We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in someone's home”
Review of Kandath Tharavad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kandath Tharavad
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying in someone's home”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We made the 5 hour trip from Cochin to Palakkad on poor roads just to stay in a home instead of an hotel. Bhagwaldas was a friendly and engaging host and as he pointed out he was probably the only home owner in Kerala doing what he did. It did give one an idea of how well off but not grand local people lived. The facilities are limited but that is the nature of the beast. On the other hand charging for the odd beer does take the edge off the notion that one is a guest in a home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I’m a frequent visitor to Kandath Tharavad and their excellent service turns my steps toward this small tranquil village. Some harsh criticism posted to this page seems quite unfair and I feel obliged to counterargue against it. The greatest attraction of tourism to countryside homestay is to share placid lifestyle with rural people and the Kandath Tharavad can offer its best example. Bhagwaldas’ home is a rare case of a genuinely historical building. Such a style of house was seen in many places in Kerala in olden days but most of them were destroyed and nowadays very hard to find. The building style is specialized for comfortable life in this region and one example is its low ceiling in a dark room which is invented for spending relaxed days in the hot summer season. The disagreement between the price and service is a common trouble we foreigners experience in India but I’ve never felt it at Bhagwaldas’ since he and his household always treat me like one of their family members. Those ignorant of or not interested in Keralite culture might be disappointed in this not fully modernized circumstance, but such disappointment comes from his or her failure of misjudgment of destination and it’s not a fault of the host.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippopotamus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have just stayed for two nights at Kandath Tharavad. Mr Bhagwaldas was an excellent host. He took us for a cafe breakfast, to see basketmaking in the village, to see Tipu's Fort in Pallakad and best of all we were lucky enough to be there for a Brahmin Festival in Palakkad. The food served was all excellent and we ate so many different dishes. Our room was lovely with airconditioning, twin fans and a spacious bathroom. Excellent in every way.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

A beautifully restored old house. A tranquil Oasis among all the bustle. Early morning walks a favourite. A very special place to stay. Nothing is any trouble for the host and staff. Thoroughly enjoyed the activities, especially the potter and basket weaver. So many lovely birds to see. It was one of the nicest experiences to stay here. Accommodation ,food, everything was perfect. Will pass the word around to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

This place is wildly over-marketed and overpriced. We had a small cave-like room at the back of the house, with two ceiling fans (a bit dangerous with a very low ceiling) and a much needed a/c unit, next to the owners parking and office. Owner "Bugsy" was welcoming and informative, communal meal OK but not anything special, bathroom not very clean. After an early supper with other guests and Bugsy, we headed off to bed (nothing else to do) and were sitting reading in dim light until all power went off at 9.30 pm. Decided to try and sleep, as we did not have a torch or know where anything was in the pitch black. Spent a sleepless few hours very hot and uncomfortable in low ceilinged room with no fans, a/c or open doors/windows due to wildlife (frogs in room already) and pitch black darkness.. Power came back on at 0530, so all lights/fans/a/c woke us up. Turned everything off as we heard Bugsy driving away. Woken up again an hour later as he parked near room. Woken again as telephones in office rang and loud conversations ensued. Got up at 7 am and asked for tea. Went to have a shower, only to find that there was no hot water. At all, in any of the rooms. Owner said he couldn't understand what had happened, but somehow managed to produce a bucket of hot water for me to wash in (!) No apology given, Bugsy implied that power loss was unusual and to do with power lines being brought down by rain. Funny that, when someone had been into our room during supper and put a torch on the side table. Seemed more than a coincidence to us that the power went off when he left the house (to sleep in room over garage as all rooms full) and came back on as he got up and came back into building. Fellow travellers we met later in trip also had a blackout for four hours. We left after one night although we had booked for two, very tired and bad tempered, having been charged for what we had, and turned down Bugsy's suggestion that we also pay for the beers we had had the previous evening. His comments the night before about the exorbitant price of a generator were mulled over on our journey to Cochin. I don't think this guy has any scruples about his guests, the way he brazened it out. Our travelling companions stayed on the second night, having made it very clear that they would not tolerate any loss of electricity, and were charged full price for both nights even though they had suffered one full night without power/fans etc. and no hot water either the first morning. This guy is better at marketing than he is at running a homestay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otto19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tharavad15, Owner at Kandath Tharavad, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
The guest was checked in with a friend who made the booking. Being a Heritage house all rooms are different. All rooms are created with what was available without spoiling the original structure. The friend who made the booking was given the larger room. The power did go off due to thunder and lightning that night. We at that time did not have any back up power. We have since installed the backup. The gentleman was not charged for the second night and was given a 25 % discount for the first. No money was taken for the Beer consumed. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned before all check ins. I feel the gentleman was disappointed he got the smaller of the rooms.The food we serve is typical food of the area. We do not have any fancy dishes. I sincerely regret for the guest feeling so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Kandath family's ancestral home (Tharavad) is owned and managed by Mr Bhagwaldas whos personal hospitality makes the stay comfortable. He organized a car for our trip on request, the lunches for us vegetarians were delicious and sumptuous. The hosue help willingly agreed to take care of our two kids, while we were booked for a traditional Ayurvedic massage.

The house itself is in a village called Thenkurissi, about 8 odd kms from Palakkad (near enough yet far from the busy town), set amidst paddy fields and lakes. The Etikettu style of architecture of the house makes it a unique homestay. The place is very quiet and secluded being in a small village. The staff from the village take good care and prepare tasty local food.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. The sheets and towels fresh and clean, and the bathrooms spic and span. The four poster bed in the room, with low height doors made of 200 year carved teak, make it a very cozy homestay.

The trip to Ramassery for having the morning breakfast (flattened idlis that we have seen nowhere else) was just fantastic. Mr Bhagwaldas accompanied us all the way (about half hour drive from the Tharavad). The vadas there were delicious too.

We also took a trip to visit Palakkad fort and Malampuzha dam and gardens. The gardens were being redone in some places, but clearly lacked maintenance. The light show (organized on weekends and holidays) was under maintenance too. The acquarium was nice with some very different fish housed. We missed seeing the Rock garden as it was closed by 1730 when we reach the place.

Morning walks around the property (there is a lake next to the house; and also a small pond within the property) is nice. Many birds can be heard, but as it had rained during the night, we could hear many but see none. Mr Bhagwaldas mentioned that there are about 58 species seen right there!

Palakkad is quiet nicely located to see Neliyampathy, Silent Valley, Guruvayoor, etc. One could also choose to stay closer to each of these for one night rather than travel back and forth to Palakkad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willoughby
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

A fascinating old house, some two or three hundred years old, with lots of interesting architectural details. Some updating has taken place, but the rooms are quite simple and the plumbing varies enormously from room to room. The owner, Mr Bagwaldas is a quiet unassuming character but interesting to chat to. His family have been central to business in the area and he takes great pride in his support of a local primary school.
Set in the midst of paddy fields, good walks abound with quite a fair tally of birds seen, especially round the large water `tanks`. There is a shady garden to sit and read in, and the meals (good local curries) are served in a covered building in the grounds. Visits to local potters, weavers and into Palakkad to see the castle (disappointing) are arranged and accompanied by Mr. B. We enjoyed our stay, though some guests found the nocturnal wildlife in their rooms unsettling.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palakkad
0.0 mi away
Kairali Ayurvedic Health Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tripenta
Hotel Tripenta
#5 of 18 in Palakkad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tranquilandia
Tranquilandia
#1 of 44 in Palakkad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indraprastha
Hotel Indraprastha
#9 of 18 in Palakkad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riva Residency
Riva Residency
#11 of 30 in Palakkad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandath Tharavad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandath Tharavad

Property: Kandath Tharavad
Address: Thenkurussi | Palakkad, Palakkad 678671, India
Location: India > Kerala > Palakkad District > Palakkad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Palakkad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tharavad meaning ancestral home in Malayalam dates back to 1794 and has been restored with care to retain its original splendour and heritage. The 2-storied tiled home has 04 rooms, and abundant open space, a dining area & 3 natural ponds. It's an amazing place to meet, engage in team-building exercises, work on strategies, conduct retreats, relax and bond together in a heritage home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kandath Tharavad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandath Tharavad Kerala, India - Palakkad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing