We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Wow!! is the word””

Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Palakkad
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““Wow!! is the word””
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great time at the Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary, Excellent Hospitality by Kerala Forest Department, Before my journey i was worrying about food there, but it was good actually.
Though it's look like normal Forest since it is a first time travel there we very much enjoyed, we happen to saw elephant during our early morning trekking, Bison , deer... We are privileged to see the wild animals and observe them.

Excellent climate, Dark surroundings, pin drop silence, I would say we had a fantastic time at Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank prashuthra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    50
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nice sanctuary”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is indeed a wonderful sanctuary and the weather was seemingly excellent probably because of the season ie, we traveled there in October 2013 and was really cool and green everywhere and little showers. The sighting of animals was usual as some here have mentioned, the deer, elephants etc. We didn't stay there but was only a day trip though we did go for the safari. Worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ravishanker V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Same old Jungle”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have been here twice. First time stayed in a forest Bungalow and second time in a tree house. In terms of a Jungle its very much like what your normal forests are viz., Bandipur, Nagarhole, Dandeli, Mudumalai, etc. The same old sightings of Deer's, antelope's, Wild bison, boar's, sambhar's, etc. You enter the same old expectation of a tiger sight but never to be. Later this was rechristened as a tiger reserve. The most fond memory was/is definitely of the stay in the tree house. After a 10 KMS drive we took a detour than your normal route and entered a muddy, grass land path seemed very exciting after which the road disappeared and we entered a thick jungle the road ended and we were asked to alight as this was the place the vehicle could go. It was dusk time and was getting dark we trekked/walked for about 10 minutes when we could spot the tree house. It was around 20 feet high and had large open windows. A huge trench was dug up to avoid elephants from entering a make shift ladder was used to get in and out. Food was served a little after 8pm and late in the night it was pin drop silence. We could hear the howls of the wild animals and the air was pure oxygen. The stay was the most exciting part of the visit to Parambilkulam.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Imransadath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Parambikulam”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is very good, beautiful and thick after the rains. If you are lucky, you might come across a wild elephant or bison or deer or a tiger or a bear before you come back. We spotted some deers, a herd of elephants, bear and the paw prints of a tiger. There are specific timings to enter and exit the forest area. There is a guest house and few other places to stay.The dam provides a domesticated view of the wild.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nkrohini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Misty misty”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The climate was awesome with drizzle always, unfortunate in spotting wildlife because of rain. best time to vist is jan-apr or oct to dec. private vehicle are not allowed to ply in the park expect for the vehicles of the guest who stays in their eco tourisim programme. so advice to stay and enjoy this park with your own vehicle as you can visit most of the places where others dont. must try their bamboo rafting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ramgugank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Palakkad, Palakkad District
Palakkad, Palakkad District
 
Palakkad, Palakkad District
Palakkad, Palakkad District
 

Been to Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing