caravela Beach Resort)
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price Range: $123 - $1,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa’s first international beach resorts, The Caravela Beach Resort is located in South Goa on the serene, pristine white sands of Varca Beach overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea. This luxurious 5-star deluxe resort sprawls across 24 acres of lush green landscape and offers 199 rooms - each with its own balcony overlooking either the ocean or manicured gardens and the swimming pool. The Suites and Villas are airy and lavish, and radiate a contemporary, elegant decor. The Presidential Villa is an exercise in extravagance, splendor and grandeur. It features a stunning space with a grand living room, two bedrooms and a private balcony overlooking the ocean, while the master bedroom features an outdoor rain shower and Jacuzzi. One can discern a strong presence of the old Goan architecture with Portuguese influences in the large open Atrium lobby, with its high arches and beams. The wide range of indoor, outdoor and beachfront restaurants and bars entice the guests with their distinctive culinary delicacies and exotic cocktails. The hotel has one of Goa’s largest free-form swimming pools, direct access to the soft white sand beach, its own 9 hole Par 3 golf course, an Ayurveda spa, a scenic jogging track and ocean front beach lawns, all of which make The Caravela Beach Resort a perfect destination for families and couples, and those seeking relaxation amidst the perfect Goan surroundings. With Goa’s ever-increasing popularity as a fun destination, conference and wedding venue, the resort promises to create some unique and memorable experiences. The poolside facing the inviting lush green lawns overlooking the scenic white sand beach and the elegant pillar-less banquet rooms offer an unmatched choice of locations. Besides, the flawless service and delectable cuisine at The Caravela Beach creates those perfect magical moments for a dream destination in Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing