We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hangout !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went with friends in jan 2012.. its a great place to relax and unwind:) though the rooms are ok ok.. what makes you fall in love is the exclusive white sand beach with clear sea water ! The beach offers the best relaxation with reasonable water sports options.

Staff is cooperative and help u choose your own menu as the buffet offers very very less indian food options.
A little far from the goa centerpoints of panjim and bagha.. but surely offers what u look to complete a relaxed break.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonder-travel-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel has a nice big enough territory. The beach and pools are clean and well maintained. Btw the pool is said to be the largest one in Goa. The breakfast in is different every morning, serving different local and international dishes. Standard rooms give a feel of living in a 4star hotel, deluxe rooms are five enough to confirm the number of stars indicated atop the building.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank IgorKirillov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent 4 glorious days at the Ramada. Thankfully I went end of October so I missed the crazy season rush. Ramada is a very well-maintained and beautiful property. What I loved most about this luxury property was the sparkling and huge swimming pool, the manicured lawns, the hospitable service staff, and the comfortable deluxe room ( I was upgraded from a superior room yay!). The housekeeping staff was excellent. My room was always clean and my things were not moved about. Ramada has kept their portion of the beach very well. The sand was soft and clean. Since this was my 4th trip to Goa I was pleasantly surprised. Xian, a young masseuse at Ayurvedic center was super. I loved my 45 minutes massage. What I didn’t like so much about the great Ramada was the long wait for my check-in. The food is ridiculously expensive. I mean come on I know it’s a 5 star property. They charged me for ice..I am serious!!! I paid 112 + tax for a few cubes of ice which came in a lidless ice cooler. So my Rs 112 +tax ice didn’t last long. I had an issue with the phone connection from the time I checked in but this was only rectified on the 3rd day. On the whole it was a once in a lifetime experience. My husband and I absolutely LOVED our stay here. I’d recommend this property to anyone looking for some quality R&R. I visited

Room Tip: I had a garden facing room. Which was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Ramada Caravela beach resort with 2 families & stayed there from 25th to 28th October 2012. The overall experience was a very pleasant one. Went in with a lot of fear as after booking the hotel, happened to read a few adverse reviews which set us thinking, but after the stay fully convinced that it was a good choice.
May be some people go with a lot of expectations & hence return dissatisfied. We found the staff very helpful & cooperative. The restaurant was well stacked, with a good variety. The food was good but not excellent. The buffet gives you options to choose thus leaving something to eat even if you dont like some of the food. Any other food other than the buffet costs sky but then normally you dont require anything additonal.
The pool is extremely clean, the private beach is excellent too. The beach is almost empty at most times unlike the Baga beach or the Calangute beaches that we visited which were crowded.
One advice is carry your own soft drinks/beer/liquor etc if possible becoz taking anything out of the fridge costs a bomb, a sprite costs Rs.90, a beer can Rs.150. My friend a teetotaler was charged Rs. 350/= for a tiny bottle of white rum as the seal was found broken, though he or his family had not gone anywhere close to it. He had not checked all seals while checking in which is normal, this was the only small bitter experience which we did not want to blow out of proportion.
House keeping was excellent, they were there whenever we called them. The reception staff is very cordial too. Transferring luggages to room & out was done very smoothly. The reception area and the dining area without AC is a little tough, with the sultry conditions very tough to be seated for long.
But on the whole a very pleasant experience, we wish to be back there next year same time but refrain from any sight seeing and instead spend time in the hotel, at the pool, beach and so on.I would recommend this place to every good friend of mine. But check the package and wait for the right time too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool should be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went to Ramada Caravela beach resort recently and had a nice stay. It has a good property with plenty of open spaces and beach. Good facilities overall with play area, cycles on rent, beach volleyball, plenty of chairs to relax on the beach, swimming pool etc. Food is not very great. Breakfast or lunch had lot of things to improve. Rooms are good and you get a good view from the balcony. Overall a good place if you want to spend time with family or friends as a group.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PankajShende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The management is bit confused of the Brand they wish to project.
Hotel has good location- though approach is bit windy. Property is good with excellent beach. Rooms are nice with good lay-out and the hotel lobby is majestic.
That said the management is really surprisingly confused! Guest enter expecting 5 star treatment and are often subjected to poor facilities.there was simply no personalized touch forget about royalty like treatment.
Big pool but with differential depth! Toddlers pool varies from 1 feet to 3.5 feet. Adult pool from 5.5 feet to 6.5 feet. it is really unsafe. all grown-ups who dont know swimming have to resort to toddler's pool. Children dont have anywhere to go as the pool varies to 3.5 feet. it is really unsafe. Not watched properly. instructors are lethargic & often missing. This is something serious and can any day cause casualty. Pools are not too clean & attendants dont do their job seriously. Guests are expected to issue towel from a far off place & then submit back rather than collect from room.
Hotel charges extra for almost everything- Wifi is Rs. 100 for half an hour! this at a time when coffee shops are giving free wi-fi! They try to extract extra for jacuzzi, cycle,children activities, extra glass or ice in room, baby sitter...anything. Golf charges are sky high.
as per rules guests should get 2 mineral bottles daily. these are not supplied & extra charges levied. Room service is snail paced. Though excellent beach but again nothing like towels or other facilities there. Guests are left on their own with no service.
On plus side food was good. Buffet was nice though costly and again they charge for a coffee after dinner! Staff was good though bound by management rules. They r honest people- returned a costly mobile of a guest who was not even aware that he had left at a public place.
Property is good with nice gardens and place to play. Children have activity centre (though chargeable) but the staff out there was really helpful.
Hotel is bit remote with no near place for small shopping or even a convenience store. Book-stall at the hotel obviously had high rates for almost anything.
Their main lobby & restaurant area is not air conditioned. They open is partially. As a result there were many mosquitoes. On complaining we were patiently told that pesticide is sprayed twice a week & were expected to bear till then!
Almost all guests were complaining on one thing or another. With such hefty room rents the management must be bit generous with the guests. Their reputation is seriously at stake and calls for immediate actions.

Room Tip: Get pool facing room at ground floor. these are pretty convenient. one can walk out of balcony to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went with my parents to this resort for 3 nights (8.10.12 to 11.10.12), and found the place quite decent. The property has got that antique/vintage look to it. At the first sight it looks like some old grand palace has been converted to a resort, but that's not the case. After making some enquiries with the staff I came to know that it was built from scratch 20years back.

In order to make it more lucid I will describe the property area wise:

- the lobby is nice and grand with a mini bar attached to it. The only problem in the lobby is that there is no waiting area with an air con in it coz of which you will feel very uncomfortable and sweaty if you are using the area. I found it very difficult to stay there after 3 minutes to be precise. There is no free wifi in the area and you end up paying 100 bucks for 30 mins.

- the dining has two sections one bit is open and the other one is air conditioned. The buffets quite decent with number of dishes to chose from. More Indian dishes than continental ones. Local cuisines are also part of the buffet. Taste wise the food is not too fantastic but good.

- the pool is of decent size with a bar attached to it. Well maintained and clean. Quite relaxing I would say.

- the rooms we stayed in was decent size and sea facing. Bathroom was quite nice as well. The room service was prompt so that you don't have to pester them for something.

- the golf course was nice and clean not big enough though. The spa section is nice. I personally found the gym to be bit small, not many free weights or machines.

- the beach was immaculate, and luxuriously empty. The beach shack was not opened though which was bit disappointing, so also the water sports.

- staff were the friendliest and always made us feel welcome, and comfortable.

So to sum it up, the resort although 5 star does not give the feel of 5 star. There are no lifts in the property. But the beach, and lushness in and around it will make it up for you. The staff is friendliest. The property overall is relaxing and if you are not too fussy about minor things I am sure you will have a good time and will bring back with you some good memories. Well, I have :).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank parvezmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,641 reviews
16.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,354 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,480 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravela Beach Resort

Address: | Varca Beach, Salcete, Varca 403721, India (Formerly Ramada Caravela Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#2 Spa Hotel in Varca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price Range: $121 - $1,761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa’s first international beach resorts, The Caravela Beach Resort is located in South Goa on the serene, pristine white sands of Varca Beach overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea. This luxurious 5-star deluxe resort sprawls across 24 acres of lush green landscape and offers 199 rooms - each with its own balcony overlooking either the ocean or manicured gardens and the swimming pool. The Suites and Villas are airy and lavish, and radiate a contemporary, elegant decor. The Presidential Villa is an exercise in extravagance, splendor and grandeur. It features a stunning space with a grand living room, two bedrooms and a private balcony overlooking the ocean, while the master bedroom features an outdoor rain shower and Jacuzzi. One can discern a strong presence of the old Goan architecture with Portuguese influences in the large open Atrium lobby, with its high arches and beams. The wide range of indoor, outdoor and beachfront restaurants and bars entice the guests with their distinctive culinary delicacies and exotic cocktails. The hotel has one of Goa’s largest free-form swimming pools, direct access to the soft white sand beach, its own 9 hole Par 3 golf course, an Ayurveda spa, a scenic jogging track and ocean front beach lawns, all of which make The Caravela Beach Resort a perfect destination for families and couples, and those seeking relaxation amidst the perfect Goan surroundings. With Goa’s ever-increasing popularity as a fun destination, conference and wedding venue, the resort promises to create some unique and memorable experiences. The poolside facing the inviting lush green lawns overlooking the scenic white sand beach and the elegant pillar-less banquet rooms offer an unmatched choice of locations. Besides, the flawless service and delectable cuisine at The Caravela Beach creates those perfect magical moments for a dream destination in Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing