We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, noisy, wedding oriented hotel with pro Russian bias.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The hotel is kind on the eye and the pool area and gardens looks very pretty but be warned this is the Indian wedding capital of South Goa. The weddings are very noisy, last for 3/4 days at a time, there were three such weddings during our two week stay!!!
Wedding guests are the main priority here followed by Russian guests, us europeans come in a disappointing fourth.
Breakfast was available on time 3 times during our stay and we never tried the hotel dinner options (captive audience prices).
Lovely pool and grounds but that is not good enough to take us back.
It will be same resort but different hotel for us next time.
If you read this and still go to the Zuri White sands remember after a few days that Vic warned you to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victhetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, General Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2010

Thank you for your lovely comments on the pool area and the gardens.

We would wish to inform you that this is the wedding season in India and the entire Goa hotels would be hosting weddings. We empathize with you as your stay was dampened, but be rest assured that this is not the case the whole year around.

We hope that you would visit us once again during the months of December, January or February to enjoy the sun and sand and let us pamper you with out tag line “WELCOME BACK”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
There are newer reviews for The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,668 - 1,674 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2010

This was our first visit to goa and the hotel was in beautiful, spacious manicured grounds together with a very large pool with an additional smaller pool. The rooms were well appointed as you would expect from a 4plus* hotel and the rain shower was a nice feature to have. However the doors and frames were in need of decorating. The staff were very helpful and friendly, although they there slightly lacking in attention to detail. Whilst the bar areas and specialist restaurants were really nice they were empty as they were very expensive compared to that available just outside. We did feel there was something missing in the atmosphere as the hotel seemed to be trying to cater for the tourists as well as conferences and weddings so it never really had the holiday feel. We spoke to other guests who had previously been to the hotel when it had been under the management of Raddison and found it not to be as good. Raddison used to run a daily entertainment programme. The hotel was a little isolated and you needed to use a taxis. This was definately the worse thing about the hotel as only certain ones were allowed to service the hotel and their prices were extortionate, at least double the norm. There were a few good quality restaurants within walking distance, with our favourites being Glorio's and Garden Court. Overall this was a good first experience of Goa and although there were some minor things at fault we would have no hesitation recommending the Zuri if someone wanted a quieter beach holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie48Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

The hotel is a 4 star hotel with a beautiful pool, good room and great shower. The service is sporadic but always comes at an additional cost. If you are coming to Goa to just sit by the pool and go to Varca beach then this hotel is for you but if you want to venture out and see the rest of Goa you are going to have to pay. The taxis are corrupt and the hotel isn't any better - they charge 900 rupees to just got 15 minutes away by car and then charge an additional 50 rupees for each hour that they wait (and they have to wait as all the cabs do this so if they dont wait you will be stranded or have to pay an exorbitant rate to get back to your hotel).

If you want to be in town and still by the beach go to Colba.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosquitoDodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuriHotels, Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Thank you for taking your valuable time off posting your comments and compliments on Trip Advisor. With regards to the Taxi Rates please note that they are a private taxi union which operates outside the hotel and the hotel has no control over the pricing. The complaint has been discussed with them and we hope that they shall consider reducing the price.

On the other side we see that you enjoyed the facilities in our property and hope you will visit us again as our “Welcome Back Guest”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Amazing hotel with great food & ambience. We went for a long weekend & were pampered to the fullest. Great spa & nice amenities. Superb swimming pool. Couldnt realize how we spent our days there. Overall a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RHD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights before moving to Leela Kempinski in Goa. After a mix-up in the airport pickup and unprofessional checking it was all uphill. Elaine at their Guest Services is a star and very helpful and always smiling. The rooms are clean and bright. The showers are excellent especially the rain shower. The swimming pool is huge and great service at the pool bar. The hotel's beach is a small stretch and a stream divides it from the public beach however it is peaceful with beautiful views. There are a few shacks on the beach where the drinks are a third of the price; mind you we did not have any as we rather have them in the hotel's comfort. Outside nothing must around within walking distance so in the evenings used the hotel facilities. All the staff in the hotel are very helpful and always smiling. It is very well catered for vegetarians. Loved the breakfast; masala omelet, idily, masaladosa, etc, etc. Ahhhh one thing we were disappointed about was masala tea; they just could not make it; we realized why later; in the normal tea they just add masala stir and bring it to you, huk!! They should work on that as been in India I would like to have my masala tea the Indian way!! Another thing was that there shouldn't be entry charge to the casino for the guest of the hotel. The bar is great however not many people come there as the drinks are quite expensive and the hotel should consider offers here to attract more people. In this bar there is entertainment; live singer from 7.30pm to 10.30pm and thereafter a DJ until 1pm. We used to have our pre-dinner and after dinner drinks here. We had the dance floor to ourselves and all our requests were played!! Also stayed at Leela and this hotel is on par with Leela in our opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hashLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed here in febuary 2010 . First of all would just like to say the Hotel was lovely . The pool area was amazing and all the lawns were gorgous and spotless .The staff were there should you need them and somtimes would knock on our room door to make sure our room was cleaned properly a couple of times during our 7 days .The beach was nice with a few "beach shacks " on there that cook fish , currys, omletts ect and very nice it was too .We were invited here as our friends were getting married here and all i can say it was a fantastic wedding and somthing we will never forget .

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XxDemConXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

they made my daughters marriage most memorable, the hospitality and service was out of the world the total staff at both zuri and retreat were just very effecient and caring they made sure that everything was perfect.every guest was most satisfied which is very rare in such big gathering and everyone went crazy praising the food made by chef anurag.it was an experience unforgetful.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samirkedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
1.1 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,286 reviews
17.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Address: Pedda, Varca 403721, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#4 Spa Hotel in Varca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price Range: $97 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri White Sands Goa Hotel Varca
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort And Casino
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing